Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade high score challenge - Round 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,366 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Absolutely batin' the control panel 😂 neighbours must think i'm mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

My dog likes hang around the arcade cab when I'm playing and she is going mad at this strange new behaviour, taking the roof off barking at me

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,217 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Get Wrecked

trackfld-250128-223332.png

My poor saturn controller and carpal tunnel. I got up to the High Jump after a fluky shot putt world record. Not sure what the deal is with the high jump.

Master of the Universe

Jaysus! you absolute animal.

Any idea what kind of distance you're getting on the long jump? That's (quite literally!) my biggest hurdle at the moment.

I was reading up and it seems if you jump just as you hit the line and hit 42 degrees you get distance and some sort of scoring bonus.

My lord , impressive .

that's more than halfway towards the official number one world record !!!

What method are you using , and have you been genetically modified ....a synthetic by chance ?

https://youtube.com/shorts/opL0PS-o4tc?si=S_AFtdPhS031Ik8G

@Retr0gamer

I understand if there is a delay in reply as your probably in st James

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,217 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Yeah I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong. I've an 8bitdo M30 which I'm hammering. I've tried two buttons but getting much better with hammering just one, although the hurdles is usually close to the wire. Nothing fancy, just the old Takahashi Meijin method.

Long jump I'm getting between 6.3 and 7.8. once you get the speed up I tend to find an angle of anything from 40-50 will qualify. I've gotten a 8.13 before.

It seems to end on the high jump so if I could get that I'd be in the 60,000s. I think past that point you'd be shaving points off so I'm still well off a world record!

IMG_20250129_181651~2.jpg

Ok I'm getting better , all hope is not lost.

Got to hurdles for the first time and just ran through them all like a boss:) couldn't seem to do it properly

Two fingers on each button seems to work .

I was hitting them alternately that was my problem ...don t ask me why, just thought that was the way to do it and makes more sense . Now I'm just smacking both at the same time and much faster running.

clocked it.jpg

Track & Field? Clocked it mate.

trackfld-250129-231009.png trackfld-250129-231058.png

Raging with that final score all the same. Running was first event. qualifying time was 10.50. Grand, I usually get in 10.2-10.3.

10.52…

I'd have probably had a decent chance at long jump and javelin but not sure what the hurdles would be, no way I'd make 10.5 if that is the new qualifying time.

I'm off on holidays for 6 days so loads of time to catch up.

😂what in the name of Jesus .

Your near the number 1 twin galaxies world record .

Are ya sure one of those oul M30 buttons isn't plugged into the national power grid

Might have to check my dip switch settings when I get back. Don't want to win if I'm cheating.

I watched some world record videos there and they all seem to only do one round and milk the high jump as long as they can. I just qualified the high jump and failed the next attempt and got maybe an extra 5k for the next run

Master of the Universe

This is a lot more manageable just using one button.

Managed to get up to the shot put on that 40k score but fowled twice unfortunately!

PXL_20250130_203423986.jpg

Master of the Universe

Oooh high jump this time. Three fouls in a row!

PXL_20250130_204242374.jpg

Master of the Universe

Well I broke 50k, that's me happy for this evening!

Managed to pull off the high jump this time but was a fraction from the qualification score.

PXL_20250130_204925433.jpg

Ahhh you guys ... I shed a tear looking at the scores you have :(

It just isn't happening for me . Ill try again later . I'm gonna put on wristbands ,a head band and a 80's pair of skin tight shorts first and warm up my fingers to the sound of chariots of fire first .

Master of the Universe

The only real hammering on the button game seems to be the first sprint. When I realised that I started focusing on my jump and angle timings and suddenly started getting much better scores.

Look up how to do the high jump. There's a knack to it and wouldnt have figured out without help. No need to hammer buttons on the approach but hammering the buttons during the jump gains height, but can also put you off. Hammer shot also is just timing. No need to hammer buttons but I find that one a bit of a crap shoot. You can qualify on the sixth turn but the angle window is very narrow or try and get one on the seventh where the angle window is much wider.

Master of the Universe

Ive figured out the trick to the hammer throw is sound. Listen to the sound cues and don't focusing on the hammer turning red. Could do it with your eyes closed just with the sound.

The high jump is a pile of shite though. I've great scores on all the previous rounds but keep bottling it on that.

Have watched some video but just keep fecking it up. I think it's down to me not getting enough height.

Any last minute upsets or am I picking the next game?

Master of the Universe

I don't have the patience to try and master the high jump so will bow out, you are the RSI king!

Yeah fair play sir ...I just could not get down with this game as much as I tried .

Select the next game in the tumultuous contest

I think I might go for something a bit weird. A Namco game that is very fondly remembered in Japan and never game out over here. Don't worry, there's no smut or tentacles.