Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children stabbed in Dublin city centre **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users Posts: 9,008 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Let's not blame McEntee entirely. She is an inexperienced TD out of her depth. Everything she does or doesn't do is backed by cabinet. The 3 unwise men (Leo, Michael, Eamonn) are too busy trying to secure EU/UN jobs to care about Garda numbers, Prison capacity or the crap Judicial system. The previous FF/FG justice ministers achieved very very little too.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Justice minister too though has to be held account.

We've had a number of posters on here saying since that American tourist was attacked in talbot at nothing has changed in terms of daily policing on o Connell st and surrounds - I’ve been into town myself a few times and I’d concur with that - ongoing physical presence is a deterrent to violence - I’ve had enough of being lectured to by Commissioner Harris - it’s bloody obvious that he’s presiding over a **** show, much of which is his doing - but Justice minister is completely out of her depth and needs to just resign - this unprecedented event happened on her watch

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Sinn Fein told us last night it wasn’t anyone from North Inner City

• Registered Users Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭batman_oh

A bunch of immigrant workers had a protest in City West recently about teenage scum basically terrorising the whole place and asking why this is allowed in Ireland. Ignored. They are stealing motorbikes in broad daylight, with hammers and **** and joyriding them around the city and nobody does anything. Openly dealing drugs, recording themselves attacking people and stealing cars etc. For years they have been attacking deliveroo drivers and one of the little ANGLEZ who was a great footballer got his commupence for this (and that was apparently a tragedy at the time).

All this has been ignored by the idiots in power and you have ended up where parts of Dublin are overrun with scum that can do anything they like and a legal system churning them through hundreds of convictions. Instead of the usual apologising for it, pretending it's not happening and saying it's because they have no faciliteez they are now suddenly all far right because optics. It's funny how you can actually see some posters who would normally defend their right to be scum now frantically calling them all far right as it justifies their simple take on the world. Once they can say something is far right then it's fine to call them out for being dirty scum it seems.

How about finally admitting that you are basically paying scum to act like scum instead of pretending everything is fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭gotaf

Ah sorry. I was talking about the experience of a working immigrant in Dublin. Maybe wasn't clear that was a quote from the Brazilian immigrant who intervened yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Facthunt

Irexit anyone? 🤓🙈😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users Posts: 6,843 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

All yesterdays incident was was an excuse for scum to act like scum. This whole "der attackin ere childerden" schtick is just convenient and serves to lay the blame at the feet of the big bad fordeners. Im not suggesting that there shoudlnt be more controls over our immigration policy or that people arriving without any proof of identification should be welcomed with open arms but the reality is, the majority of headline, violent crimes commited against children have been committed by born and reared Irish people. The Cash and Cawley children in Tallaght last year, the three Morley children in Newcastle, Anna Kriegel, all murdered by "one of our own".

Yesterdays incident, while utterly horrific, is thankfully a pretty isolated incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭gotaf

Yep and I've witnessed some awful stuff being said to people on public transport too. All anti immigrant rhetoric at people going about their day.

And we know the people pushing it online and stoking the flames.

Not sure what can be done about such ignorance though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Maybe we should concentrate on the group of scumbags doing the rioting and the people organising them?

Seems some people are more interested in having little pops at the government who in reality will be gone in 12 months and a new one will make no difference

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

One common denominator causing riots in multiple European cities not only Dublin. But supposedly anyone talking about the common denominator is a far right nazi. So until it is spoken about in a sensible democratic way expect more of the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,940 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

5 year old girl is still in critical condition.

6 year old girl due to have surgery, multiple head wounds.

No update on the "carer" that I have seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Slightly Kwackers

Well things appear to be working fine.

The Garda have done their jobs, although with little thanks from some areas.

If you are not happy with your politicians then who I wonder is to blame?

Answers on a postcard....................... :-)

Frankly having come from the UK, I got a tad sick of the term "Do gooders" and descriptions of holiday camp prisons perpetuated by people not bothered with facts, just their gut feelings and no real interest in doing even a small amount of research into things they were incensed about.

Personally I am far more afraid of mobs acting out of their sense of justice than a legal system that just happens to have all the information regarding an event.

Trial by internet seems a little lacking somehow, When I see people driving around in cars with "say no to vaccination" emblazoned on them, I would have hoped free speech was best kept for those with the intelligence to know the truth.

Things were so much better when internet communications had a command line interface and needed someone with a basic ability with UNIX and Usenet to broadcast their ramblings :-(

Do we know what the reason behind the attack was?

• Registered Users Posts: 55,165 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Did they not report one child discharged yesterday?

maybe there were 3 children stabbed. I thought two

• Registered Users Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭billyhead

Someone mentioned it previously on this thread that there was a time you respected the Gardai and when you were told to be on your way you did it in case your parents found out and you would get a clip across the ear. Times have certainly changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭randd1

Except when they do do their job, such as chasing three known violent burglars on the motorway, where said burglars were driving on the wrong side of the road leading to them ending up (thankfully) as roadkill, they get prosecuted.

They arrest a lad for assault, and a week later they're doing the same to the same lad because te judge thinks it was on the minor scale of things and lets him back out with a fine.

They have to watch lads as young as 13 wreak havoc in towns until the turn 18 because mammy is too busy getting pumped by whichever lad is giving her the cheapest drugs to raise him properly, because it's never the poor dears fault that and can't be punished despite being clearly old enough to tell right form wrong.

Some Guards just shouldn't be anywhere near their job, but the vast majority are good people doing a job where they're outnumbered, with hands tied behind their backs, where they run the risk of assault regularly, and where they have watch god awful shite happen repeatedly because they neither have the resources to tackle it or decades of societal negligence by government after government have created environments where criminality flourishes.

Had they said last night "screw GSOC", went in and laid down a full on baton charge and hospitalized a few scumbags, the response from the authorities would be to punish the Guards involved, GSOC would have a field day, there'd have an inquiry demanded within the Dail into Garda responses and behaviour, several politicians would start claiming the Guards are worse than the criminals and look to punish the force as a whole and introduce measures to tie the Guards hands even more, and the scumbags and their solicitors would have a field day with the claims.

The net result being anyone looking on wanting to be a Guard, says to themselves, "I'll try something else, it's not worth it".

• Registered Users Posts: 39,940 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 55,165 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Exactly …. Same with the teachers!

Thinking back at my time in school it would be very rarely if ever I could say my teacher was wrong! But now it the “little angels” who don’t do anything wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The riot is a consequence of no consequences for feral scum all their lives.

There will be more unless reality returns to policing. The politic lobby and ngos who never met a criminal they didnt have an excuse for and see police as the enemy need to be told where to go and funding given to police, courts, prisons.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Theyoungfella

The same will happen tonight. The government need to listen I'm not against immigration but this is out of control. Feral and not wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

It's obviously got issues. No different to a lot other cities though as I've pointed out. Scenes like last night are a regular occurrence across the Continent & UK.

I'm in the CC twice a month on average fpr socialising and I think it's a great place.

But I'd 100% back the complete removal of all Social housing from D1/2/3/4 etc

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

The vast majority of the people who looted would probably thing "far right" is a type of vape. The issue wasn't far right thugs.

The issue was criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Damien360

1. GSOC would go through the gardai for a shortcut.

2. That is the wrong statement. There are too many without any level of education and of no use to this economy, they are a drain.

Lots and lots of immigrants that work and pay tax. They can stand on their own two feet financially. Those we want and need. More than welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,291 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Yes the Gardai should expect crime. Stupid comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Making a stand to get more free stuff and fire s££t at the Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I’m not from the north but I grew up throughout the troubles so I know what a good riot police response looks like (and I don’t mean the indiscriminate beating of peaceful protesters) - and you’re right, this was catastrophic policing - I’m glad you highlighted the sole Gardai trying to defend themselves (there are a number of such videos) - that should never have happened - I really felt for the rank and file last night - they deserve our respect and support in the coming days- but more so, they deserve so much better in terms of strategy equipment leadership.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭brickster69

Many many countries citizens think like that, but nothing changes. Last night a spark caused a fire not seen before, now imagine what happens if a stadium hosting a concert is attacked, buses and trains blown up, trucks driving into people at Christmas markets. Not scaremongering, but it is possible and probably just a matter of time. Then what ?

An evil man will burn his own nation to the ground to rule over the ashes - Sun Tzu

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭yagan

You'd let lifestyle criminals dictate national policy?