If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dodgy number plates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭mikeecho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

For the past 12 years, all of my cars have had plates that look legal, but ANPR cameras can't read. Never had a problem with the nct, because they look and measure road legal.

It's just certain toll plazas might read the cars as a hgv, or parking at the airport, it can't read the reg, so I have to insert my credit card .

Just highlighting that just because a plate looks legal.. it might not be.

The m50 was free for me in one direction, but since they've upgraded their system in the past few years, I now pay in both directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do you reckon everyone else can read it fine, older people especially? In all kinds of light conditions? In all kinds of weather conditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,517 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Can you let me know where you got these plates? (So I can avoid them obviously) …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭intro

I saw a black VW golf with a number plate with the letters and numbers in red the other day, near Dunshaughlin.

Outrageous that people are objecting to people expressing their individuality through their number plates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

It's not the individuality people have problems with. It's people who use non standard fonts clearly in an attempt to make their licence plate harder to read. Smaller fonts, plates matching the colour of cars. I've seen a few cars with light bars just below the number plate so at night time you simply cannot see them.

I was rear ended 5 years ago. The guy got out of car but as soon as I said we had to ring guards he bolted. If he had non standard plates I may not have gotten the reg before he drove off, but I was able to see it and shout it down the line to guards as he drove off, so they were able to pick him up later that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

The plate is non-confinfing to the legal standard. You do not need to have anything wrong with your eyesight to find it difficult to read, even more so if it's moving at 120kmph. It is deliberately typeset in italic, with numbers both smaller in height, broader and closer together than the prescribed format. The technical term for character spacing is 'kerning' and plays a key/crucial to legibility.

If you can't see all the above points impact on legibility, perhaps you should heed your own advice, and book an appointment with an optician 😃

Post edited by Kaisr Sose on

Because they were illegal or...? Seems odd to stop selling a plate format when loads of alternative (dodgy) format plates are widely available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,021 ✭✭✭✭road_high

remember those utterly ridiculous “German” plates fad from over a decade ago. Jesus they were just nonsensical. Never see one now

I still see them around, though not as common. The faded plates are also still about. These were the ultimate stealth plates (you can't photograph them with a flash as they appear all white) before the dark grey with raised black characters. Its a total joke that this legal loophole has not been closed. Like how hard can it be to draft a statutory instrument to allow Garda issue FCN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭Deedsie

How much would a set of the grey plates cost? Or any of the novelty reg plates. If its even €10 its a shocking waste of money. Childish immaturity, look at me, look at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭intro

Whoosh!

I didn't think I'd have to put a label called "sarcasm" on it!

I was going to get 4D plates a while ago but they were about €50 so I didn't bother

Ill never understand the appeal, just looks trashy to me. Attention seeking and classless.

And to actually spend hard earned money on it. Mindless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,710 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Looks are presumably only part of it. If they can't be read by speed vans and cameras then I'd imagine that's the bigger incentive - especially as most of the lads getting them aren't shy of using the right pedal either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,310 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its not just those types of driver with them now.

I see so many of these plates outside schools now when the mummies are dropping their precious off at school.

Its not just a boy racer thing.

Personally if I was to get them it would not be to evade ANPR etc. I'd say most people would be of the same opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭creedp

Childish imaturity, trashy, attention seeking and classless. My God how high a horse can one person ride.
    Illegal, a road safety issue no problem but let’s dial down the class prefect, look at me I’m so perfect old guff which seems to derail so many threads on here

Ah will you stop, is everyone else not entitled to an opinion as well, we have to suffer sharing the road with these clowns . Id argue the majority of people would agree with my view on it. Moronic carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Will you stop! You're going on like a bitter granny with all the name calling. It's very immature.

So now, by your decree, people with different taste than yours are clowns? I sincerely doubt the majority people share your view on it. I really do. I would say the majority don't give a damn as long as the plates are actually legible. When we have clowns whinging about German fonts and lightly tinted plates….give me strength!

There are plates that are designed to be illegible and that's different. I agree these flagrant evasion attempts should be tackled head-on. However, if my reg is legible with standard font on a white background, that should be fine. If the EU flag on my plate isn't blue or is missing and you have an issue with that, that's a you problem.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭GSBellew

IMG_5811.jpg

Sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I ordered a single reg plate for a bike rack for campervan and when I went to collect there were a few getting fitted with illegal plates incl a 60 year old taximan in some 7 seater van derived taxi...defo not for styling there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

So what's this 4th dimension they're existing in? Not sure it's wise to mess with the nature of spacetime in an attempt to make your car look cool.

😁....

I am stunned but delighted that AGS Kilkenny have issued a FCN for those plates. The legal issue is that the FCN is not collectable so I don't know whether the driver will face court if they dont pay up.

I hope we see more of theae tickets. Maybe the word will get out that the time is up for non-conforming plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Kiteview

The solution to this is to have a single government authorised agency to issue number (fully compliant and legal) plates. When they are the only agency authorised to issue plates, there is no excuse for having illegal ones - and it should be mandatory disqualification for the registered owner of the vehicle if they are found with illegal plates.

That is the system in Switzerland Germany where the reg plate issued by local authorities and has an MOT/NCT seal and local got Tax seal applied. You cannot buy either countries plates from a 3rd party.

I cannot see Ireland adopting such a system but they should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,310 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

For me a lot of these plates are bought and put on cars for this reason. Simply the current trend of the narcissists. Its about "look at me". You'd see it a lot in the North where they can personalise plates more. So many people now have daft versions of their name being spelt on number plates, or for example changing ANZ 7000 to ANZ7 000 to make it stand out more.

Personalised plates used to be reserved for wealthy folk going back 20yrs, now every 2nd plate has some form of it. People can't be content with just a standard plate. They need something different to go with their fake eyebrows/lips, or tattoos. Me, me, me.

Also seems certain brands of car correlate to more likely it will have an altered plate. I notice most Range Rovers/Evoque etc I see in Derry would have stylized plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

An 08 porche ceyene passed me on the road less then 20 mins ago as I was out for a stroll. At first i thought it had no plates at all until it was about 30 feet in front of me and i could make out the reg - it was grey plates with black numbers.

same on the rear. driver busy on mobile as a completey irrelevant side note