Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭hawley

It's amateurish, to say the least, that Q102 isn't properly synced with Virgin Radio. He always gives a rundown of his weekend every Monday, but we only heard the very tail-end of it this morning. Q102 was on a break and just came back as he was finishing. Only part I got was that he was back in Ireland and something about singing Les Misérables. Recommendation for Lucy Foley- The Hunting Party. Book that you need in your life. Also has an early copy of a book coming out next year. Collaboration between two famous mystery authors whose identities are being hidden.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Ryan talking about his “beautiful and gorgeous” (quote) weekend back in Dublin, where he told us he was recording some episodes of his side project, some singing in Monkstown and a “back to mine” where the merriment continued with lots of “Les Mis” songs being sung at chez Ryan. It’s nice to hear him enjoying himself and he does seem (audibly at least) more relaxed/less giddy than usual this morning. Maybe he’s more at peace now? Fair play if he is.

A message from a listener in Australia now. Ryan discussing a book that’s not going to be released until 2026 that he’s gotten an advance copy of which has a guerilla marketing campaign of sorts attached to it where the authors (plural in this case) names are not divulged. No title given, no authors (obviously) in this case, and precious little to go on to even google. I’m not sure why he does these things as it smacks of privilege a little.

The RDS is as usual off, but an otherwise good start to proceedings.

Oh….rugger bugger and podcaster and dance music DJ/producer (yes) James Haskell is joining Ryan later. Haskell can be a bit of a “messer” at the best of times so I do hope I can listen to this segment as there’s potential for some high jinx if Haskell is on form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It still really feels he is based in Ireland and Virgin Radio is his side project.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

I presume that you weren't listening on Q102 because I missed a lot of that. Nice for him to get home for the weekend.

No, it was the definitely Q102 feed - I keep meaning to try the Virgin one to check their RDS but both the radio and the laptop are set to Q….old habits die hard and all that. What was good and noticeable this morning was the show started as follows:

Song (Goo Goo Dolls)

Ryan chat

Song (Prefab Sprout)

Ryan chat

Song (Chappel Roan)

Ryan

This seems to be a shift from the normal run of 3 songs then an interlude from Ryan and in my opinion this works much better as we get more of what we came for - Ryan. It’s also allowing him more time to breathe and not cram as much as possible as quickly as possible into each chat segment. Maybe they’re listening to the feedback and adjusting accordingly? I hope it continues like this - maybe it’s why he sounded more relaxed than usual as I mentioned in my first post of the day?

I’d agree that It does have that feel to it at times but as an Irish based listener I’m not overly concerned with how the British are finding it.

Considering how he handled John Cleese, I don't forsee him having any problems engaging with a former rugby player. Expect that Haskell will be asking him on to his podcast by the end of the interview. Russell Crowe is cut from the same cloth as Haskell. Same kind of tough rugby banter that Crowe engages in. Crowe is a friend of Tubs.

I guess when you put it like that you have a point. I’d also forgotten how Ryan has embraced running and rugby in more recent years and is now much more sports aware than he would previously have been. Haskell’s rugby podcast is a bit more light-hearted and less serious than other rugby podcasts so maybe there’s some crossover potential alright.

Top tuneage this morning with some Daft Punk thrown in too, a real departure from the old RTE playlists. He’s growing musically too it seems - although the RDS is having a bad day even by its own standards.

Ryan just called said “child-ridden” in the way certain Dubliners say it. I’m not sure what the Brits would make of that? 🤷‍♂️

He's announced planning a holiday to Japan with the girls and is asking for recommendations. I’ve been a few times, it’s a wonderful and weird place, and incredibly friendly. He wants to go to Hiroshima…..I’d advise against that, it’s deeply depressing and upsetting. I might drop him some alternative suggestions.

I think I missed the Haskell interview, which is a shame. I must try and find it later.

RDS having its worst day that I can recall.

Suede are playing now, here’s what showing on the RDS:

IMG_3949.jpeg

you can see a few songs either side of what’s playing - before and next, usually 2 either way, no Suede in any direction. 🤷‍♂️

A promo/competition for Oasis in Croke Park now with an Irish text number and a mention of Onic which clearly isn’t going out on the Virgin feed that was interrupted by a Ryan Tubridy Show promo. Bad day in the office all round for the production crew.

At least he's willing to call out Trump's acceptance of a plane from the Qatari Royal Family. Said that taking extras as part of his job amounts to corruption. Said that there's no perfect political system.

At the end of the interview, Tubs said that's lovely hurling. They mustn't have had a clue what he meant.

Was that after the heavily edited radio-friendly version of “American Idiot” by Greenday?

Personally I’d prefer if radio stations didn’t play songs of theirs going to remove words mid-song. It just sounds weird to me.

Recommendation for Florence Knapp novel called The Names. Also recommended The Surfer, a film starring Nicolas Cage. Am surprised that he has never heard of The Silmarillion by Tolkien. Would have thought that it's a very well known book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,265 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

It has around 400 pages. Is that over his limit?

He said that he has never read Lord of the Rings. Maybe it's just not his things. He gave another recommendation for Joe O'Connor's book Shadowplay. Said that he became friends with Sinead through him. Said that he often thinks of Sinead when he's travelling home from London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,899 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

STill mentioning Sinead O'connor? Loves name dropping, doesn't he?

And not the least bit surprised he hasnt heard of The Simarillion. He's not into books as much as he pretends he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,892 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

AI OverviewThe correct spelling of the title is The Silmarillion. The misspelling "Simarillion" appears to be a common mistake, possibly due to the similar sound or a slight visual misinterpretation. "Silmarillion" is a Quenya word meaning "of the Silmarils," a reference to the precious jewels in Tolkien's mythology

Even Amazon.com on one of their listings have it as Simarillion.

Ryan slagging Donald Trump about his culinary habits; people in glass houses ….

I don’t understand why he does this type of thing with such regularity. He preaches kindness and yet frequently says unkind things about people he doesn’t like, or feels he’s above, or people he feels deserve ridicule (Boyzone on TLLS for example).

Ryan talking about Wicked now and pronounced Ariana Grande’s surname as “grand”. I’m not sure if this was an attempt at humour or maybe he doesn’t know who she is and how her surname is pronounced? I’d find it strange if he doesn’t, but it’s possible I suppose.

RDS all over the place again. Pixies playing and the RDS displaying Ruby Horse. 🙄

Another recommendation for Florence Knapp's book The Names. He's a third of the way through the book. About toxic masculinity and misogyny. Bully husband who is coercively controlling his wife wants her to give the child a family name. Different scenarios of how giving a different name to child influences their life. Said that the husband reminded him of Trump.

He really struggled when reading some of the names of the book award winners, clearly not having read them in advance - he could even it between songs if he wanted to rehearse/practice. You’d think someone who is into books as much as Ryan is would know these names, but apparently not. A minor complaint in the grand scheme of things I guess. Ryan sounds like he’s enjoying himself though!

He's getting a lot of proof copies of books. Means that listeners are getting advance notice of potential huge selling books. Can recommend books that haven't even been released yet. Cutting edge radio for all bookworms.

David Frost's son, Wilfred, is on now. His godfather is John Cleese and Tubs has him in stitches with a story about how Cleese almost forgot his umbrella. Described how he walked like a crab and grabbed hold of it.

Ariana is unsure about which pronunciation of her own name to use. The one which comes from her Italian/Sicilian heritage has generally been superseded by a Spanish sounding pronunciation.

Thanks for that, genuinely. She offers “Grand-E” and “Grand-ay”, but not “Grand” like Ryan did.

He’s getting great value from both that interview itself and the umbrella story to be fair (which never ceases to be funny no matter how may times he tells it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,995 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I nominate her for a part in a remake of A Grand Day Out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Terence Rattigan