Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

After they emptied it, the binmen left the lid of the bin open (which turned it into a water butt), then proceeded it park it on top of a dog's poo that looked like it had been left by a Great Dane. Gobshites, both them and the people who didn't pick up after their elephant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,256 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

To Debork or not to Debork that is the question?

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

Outpatient appointment letter says…

Dear Dan Steely,

An appointment has been arranged for you to attend Dr. Zhivago's outpatient clinic on Wednesday 17/12/2025 at 10.15am

Please arrive at your appointed time.

Arrive at 10.05. Get called at 12.05.

Must have been annoyed I arrived too early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭New Scottman

My local chemist has implemented "Original Package dispensing"

I get three different tablets a month. One is dispensed in box of 30, the other two in boxes of 28. Up to last month, they added 2 tablets to each of the 28 box ones so I got 30 of all three. They've stopped doing that so there'll be a mismatch unless I start to collect every 28 days instead of every month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

There's a Station ID (I guess it's called) on RTE 1, a town square Christmas scene with lighted tree etc and shows a cat getting an electric shock off the cable, What the feck is that about? Not funny.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Oh this i have to see, rte in animal cruelty furore headlines spring to mind

My local chemist has implemented "odds and ends" dispensing.

What this means is that when they have mashed up boxes of 10, 20, 28 and 30 tablets into the prescriptions sizes from the doctor someone will end up with 28 (or whatever) individual tablets cut from other pack sizes in a ziplock bag. And just fcuk off if you think your going to get the instruction leaflet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭Archeron

That awkwardness when people working in retail or customer facing roles start arguing with each other. My experience this morning waiting in a petrol station deli with one girl serving.

Girl A shouts into the back. Can someone come and serve, there's a queue.

No response.

Can someone come and serve now, I'm not the only one that works here.

No response.

Girl A storms into the back while saying loudly, "I swear to fooking God, I'll fooking walk out of here today, get out there and help me serve that queue"

Minute later, girl B arrives and slowly puts on gloves while giving girl A evil looks.

Girl A, about time, nice of you to turn up.

Girl B. Do you fooking want help or not?

All the while a line of customers stand there not knowing where to look.

Then when it was my turn I asked for a sandwich and was told they'd run out of bread, at half seven in the morning.

And that your honour, is why I had a strawberry donut for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,812 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

News readers who don't say right things . A item on Columba McVeigh is not breacon bog , its bragan

The English newsreaders are expert at this when it comes to pronouncing Irish names and place names. You'd think they'd have a read of their script beforehand and check any pronunciation they're not sure of.

Post edited by Dan Steely at

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Why don't people wipe their feet before entering someone's home? Especially if it's wet/muddy outside and their boots have thick soles with deep treads. The doormat is there for a reason.

Easily done..

https://www.bbc.co.uk/delivery/production-resources

The BBC Pronunciation unit is staffed by professional linguists who research and provide advice about pronunciations in any language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,783 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ticket sellers calling to the house, and knocking loudly at the window, after 9PM (and me in bed). Far too late in the day for that carry-on.

And on the subject of tickets, the amount of sponsorship cards that crop up in work this time of year is annoying too. Especially when you don't want to appear be the only one who doesn't contribute, but don't want to go to the bother of taking money from an ATM and looking for change either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

It is up to the homeowner to have a shoes off policy in place and one of those witty little signs on display 😂

My annoyance is why can't they have somebody with a leaf blower when hedgecutting to blow all the cuttings off the road and back into the hedge? You might not think it but some of those thorns could give your car a puncture, and a bike very easily.

A secondary annoyance I suppose could be why did they plant so many thorny hedges years ago?

My annoyance is why can't they have somebody with a leaf blower when hedgecutting to blow all the cuttings off the road and back into the hedge?

Report it to the local council. Its no different to taking garden waste and spreading it all over the road. The fact is farmers and the council themselves get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Today is the annual Christmas dinner in the canteen! Yay! Everyone excited about it with their "What time are you going there?" "You have to get there early to avoid the rush!!". 🙄

Lads, it's only a slightly bigger dinner than your normal lunchtime dinner, with added rock-hard roast potatoes and Brussels sprouts. "But there are Christmas crackers!!". 🙄

The other annoying thing is that it's either Christmas dinner or nothing. I opted for nothing.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Those 044 scam calls are going mad. They ring me twice a day now. People all over the country being targetted.

Authorities believe these scammy **** will only get worse over the Christmas period. 😣

I didn't put enough salt in the water of my pasta, earlier, but I only realised it after it was already fully cooked. Adding it afterwards just isn't the same, it doesn't dissolve and get absorbed in the same way. Bland pasta. Bleah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

They have gone mad. One thing with my phone the last few weeks is the phone rings and the screen says suspected scam. Ive never seen that before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭apache

I haven't gotten any this week. They seem to have stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,637 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

my delivery has ‘been dispatched’, according to an email.

In the same communication they have told me to expect a delay due to ‘high seasonal volume of orders’.

Yet in the same communication they have failed to give me any courier reference number or even say what courier has it…Was supposed to be delivered tomorrow or at least that was the quoted transit time when I ordered last week. “ …delivery on Friday 19th December, you will receive a courier reference number in a separate email”

Only a couple of hoodies for myself so nothing important as such or time critical but I just would personally just like to be able to track stuff as I’ll 100% need to be at home to sign for the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

We have a weekly meeting for our entire division every Friday AM with the head of the Division (three steps higher than me).

A document is emailed around on Monday looking for updates for the Friday meeting.

A reminder issues on Wednesday, deadline for updates is Thursday PM.

Every two weeks, the Deputy head (two steps higher) has their own update meeting on Wednesdays.

Recently, the line manager between me and Deputy Head has started having weekly Tuesday meetings, because they need to know everything for the other two meetings, in case some can't make it due to, y'know, doing the actual work.

More time is spent preparing for and having these meetings about the work than is spent on the actual work.

It's getting to the stage where I'm gonna start putting the meetings onto the document to show exactly how much of a time-sink it's become.

The literal definition of "this coulda been an email".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

Ahem..are you supposed to put salt in pasta, I must let my 'friend ' know.😊😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,408 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Absolutely - you salt, not oil pasta water. Most people don't use nearly enough water either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

My friend doesn't oil or salt pasta, she puts in plenty water.🫣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Some people swear that it makes the water boil faster, but you'd want to be using water that's saltier than seawater in order for that to be of any benefit.

A couple of teaspoons does the job grand. Depending on what you're making, you can use something other than actual salt. Chicken bouillon is great for carbonara, for example.

Smiles dentist on O'Connell St in Dublin are a nightmare for this. I've shown up for a 10am appointment at 9:55, been left waiting for 30 mins, only for the guy with the 10:25 appointment to get turned away for being late, even though nobody who turned up before 10 has been seen yet. Scumbag behaviour.

Jeepers, yes, absolutely. Add as much salt to the boiling water as you would to a soup, before adding the pasta - that way the salt is absorbed into the pasta while it cooks. Try it and get back to me when you see the difference.

Chicken bouillon? You're making stock! For a carbonara? I swear, Italian grannies are spinning in their graves. Now, if you're making "tortellini in brodo" (the tiny ones, the size of a thumbnail) or clear soup, then that's different.

Exactly! Pasta needs lots and lots of water to move around and to lose some of its starch. E.g., for 240g dry pasta (80g per person) you'd need at a very minimum three and a half to four lts of water.

The only exception re: the oil is if you're making lasagne from scratch with fresh, handmade, egg-based pasta that you need to cook before assembling the dish. In that case, a little bit of oil in the water stops the sheets of pasta from sticking together.