Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iran has come out of the shadows and attacked Israel directly. **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭Rugbyf565

Yep they’re a national embarrassment, desperate to do anything to appease Israel now, made fools of themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭jackboy

That would have been an interesting call. I wonder did Biden promise Israel something concrete to encourage them to back down.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭Rugbyf565

It’s like Christmas for the yanks war room, they get to justify deploying troops to Iran now

• Registered Users Posts: 19,233 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Israel are like the local little sh1thead who thinks they can go around acting the boll1x and throwing shapes because they have a headcase big brother.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭thereiver

iran does,nt care what most eu politicans say , what matters is international sanctions on the iranian economy ,sanctions on their ability to buy weapons or advanced technology or trade it eu countrys

it go,es both ways israel does not care what eu politicans say unless it involves threats to restrict eu trade with israel or restrictions on imports from israel.Biden has some influence on israel as the idf deponds on bombs missiles imported from america

The US dollar surpassed the 660,000-rial mark for the first time on the open market.

With an annual inflation rate reaching about 50 percent, Iranians have been scrambling to convert their savings into hard currencies or gold.

The Rial's decline intensified following the recent Israeli attack on Iran's consulate in Syria and subsequent tensions between the two nations.

The Iranian government has yet to offer a public explanation for the sharp decline of the Rial.

The combination of a weakening currency, rising tensions, and a potential trade imbalance threatens to create significant economic hardship for the Iranian people.

With the annual inflation rate reaching about 50 percent, Iranians have been scrambling to convert their savings into hard currencies or gold

https://iranwire.com/en/economy/127470-irans-rial-dips-to-all-time-low-against-us-dollar/

iran depends on exports and trade to grow its economy.

as the currency falls in value and inflation is at 50 per cent ordinary people are falling into poverty

iran simply cannot afford a full scale war with Israel or america

it does not intend to carry out any more direct attacks from iran .

Of course the missile attacks by iranian proxys will continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,786 ✭✭✭SeanW

This is coming from someone who denies that Iran isn't waging a proxy war against Israel and it's 7.4 million Jews.

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭concerned_tenant

Israel now saying it has "approved both offensive and defensive actions", referring to Iran's attack.

I think it's worth emphasizing that this is the first direct attack Iran has ever done to Israel. It's inconceivable that Israel will not respond offensively to some significant degree.

Feel free to keep up the victim complex SeanW. Not sure where it will get you, but by all means continue as usual.

I know this is a little out there as regards a theory, but bear with me for a minute. What if, maybe just maybe, Iran aimed its drones at Israel because Israel attacked its territory (i.e. an Embassy) and killed its diplomats? Imagine for a second that it wasn't just coincidence that they decided to express their "jew hatred" just after such a terrorist-style attack had been perpetrated

Are you guys not always telling us that Israel isn't waging war against Palestinians because "shure if they wanted to kill them all they just could". Well over 30k dead doesn't constitute waging war when it is Israel doing the killing. But zero dead, and a perpetual victim complex, when it suits Israel, does

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭beeker1

Stuxnet disabled a considerable amount of Iranian centrifuges, israel should have demolished irans nuclear capabilities altogether ! When you're neighbours raison detre is you're total destruction then don't sit back and wait for the first strike , also fair play to the Israeli ambassador for enduring a biased media and despicable politicians like Brid Smyth & Boyd Barrett etc , where was their outrage & revulsion on the morning after Oct 7 ! As I say , the most Irish of traits is a SELECTIVE MEMORY , C*@#ts !

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Luna84

They could storm rafah(not that I want them too as that is where the majority of Gazans are) but they will never defeat Hamas. Sure look at the time UK sent men to long kesh to stop the IRA but didn't stop the attacks it actually caused more attacks there was many more men ready to fight it is the same in Gaza, many men would join the ranks.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

"Citing officials in Jerusalam". Half the feckers in Jerusalam hate Bibi a lot of politics at play there.

I don't think Bibi gives a hoot what Biden says anyway.

There is zero doubt Israel will be responding and when they do it will be a major response.

Posters are absolutely deluded if they think this once in a lifetime opportunity for Israel isn't going to be pounced upon. What Joe Biden says will make zero difference to them as they know he'll keep selling them those weapons.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭brickster69

Iran bans all Israeli linked ships from the Hormuz Straits starting today. They just need Gibraltar now and they have got the treble up.

All roads lead to Rome.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭lmao10

Very true. The disgraceful conduct of the US there will never be forgotten or forgiven by Iranians, yet most in the west don't even know the extent of what the US did there. Absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,699 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

He cares if an issue leads to deteriorating relations and ends up dividing his war cabinet. Do you think it was a coincidence Israel suddenly decided to let more aid in and pulled troops out of southern Gaza after a phone call between Joe and Bibi? I am guessing Israel know they owe a debt to their allies for helping to intercept the missiles. This perhaps has given the Americans some leverage. Had the vast majority not being intercepted bombs would be falling on Tehran since this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,786 ✭✭✭SeanW

Perhaps. But perhaps a more realistic theory is that if Iran weren't using a variety of groups as proxies in their war against the Jewish state, then Israel would have no need to "go to the source" of its problems?

Iran funds, trains, arms and probably directs many of these terrorist groups, but they seem to get a pass for doing so according to some. Obviously Israel disagrees and is getting tired of the Ayatollah's games.

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Relax brah

IT manager iyal (for example) working for a company of 50 is not a criminal committing genocide.

Grow up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭threeball

Netanyahu knows he can't hold power once the war ends and he could end up in prison due to all manner of shady shenanigans he's been involved in. The attack on the embassy was a direct attempt to prolong and extend this war to save his own skin. Just like Trump in the US and Putin in Russia, he sees power as his only shield against going under.

We're not dealing with normal human brings here. We're dealing with narcissistic psychopaths who will quite gladly watch the world burn to save their own skin.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,075 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"When you're neighbours raison detre is you're total destruction then don't sit back and wait for the first strike"

Could very easily be the motto for Hamas back in October.

Oh i completely agree, Bibi is a madman and he isn't passing up on this golden opportunity he's been presented with.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,699 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

it's no coincidence Bibi has expressed admiration for Putin in the past.

Just like hamas & Isis who post videos of the Jordanian pilot burned alive inside a cage ! I could keep going about the countless barbaric atrocities inflicted on other human beings including one of our own citizens , the death of women & children is heartbreaking , but those death cults don't give a flying shite about their mothers & babies !

You seem to be of the opinion that Iran, or Hamas, would be justified to attack the "source" of its problems i.e. the US and UK?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭combat14

israel didnt ask for US permission to take out the iranian generals next door in syria and they wont ask permission when the time is right to take out irans nuclear progamme aimed at them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Given their nature Israel will almost certainly hit back and it will most likely be a lot harder than Iran's limp attempt last night.

All last night proved was Iran can't harm Israel, if they had the ability to hurt them they would of by now but they simply don't have the tools, they can talk all they want but that's the reality, they may be able to put a positive spin on it domestically but to the world they look weak now and they've opened the door for a direct Israeli attack that they wont be able to respond to, which will make them look even weaker.

Iran are at their best staying in the shadows, sowing discontent, attacking indirectly and using their proxies.

I really can't see the logic behind last nights attack.

Israel backed off in 67 ! It's bloodthirsty neighbours tried & failed , israel was 1/3 of the size it is now , plenty of land for the Arabs but they wanted it all ! Thankfully Egyptian ineptitude on the battlefield not seen since the charge of the light brigade ensured a decisive Israeli victory !

There is a narrative out there that Biden can control Bibi but the events of the last 6 months prove otherwise. Bibi knows an election is in the balance in the US and has played Joe like a fiddle.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 DoyleLoneganYouFollow

"Would Israel have launched the attack on the consulate if Iran had not supplied weapons to its proxies on Israel's border?*

Whoa, whoa!!! Are you serious? An Embassy is off limits. You can't just make it up as you go along. It doesn't matter how you slice it and dice it. You don't just get to rip up the rule book because you like being sneaky. Hospitals are off limits. Aid workers are off limits. To make up some horrible excuse that they are masquerading as covers for combatants is irrelevant. They are OFF LIMITS.

An Embassy being deliberately bombed is a war crime.

Do you care about international law or do you just think "fcek it, I'll just invent scenaria and preferential outcomes depending on which way the wind blows on any given day"?

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Luna84

I don't agree with you it made them look weak. It's all about who has the most missiles if they go to war. It supposedly cost 1 billion US dollars on all missiles used last night by Israel and western fighter jets. So it would not be sustainable for Israel to keep doing that. Who has the most missiles and drones is who would win in the exchanges if there was a war. I know Israel have their own missiles for their own defence systems but they also own patriot and American jets with US missiles and the west is running short of them after giving thousands to Ukraine.

Sure Russia backed off in 2014! It's bloodthirsty neighbour tried and failed. Plenty of land for the Ukrainians but they wanted it all. Thankfully their ineptitude on the battlefield not seen since the charge of the light brigade ensured a decisive Russian victory for Crimea.

You see, it's easy to write nonsense.