Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe?

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Marcos

Is that you Helen?

The Minister for Justice is the one at the helm who directs justice and security policy in this state. She has overseen a huge surge in the number of Garda resignations in her time as Minister. last year was a record for the number of resignations of serving Gardai. maybe she should be praised for that? Or how about recognising that as the population of the country has exploded by 20% that we may need more prison space to take criminals out of circulation for a while rather than the huge number of suspended sentences that we see in court reports? That surely must help Garda morale no end, never mind public confidence in the legal system.

https://extra.ie/2023/12/05/news/irish-news/garda-resignations-all-time-high

Oh and spare us the whole misogyny excuse. McEntee gets criticised rightly for her utter ineptitude in the brief. Harris is just as inept in my view but was only her stand in while she went on maternity leave. Luckily for him he didn't have anything like the yank tourist attacked in Talbot St and deciding to go on a photo walk escorted by an Assistant Commissioner and Chief Inspector, and God knows how many out of shot, in a ham fisted attempt to persuade people that Dublin is safe. If he did he'd be rightly excoriated. Neither of them are fit to have senior ministerial office in my opinion.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

The Greens originate and push a lot of agendas that the other parties would not prioritise to the same degree.

So having the Greens in govt is seen by many as inviting strong Green policies at Govt level.

A lot of folks feel thar the Green policies are overkill and if the Greens were not in govt, these policies would be tempered somewhat.

I am not saying the Greens are wrong to do this by the way, just pointing out that a lot of people feel the Green Party agenda is too aggressive - farmers being one obvious example.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

In terms of farmers see below, I don't actually vote for the Green party just find it interesting that so many people get obsessed with the small party in government. If you list out the main "issues" for the Green party since election

1. Closing of electric plants: was done in 2019
    2. Turf ban: was planned for 2019 but FF and FG couldn't agree so pushed it to post election but they planned on banning
    3. Farming: see below, the wheels of motion was set in palce long before the Green party to reduce the herd

https://www.thejournal.ie/farming-climate-change-4770399-Aug2019/

They were indeed, but the Greens are the ones that champion and push the agenda hardest.

That's their raison d'etre.

Their whole reason for existing in the first place.

And as a result, they have been wiped out in the opinion polls.

The agenda was put in place by another government.

The green party at the time had how many TD's in government?

Honestly struggling to see how you can point the finger at the Green Party. That would be like blaming Sinn Fein for the policies implemented at the moment to give an example of an opposition party, difference is Sinn Fein actually have a large representation in the Dail.

Im sure they will be wiped out because a lot of people in Ireland blame the small party, it's a long running history now of the small party getting wiped out

To give you an example, on the "Green policies" thread, you had one of the most vocal anti green party saying he/she wanted them out and Sinn Fein in to stop the madness of wind for electricity etc. When I pointed out that Sinn Fein plan is to actually speed up the implementation of wind and not stop it, they went off ranting about housing. That's an excellent example of the Irish voter.

Anyway its off topic

POint is Dublin is safe

My point proven.

I am not passing judgement on the Greens at all.

I am pointing out that lots of people want them out and associate them with the uber Green policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭nachouser

Anyone been killed or assaulted going about their daily business in Dublin today? I had a fair close run in with some lad on a scooter, but other than that I'm grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

I'm from down the country originally and went to college in Dublin in the late 90s. I studied in the old DIT cathal bruagh campus at the top of o'connell street. For those 3 years I lived in Phibsborough , Rathmines & Glasnevin. At the time and maybe it was just the course I was doing but a lot of our lectures were is small satellite buildings around the inner city . This meant i spent a considerable amount of time walking around the inner city.

I wouldn't have considered myself that naïve at 17, but in the early days and months I learned how to look after myself. Areas to avoid, use my gut instincts a lot of the time and to use as much common sense as I could. The same can be said of course for any major city anywhere - the point I'm trying to get across is that i didn't attract or invite trouble. In those 3 years, and subsequent later visits to the capital for work and socializing, I never felt unsafe about being in the city centre. There are only 2 incidents i can recall where i was approached by scangers in a very poorly executed attempt to mug me - I was walking down o'connell street both times when it happened - carrying a hold all or my college bag - maybe i looked an easy target , anyway the spiel was they'd ask you for directions and then immediately say their friend was behind me and they wanted money. In both instances i genuinely either misheard or kept on walking and they never followed me. On reflection i know now that there wasn't any friend behind me and not interacting was the best course of action. I just learned to be a bit more wary in future.

There was of course the odd wino/ beggar and junkie in an around the city centre but none were aggressive and violent.

There were loads of the usual scangers - all with skin tight jeans/ nike air runners/ aran jumpers and ski jackets as the uniform. Again not majorly antisocial and certainly not violent or aggressive. I often felt safer in Dublin late at night then i did in my home town - perhaps though that is a subconscious bias in that i knew some of the more dodgy characters at home having worked in pubs for years.

Fast forward to before Christmas, last year for business i had to go to the point village from Heuston.

1. Agressive begging outside Heuston
    2. Screaming match on the luas to the point
    3. Junkie Fight on Abbey Street
    4. Gang of Scrotes running out of a shop with hoods down and masks up ( it wasnt a sponsered run either)
    5. Junkie pestering me for change numerous times as i waited for train in Hueston
    6. Same Junkie pestering everyone on the train for change until he got off in Athy. ( Free travel pass included)

All in the one day.

Was the above unsafe to me a grown man? No

Was it a pleasant experience of a city that i studied in and lived in with fantastic memories and a place i will always have a fondness for? No.

maybe the question is , is Dublin Safer then it was? - My response would be on balance - less safe. And i take no pleasure in saying that.

One thing for certain , the amount of general antisocial behavior has skyrocketed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Another attack last night near Dublin Castle. https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/man-left-serious-injuries-after-28432766

Yet people still claim Dublin is safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Cities have crime shocker.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,928 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

So we've ticked pretty much everything on the butthurt townie checklist :

• "I've never had a problem so there is no problem"
    • "I'm from the area and never had any trouble"
    • "Other places have crime as well you know"
    • "People will complain about anything"
    • "Youse r all just sensitive"
    • "yup the flats"

not really it's just weird having people tell you how dangerous a place is when you're there every day as are most people you know and nothing ever happens, the town is rammed day and night with people going about their business. most of the country despises dublin and its people so we are constantly being gaslit by all of you that it's the most dangerous place in europe, it's just so weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭mikethecop

(1) Dubs life on X: "😂 https://t.co/pq1d2Mr8wh" / X (twitter.com)

aw would ye stop even the criminals arent safe from the little rats that infest the city

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Was in town earlier. Thousands of people enjoying the city centre, eating, having a coffee. The lawless kip narrative being pushed is becoming tiresome.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Are you under the impression that people are being murdered frequently in Dublin City centre and would you be in fear of being murdered if you went in?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

This is more like it.

Most people with sense can spot the dodgy people to avoid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Lol

Yes, I'm in there multiple times a week at all times of day and unlike some actually walk around the likes of Mountjoy Square and Dublin 1.

I fear being murdered, but it's the adrenalin that keeps me doing it.

I'm not even sure how that was read from what I said. There is clearly a higher level of anti social behaviour, open drug use, teenage skanks than there has been at any time in the last 25 years I've been working and in College in the city centre. Just because it's not an open warzone doesn't mean you can't acknowledge that there are problems.

Twice today I saw little groups of people, 2 or 3, smoking something in like a doorway. Once was on Westmoreland street by the KFC, the other was in Temple Bar.

Is that Crack or Heroin or could it be either? I couldn't really tell but could just see the lighter.

I don't think Dublin has more antisocial behaviour than before the pandemic, but lots of people are saying it, so maybe it's true.

It's always had an edge with lots of druggie people around the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

No one is being murdered every day so that means the city is safe!

Also I've never had cancer so cancer isn't a problem.

I have a roof over my head so homelessness is blown out of proportion.

etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Oh, there are problems and they need to be addressed, as you probably know I've been calling for investment in to the city rather than out for a long time, we need a metro police force along with huge investments like an underground instead of paying for empty motorways outside the capital.

But there aren't a lot of murders or riots compared to other European capitals. It's a very safe city. Unless you're involve in the drug trade, gang warfare or a vulnerable addict you're very unlikely to be murdered or attacked. You'll be ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,650 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

More specifically, a woman who has taken maternity leave, and progressed anti-hate speech legislation and domestic violence legislation and services during her time there.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,631 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The vast majority of incidents we hear about in Dublin city are not random incidents there people with problems with each other & one ends up wore off, Yes the odd time it happens to innocent people but the fast majority of the time that is not the case

Dublin is safer than most capital Cities in Europe, but like anywhere it also helps to have your wits about you ,

McAtee & the likes are a joke , useless at there jobs , in any other line of works she;d have been let go a long time ago,

The buck stops at Drew Harris. He's the expert.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,860 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Tis "an unadulterated kip" says proud Dubliner Joe Duffy (in 2015)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,854 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Agh now. Is Dublin safer than say Prague, or Copenhagen, or Vienna, or Munich, or Budapest or Luxembourg or Bratislava or Zagreb or Belgrade (and I could go on)?

When in cities like that do you have masses of social housing right in the city centre where tourists are going, and for good measure ALL the city's drug treatment centres ?

The likes of Prague has an issue with pickpockets, so you can throw crime stats at me because you might loose your wallet (to a nimble fingered thief, and not notice a thing in the process), but you dont have feral youths hanging about being a menace, or being menacing. You dont have them on the trams terrorising commuters. You can go about the city minding your own business and so long as you keep a good hold of your wallet and phone there'll be literally no issue. You can go down back alleys or take shortcuts, or get lost, and again not a problem in the slightest.

Theres issues in Dublin though with in your face thugishness which cannot be glossed over by saying theres other "capitals" which are worse - when theres very few actually are remotely as bad let alone being worse

Weren't 2 Irish tourists mugged and killed in Prague years ago? I definitely know that Vienna has loads of social housing in the city centre, as does Paris and London. There's even social housing in Soho and Chinatown in London and peppered around really posh areas like St John's Wood and the likes.

Some of us just don't experience this "menace" I keep being told about when in Dublin centre, I don't know anyone who doesn't like going into town.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,523 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

The title of the thread is 'Is Dublin really safe'.

Acqnowledging that there a problems does not equal a statement that Dublin is a fundamentally dangerous (or unsafe) city.

TBH - I think your line of approach is a much better one.

Does Dublin have problems? What are they? Lets tackle them.

However this thing of - is Dublin safe? Is it unsafe? then you are into the realm of subjectivity. Your opinion about whats safe, and whats not safe - how is 'safe' defined. Its a redundant argument as it cant be won or lost, its just your opinion vs my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,523 ✭✭✭Tombo2001