If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 9

• 10-02-2025 04:51PM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,966 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Valkyrie no Densetsu/The Legend of the Valkyrie

Valkyrienodensetsu_arcadeflyer (1).png

Apparently one of the all time great Namco games that remained stranded in Japan. It's a top down shooter with branching paths and Wonderboy in monster land type levelling up. It also features some impressive scaling graphics which made it's few conversions rather disappointing due to the lack of this capability on console hardware at the time.

Same rules. 1 credit, default dip switches and settings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Nice one,i've heard of it but never played it .

Look forward to it . Loved wonder boy in monsterland. Was first kinda game with RPG elements I encountered on the C64

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,966 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Its on consoles under the hamster arcade archives brand of anyone wants to join in that can't use mame.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,966 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Two Quick goes. Got pretty far into stage two. Really enjoying this game. The board this was on must have had insane specs for the time. Also love the music.

valkyrie-250210-223047.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,208 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Never heard of this but it looks excellent.

I see it's actually on Namco Museum Vol. 5 for the PS1. Would probably be the way to go if anyone wants to play it on MiSTer.

Not sure how accurate those Namco museum versions are, I think they aren't emulation. However that version is in English.

Just gave it a quick credit there ...I'm liking it.

That soundtrack is so so familiar. Did Wonderboy use it ?

The scaling effects are deadly .1986 !!! Jeez well ahead of it's time for that carry on. Took years and years later for Nintendo to champion that technique with mode 7 on the snes

Also can't find any English version other than pc engine version . Guess I'll have to plough through with lads telling me れほまへの and not having a breeze . Same as Wonderboy in monsterland that had no English translations , but sure ya get the jist of it

I actually think punchout arcade predates this and that had scaling although I'm pretty sure Turbo by Sega was the first game with scaling.

The theme for the game is apparently very fondly remembered in Japan and Namco use it a lot in their games.

There never was an English version officially for arcade. PC engine I think is a fan translation. The only english language version is on the Namco museums but I think that was built from C with the source code.

Even in Japanese it's probably easier to figure out than rainbow Islands.

Ahhh here now ,there best be some RNG in this or I'm out 😀.

Screenshot_2025-02-11-13-23-58-181_com.picsart.studio-edit.jpg

images (50).jpeg

RNGesus never liked me.

At least it will make more sense than whatever was going on in Rastan.

😂

I've a mate that I play heads or tails with a good bit when I'm out having a few beers .

He always , always wins. If he does it's then double or quits if I want.

Ive ended up paying him 600 euro on one session before . So even a 50/50 chance each time is constantly stacked against me.

Ive put his kids through college over the years

Dont get me started on the pokemon TCG on my phone. Wonder picks are a 1/5 chance to get a good card and I went on a 25 pick losing streak.

I think I'm so good at RPGs is because I cant rely on luck to get me through so have to abuse the systems 🤣

Anyway maybe you should do the lotto, you are owed some luck although I think you just blew it all beating me at rainbow Islands.

Yeah my only luck in life was that raining money bags in rainbow islands ...sad isn't it 😂

Screenshot_2025-02-11-14-20-16-006_com.picsart.studio-edit.jpg

If it's any consolation it drove me nuts trying to beat your score.

Actually that is consoling ,😂

Your score in track and field just put me off straight away ...didn't even try after that .

Screenshot_2025-02-11-15-50-53-604_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Another attempt. I encountered the multiple paths you spoke of now in the 2nd level .

Amd yeeeeeees , praise RnGesus ...there are money bags in this .😂😂😂

Its just come to me what that sound track is also in.

Willow - arcade version. my head was melted trying to think what else it was from. I refuse to Google things to get answers and try to use my noodle. I'm chuffed I got it...it's the small victories in life :)

A great game , ...seems like a natural successor to this, same mechanics

Ok that's bizarre because one is a Namco game and the other is a Capcom game. Unless Namco stole the tune from the Willow movie?

Yeah strange one ...it's at the start of the very first level in that vid of you listen. Cracking soundtrack. Maybe it is willow soundtrack and namco thiefed it .

If not ,Maybe a few bob there in a lawsuit for namco if capcom robbed it 😂

Maybe I'll give capcom a shout and ask for a few quid or I'll let the cat out os the bag to namco

Master of the Universe

Downloaded the Hamster arcade archive version on the switch and it works perfectly, really great game. The scaling is indeed rather amazing to see for a game from the late 80s.

In and around the 50k mark after a couple of goes, will see how I go!

Had a listen. Both very close but it think legally distinct!

73K was the best I got tonight. Too many stupid hit taken and the antlion is annoying.

I looked up how to play and there's not a lot too it. The shield gives wider shots, the trident gives three-way and the other more colourful yoke is homing. The leafy yoke is health.

Ahhh .. makes perfect sense .. a shield isn't a shield :) I kept buying it as thought it was some protection

I got some raiden type wave shot on that last run, I picked it up , didn't buy it

Ill give this another crack of the whip later .

Ahhh don't know what mad route I took through level 2 last time but I can't get near my last score.

Came across some wizard on an island up top of level 2 though that gave me another spell

Master of the Universe

72k was my highest this evening. Made some stupid errors when jumping platforms!

Got a nice run just there . A good bit into level 3, and a got a third spell which turns you into a giant .

Screenshot_2025-02-14-21-07-36-047_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Master of the Universe

Nice!

Feck. Not long to try and beat that.

Got some good runs there. Got to the Third boss in this one but he is tough as old boots and I made the mistake of getting health instead of a weapon beforehand.

valkyrie-250214-225937.png