Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan 2025 - Snow & Freezing Conditions - Discussion PART II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,967 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Yes it may be over the top but I was trying to be nice and see it from the point of view of those affected majorly which we certainly weren't in Dublin minus the odd ice patch. It's good to step outside our backyard.

People just may have got on with it or not depending on which event you are specifically referring to but the truth is I don't have the experience of those times to be able to compare to. 2010 is the closest I have comparison to for a prolonged, severe and snowy spell, and that's why I mention it. But 2010 I was an innocent child, weeks with flu and off school. I wasn't alive for 1982, never mind being a kid. Times have changed either way. I think saying to drive to get just milk and bread is disingenuous though.

At no point did I say the current spell was exceptional. It wasn't. Out of all people, I think I'd be the first to call whether something was exceptional or not given the database of historic events I've built up. However, that being said, the snow experienced on Sunday for parts and then the duration it persisted was very noteworthy and is a situation I do not envy as no doubt my very bad anxiety would push me over the edge if I was in their circumstances of no running water or power. That's all I said. Whatever happened in 1982 is of little relevance to me here and now in regards to this spell.

Anyway, moving on, I think WolfeEire's contributions to this thread have been nothing short of brilliant. Those satellite images with the locations marked were fantastic and in general the updates were super. Meteorite58 as always giving a good synopsis on the model runs and of course Kermit for starting the thread as well as keeping the eternal optimism of some white powder for the capital. Thank you very much lads for keeping us all updated. Here's to the next one whenever that will be. Whatever weather happens, the camera is always ready and the Excel spreadsheets are primed for some records to be broken 😛

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Yes I wish we had a chimney and a fire all houses in my estate (built 2003) have none and all storage heaters so when we lost power (20 hours) during storm Darragh the house was like an igloo and mind you it was 7c at the time outside, at one stage the fridge was warmer than the house , I could get a stove in but that would crack the walls and damage flooring to mams bedroom , these houses have very little concrete and insulation so I'm gonna hopefully get a grant as we'd be entitled to one but the stove is probably 4 grand I'd love one but we shall see anyway, in other words all houses should have an alternative to electric,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ClimateObserver

As the cold spell comes to a close, I have some mixed thoughts on the whole event.

The pros:

• The will it won't it in the build up (there was always a threat of a bust) in the time from December 28th when it really gained traction on the charts - a week out in fairness!
    • The copious amount of snow - my area is quite sheltered and to get 13cm over 20hrs was a decent return for a valley location
    • The event gave something to focus on post-Christmas and New Years when typically the January blues set in
    • First third of January over and the monthly average just below 0c - it will take a helluva mild spell to drive January '25 above average (but not an impossible task looking at the LRF)
    • January is shortened!
    • A decent and prolonged cold spell with seven consecutive days of snow cover
    • Recorded an ice day!
    • Gained even more knowledge
    • Saved a few bob as I wasn't out and about much
    • Seeing other fantastic photos on social media from those who braved the outdoors and even some travel - imagine they had camera-phones and internet in 1947 or 1963? We'd have some gallery to awe and gaze over.

The cons:

• The quality of the snow was overall poor - very moisture laden
    • Slow thaw and re-freeze of the above
    • Fog and overnight breezes hindered any serious lows to challenge minima from recent years. The January 2021 light snow event yielded colder overnight lows despite the snow being only a fraction in depth
    • Mobility - again related to the quality of the snow, it bottom melted into thick ice rendering footpaths and untreated roads lethal.
    • Monday night's shallow low introduced alot of moisture into the mix leading to heavy fog across the following three nights
    • Shuttering of schools when local authorities could have cleared roads sooner - i.e. Monday.
    • Most foothpaths were not cleared which is a big step back from efforts made in 2010 and 2018. (Maybe it was just this county?)

Overall though, a significant winter snow event which despite being the strongest regarding volumes of snow, the cons detract from making it an 'epic' event. But it is up there nonetheless.

Would just like to say too, hats off to the regulars on here (you know who you are) for their consistent sharing of good quality interpretations of model outputs, to the photographers who brought the far and beyond magical countryside scenery to our screens - amazing work, well done. And even to the hurlers on the ditch - borderline wind up merchants, some of yea are a bit of craic too and keeps a certain amount of energy (sometimes comedy) flowing.

To those who bore the brunt of the storm through lost power, water, livestock and employment (without pay) - I wish you better fortunes in the year ahead - nature often balances the books, and I hope it does for you too.

Finally - the curtains fall on a memorable winter event for many parts of southern and central and northern Ireland. Some areas didn't get the full brunt - maybe next time. The snow does visit us all at some stage, here's hoping the next event isn't too far away - but in the meantime those who experienced this will no doubt welcome the upcoming mild and dry week to reset before the next chase gets underway. If that fails, late-Spring and early-Summer thunderstorms are not all that far away!

PS: Spare a thought for the north of Scotland where it is -17c presently and I don't think they got above -12c this afternoon, we weren't that far off getting that here had the door to true arctic air not been cut off Monday night. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭irish1967

PXL_20250111_001409736.jpg

Fields will be covered in chicken, burgers and hopefully desserts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Joe1919

I have a Superser and a yellow bottle of Butane along with a compatible gas ring. Cost less than 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

2009 in my area of the NW Roscommon was the most disruptive to travel I have ever experienced. All non national primary roads were solid ice after a day or two. 2nd gear on idle in the car was about the height of speed and you'd still be doing a little dance to keep forward momentum. Tractors even struggled badly with the roads.

Some days had a slight thaw and then really hard frosts again at night so the ice continued to get slicker and slicker.

2010 had similar compacted snow/ice but it never had any thaw to slicken it up. And the powdery snow seemed to aid the grip levels although tbf the snow was still pretty rock solid thanks to the -18°c we had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ClimateObserver

One more point of note, the house feels cooler tonight than last night when it was ~10°C colder outside. I blame the 'damp' as everything continues to thaw outside.

I don't trust them alot of people's I know have leaked and they got poisoning but I'll have to get 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Greengrass53

You can't see the nonsensical nature of his comment? Sorry can't help you then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 LeGrandeRecif

Have you got a Devireg 710 fitted or something similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭OldRio

'Help me'? Haha. I need no help or other nonsense from the likes of ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Foggy and damp morning here in North longford, not a trace of snow or frost left, no white to be seen anywhere. +5 and feeling almost warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭sliabh 1956

Drove from Ennis to charleville yesterday once I hit Limerick I was in a different planet snow everywhere . In Ennis all we had was frost though West Clare was bad in places its only when you see it up close, you realise how bad things really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,803 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Halleluja! Yesterday we were white over, now it has all gone. Going shopping, and to rescue a car from up a mountain. Don't ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,967 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

My final post on this thread. Gurteen and Mullingar almost went subzero in average temperature for the first 9 days of January 2025 but not quite getting down to 0.0C. Other places like Casement with 0.3C, Ballyhaise, Oak Park, Athenry and Mount Dillon with 0.2C and Dunsany with 0.1C also close.

Mullingar tmean of -0.5C from 3rd-9th January, likely the coldest week since December 2022. Whilst not exceptional, good to note for future reference.

Screenshot 2025-01-11 at 09.57.53.png

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Today is a great day. 7C and hardly a flake of the 3 foot snow drift in my garden left. Roll on summer 🥳

A 14 degree swing in 2 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭circadian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Robwindstorm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭giveitholly

I see there must be a problem with the met app,showing -6 for my area tonight which can't be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭goingmadted

Well thank christ thats over. Can finally get the car back up the drive.

Mild out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Post edited by xhomelezz on

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭WolfeEire
    Clare (430ft asl)

The gradual nature of the thaw is helping to mitigiate the flood risk. River level readings from areas where the hinterland experienced heavy snow are rising but not to levels that would suggest flooding at present. Rathkeale, Kilbricken (Laois) and Clobanna (Thurles) below.

kil.jpg rath.jpg thurl.jpg

A satellite image comparison from Thursday to 11am today shows the scale of the thaw in Munster and south Leinster.

thursday.jpg b.jpg

www.weatheire.com

A few spots in the midlands may see -5ºc or lower tonight to finish out this spell , I'm sure it will be very hazardous if snow has melted and then refreezing tonight

Screenshot_20250111_165831_Met ireann.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭WolfeEire
    Clare (430ft asl)

i think that's an error, Dazler. Temps will be largely 0c to 5c tonight, mildest by the the coast. The above would be Status Orange Low temp territory.

www.weatheire.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I climbed Croagh Patrick today. Not as much snow up there as I expected but still good fun. Big drifts in parts but melting fast too.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Ye I was thinking that , ah well onto the milder weather now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,789 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

PXL_20250111_141217191.jpg

The Sugar Loaf and Wicklow Mountains with a tiny bit of snow left today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,935 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Got up to Wicklow mountains with family today. Military road closed so went to the featherbeds approach to Kippure. Snow was 14-16" deep most of the time with deeper pockets here and there. Full of moisture now and soft underfoot. Still great to get out in it for the kids.

VideoCapture_20250111-175310.jpg VideoCapture_20250111-175256.jpg VideoCapture_20250111-175352.jpg VideoCapture_20250111-175430.jpg VideoCapture_20250111-175505.jpg VideoCapture_20250111-175520.jpg