Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bivol v Beterbiev Thread

• 10-10-2024 11:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭

Its not the biggest fight of the year for Joe Bloggs, but for any serious boxing fan this is the fight of the year.

I have mixed feelings on the Saudi sportwashing, but without them this fight does not happen unfortunately.

The rest of the card is so-so , Skye will win another boring UD win where nothing interesting happens, Whitaker will win easily enough also and also by a wide margin on points. Eubank JR has a gimme fight , while Massey will be dispatched quickly enough.

Wardley v Clarke is an absolute cracker though, lean towards Wardley on that.

On the main fight, I change my mind all the time, at the moment I just think Beterbiev has more tools to get it done.

https://www.tapology.com/fightcenter/events/114534-beter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Most fans/pundits leaning with Bivol. I think Beterbiev can do it. Hand-speed crucial here. Bivol has faster hands. It’s a real 50/50.. rest card mismatches.. Wardley/Clarke 50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

I thought beterbiev would of been favourite? Maybe it's just im more familiar with him dismantling uk fighters, (yarde did well for a while mind)

So is it b'ter-biev or better-biev?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭L Grey

We'll find out who is better tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I'm leaning Bivol, 18 months ago I'd have said Beterbiev but I really worry about all the injuries he's had. He's coming back quickly from a pretty serious knee injury and he's 39. He's surely going to have lost some mobility which will hamper his ability to cut off the ring. Bivol 116 112 type decision for me.

The knee injury is concerning alright, and recent enough. Mobility and efficiency of mobility could be affected.

And he’s 38/39. Lot miles on boxing clock

Post edited by walshb on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,018 ✭✭✭squinn2912

one of those torn ones. Card is one-sided but interesting and Wardley-Clarke is potentially a great one. I’m going for Wardley as the more exciting and fair fighter but I think Clarke will win it maybe late stop on cuts.

Going for Beterbiev but I think Bivol will win I agree with above 116-112. Just depends on age and injury here. But if Bivol fights more like he did against Lyndon than Canelo then Beterbiev could well get to him. Would love a Beterbiev KO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

not much in it with the bookies

Beterbiev to win: 1/1

Bivol to win: 4/5

I’m leaning with bivol on points, they are nothing unbelievably skilful

The internet isn’t for everyone

Bivol’s hand-speed, punching volume and punching fluidity/range, cardio fitness and concentration are his keys.. not sure Beterbiev’s foot and hand/speed can overcome this.. gun to head I think Bivol points..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I think the Massey Opatia fight will be more competitive than people think. Opatia wins but Massey has shown he's no pushover.

Clarke 271 v Wardley 241

Still think Wardley wins.

The commentator really wana brush up on his maths/weights. .12 lbs does not equal 12 ounces. He thinks any number after the decimal point is ounces..

Did it on all weigh-ins

Bivol 174.12 lbs and Beterbiev 174.9 lbs and he thinks Bivol is 174 and 12 ounces vs Beterbiev at 174 and 9 ounces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭newhouse87

damn you, means clarke will win so. Wardleys nose looks ripe for opening up early?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Butson

2/3 years ago its Beterbiev.

He has had some serious injuries of late. Maybe he can go to the well one more time.

Draw could be one to look at.

bivol is very good at avoiding tbe hard shots and going the distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Switched my opinion on this fight a few times over the years but think I'm just siding with Beterbiev these days presuming the injury hasn't taken too much from him.

Bivol not really fought a puncher and does tend to sit against the ropes and take some shots. Also visibly hurt by a body shot by Lyndon Arthur. I'm going Beterbiev in 9 or 10 rounds.

That pr1ck, Whitaker up now

This is a good fight Cameron giving it some go but looks a bit puffed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Mad stuff. Did Whittaker quit? Was definitely starting to unravel

Whittaker was awful and Cameron had him where he wanted him whatever possessed him to do that at the end of the round. Don’t think he quit though

Bivol for me, rewatched canelo fight, he looked v good. Yarde gave beterbiev lots of trouble and he's average.

quitickar met his match it seems

Eubank is doing alright but he’s getting hit too much when he can avoid it easily

So fooking staged!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Jesus this is pure cringe.

Conor Benn looks ridiculous. Boys are bad actors. It’s in the who cares category

Was just thinking the towel would come in at the end of the round that was good corner work there was nothing left for him. I like Opetaia he gets hit a bit much for me I couldn’t see him beating Usyk at CW but he really picks shots well. Great handspeed and good feet. Very neat and slick. Pleased enough for Massey he fought a good fight. CBS might be a bit thicker and stronger but I can’t see him living with Jai. Would love to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

saudi boxing and winning streak combined, a ninja won it

I reckon Clarke will do a job tonight but I’m praying to be wrong!

go on wardley boy,

looks like a dent on clarkes side of head

That was a thudding knockout. Well done Wardley. Fraze is just too slow and cumbersome. Never saw the first big shot coming and then he was all over the place. Wardley generates some insane power. Where the hell does Clarke go now? Too fat, too slow.

Heavy overhand right to finish. Thudding power

clarkes jaw was totally gone too, if he can’t beat wardley what’s he going to do next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

That was an awful knockout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

1 hour wait now for the main event….

I’m still reeling after that KO. It really was enormous. No one saw that coming.

They were talking there about putting him in against Chisora as a step up… Holy Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I need to find a way to record this so that I can fast forward through all the crap

My fooking head really hurts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

This is pure penance.

feck, just back after lunch break here and thought this **** would be over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

What's the point of it?! Nobody wants it and it hardly adds to the show.

The Qatar is were at it during the WC too. The likes of Saffron grim Republika and, I think, Right Said Fred performing before games or at half time.

That;s some dung. I went upstairs to do my foam rolling… Was missy elliot attacking my ears? She was shite 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

What the **** was that mini movie about too. You've already won Turki, we don't need or want any of this.

missy ellliot is some load of shi7e

Good production if you like that kind of thing I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭GHendrix

Whenever they fight here, I always wonder how fighters can be fresh at 1am…

cmon Artur

Two lads both looking nervous this is enormous! They can’t wait to be in the fight listening to that crap musta been horrible for them

NOD TO BIVOL RD 1

very close..Bivol getting shots off quicker