Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

1198199200201202204»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,880 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

an email from a retailer at lunchtime apologising telling me my delivery will be delayed and won’t be here till Monday.

Then at 7pm I get an SMS from their courier, saying they’ll arrive tomorrow on schedule….

So, I dunno….. trivial but, annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,885 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Thread borked again, couldn't see your post there Strumms.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I haven’t tried that one but I definitely will. I was trying Piriton but it didn’t have any effect. I’ve ordered a month’s supply of Apoquel from the vet for collection today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Hold My Hand

During my jog this morning the sound went in my left AirPod. Aargh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I still think of my phone as quite new but when I went to get a new cover for it the woman in the shop said sorry we don't stock covers for those old models anymore 😢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Note to self, when I see a bit of a bargain in Lidl I should buy it and not go back 3 or 4 days later and expect it to be there 😀

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,401 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

All I can really tell you is that it works well on me ;-) Another one easy to get over the counter if necessary is loratadine which I also take (6 months cetirizine 6 months loratadine). If one works then once you know the dose probably much cheaper to get the generics over the counter.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

TA at all the tech and software in my car that's supposed to make my drive nicer and easier but only works half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,109 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pennies from Dunnes self service machines.

Every time.

Pennies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,401 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

After several years of being TAed with Dunnes self service machines - they will give you 9 pennies change for an item costing xx.01cent and don't round - I was pleasantly surprised to find that Tesco's self service machines do round and save you looking for the odd cent.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,284 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Wife watching the Today Show and I happened to see the cooking segment (sometimes follow the recipes). That Maura one is absolutely incredible at interrupting mid sentence.

Asks the chef a question and would butt in with her own observation when they are two/three words into their answer. Every. Single. Time.

Just let the professional explain the damn recipe!

Hate interupting in any context, but that takes the biscuit.

Bet she probably can't boil an egg herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭Archeron

Marketing versus reality annoys me. I know it shouldn't as we're all well aware of it but still, that's the TA of it all.

One of these chicken mayo burgers from Mcdonalds is what's advertised, the other is what's actually served. Goodness, you really can't tell them apart ..

It's what looks like a smurfs arse print that really makes it for me.

1000019486.jpg 1000019488.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭n.d.os

€0.50 cent processing charge to top up the county council parking app on my phone by €10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,109 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,740 ✭✭✭✭walshb

idiots who can’t pronounce easy words… it’s was, not fooking wuz. It’s because, not Becuz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

And the small hands holding the food in the advert to make the product look bigger. Amazon at the same carry on. What you get is far smaller than portrayed in the doctored pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

"See, this is what I'm talking about. Turn around, look at that. It's plump, it's juicy, it's three inches thick. Now, look at this sorry, miserable, squashed thing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭New Scottman

Being greedy on Ebay and it backfired.

Saw item I wanted. Buy it now €200. Was happy to pay €200.

But starting bid was €20 so I bid that in the hope I'd get it cheaper.

It ended up going for over €300 and I missed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Deregos.

The wifes 08 civic is fecked. NCT says it requires welding along with an engineers report to say its roadworthy. Not gonna bother, I'll take out a loan and buy something else. It's a pity, its got a great engine and is still a lovely smooth car to drive . . apart from all the rusty bits.

1000024090.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Night owl gal

Can't be in two places at once, and family members giving you grief/hassle about it 🤬 Just leave me alone!! I'm doing my best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I don't know if it is the same here but I saw a video from the US showing the size of a Big Mac now. It was tiny! The man was saying 'I didn't order a Little Mac' 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,800 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Fruit flies.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,743 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

a friend of mine used to work in a photo studio/photo processing place and dealt with people who were the go-to in ireland on food photography; IIRC he said that often they'd paint raw food (e.g. steaks) to look cooked because it looked juicier and would last far longer in studio conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Without being too pedantic, the top one is a McChicken Sandwich from the regular menu, the bottom one is their eurosaver Mayo chicken burger that's 1/4 of the price.

Either way it looks shite.

Ye for all adverts they do this, don't use real ice, often plastic or glass, spray glasses with water to make them look cold. Use syringes to put on the sauces on burgers, all just tricks of the trade to make everything look as appealing as it can be.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,839 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I dropped my stainless steel water bottle getting into the car yesterday. It rolled under the car and I was in a hurry so thought I'll just leave it in the driveway and collect it when I get back. TA that it rolled further than I thought and I drove over it 🙈

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

It's definitely still water, now. If it was sparkling, it's now positively flat.

Sorry for your loss, Miamee. 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Wondering if I backed up my authenticator apps. The MS one allows you to back up to their cloud.

Also wondering if I need the authenticator app to login to MSs cloud.

Chicken and egg. 🙄

Time to do a "what would happen if I lost my phone" dummy run to make sure I can access the stuff that matters or at least know what to do if I lose it/break it.

🙄