Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the present FF/FG/GP government the worst in the history of the state?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

What do you think social welfare payments are designed to pay for? Or HAP payments? Or Back to School payments? Or Childrens Allowance? Or higher tax credits for those with children?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

they have been a disaster

healthcare is a shambles.

housing is a shambles

schools cant get teachers

guards are on strike

childcare is a disaster

mental health services are a disgrace

legal strikes

lots of posters here seem to judge a governments performance on how wealthy we are and jobs number etc which is important but there is no point in having a good economy if your pissing it all against the wall ( childrens hosptital ffs ). I would vote for anyone who can solve healthcare and housing, this government have made a woeful attempt at housing/healthcare and their legacy will be one of failure hence their poll ratings.

during the 80s we might have been poorer but we had a half decent health system, housing was actually being built by the government and gave people a chance to own their own gaff now we have massive private building companies building houses and the local county council paying over inflated prices for a 20 year lease - crazy ****.

Lets be honest we are in the middle of another boom with another kick in the balls just around the corner - our economy is built on a house of cards (corporation tax could fall off a cliff at any moment and where would that leave us ? ) basically because we are a tax haven and not because of some brilliant government policy. our only indiginueus economy farming has been sold done the river to satisfy the crazy greens.

its only a matter of time before its crash number 2

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Of course there are many Paddies who are now so rich that they consider housing to be a commodity like oil, coffee or metals.

If people considered housing to be a commodity they wouldn't insist on its value only ever increasing. We could do with it being more commoditised to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. I think you have Stockholm syndrome.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭suvigirl

I know what they are to pay for. They are to assist those persons who cannot assist themselves (social protection )

Article 25 of the UDHR does not put a responsibility on government's to 'provide affordable housing for all its citizens' no more than it makes them responsible to clothe and feed all its citizens.

And, let's just say they did have that responsibility, where do you think the money comes from to do those things?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

I never stated any article places responsibility on anything.

It's a simple fact that the responsibility of government is to provide the basics - sanitation, clean water and housing (shelter) initially with roads, education, health, policing etc. . thereafter. This has been the case for thousands of years. The Romans were doing this 2000 years ago.

Otherwise what's the point of taxation?

It must also be pointed out that various Irish governments have abdicated from their responsibility to build houses via the councils and corporations since basically the 1980s (leaving it entirely to the private sector).......and look where that has left us.

If you want to claim that government has no responsibility to build houses then government is going to have an even bigger mess coming down the line for not taking on that responsibility. It must also be pointed out that most pay for their own houses. . . . I'm stating that it is the responsibility for government to ensure that houses are built. It's the responsibility of the house occupant to pay for it at a fair price.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭suvigirl

This is exactly what you said.

Glad to see you have changed your mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭BagofWeed

The unleashing of racism just to undermine the opposition is one of the if not the most cynical, evil and divisive things ever done to this country. The amount of people in everyday conversation who blame immigrants for all our ills is shocking. The racism was always there in the background, in hushed tones but now it's open and has been normalised. But it also shows up how stupid a lot of people are, complete and utter lack of critical thinking.

Jim Allisters insult towards Varadkar the Venomous was the truest thing he ever uttered.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,068 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Who are these people that blame immigrants?

Are you exaggerating the extent of racism in Ireland?

This government and the last one has almost no major infrastructural achievements.

The Children's Hospital is the only legacy and that's not even finished and is a financial mess.

The Greens in government over 3 years and no changes to public transport. It's the do nothing government.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭oceanman

leaving any government in power for too long is dangerous....history has taught us that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

The PT has improved. The fares have been reduced overall and the 90 min fare has been introduced. The Bus Connects is beginning to be rolled out. Metrolink is awaiting the ABP Railway Order, but meanwhile procurement is progressing. The purchase of electric buses has happened, but no charging stations - oops.

Following the reduction in fares, usage has increased.

The mess with the Children's hospital occurred because the political wrangle over the site. It should have been put in a better site and without an underground car park. The current site is overcrowded but well served with PT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Government only manage 3 thing’s

Humans

Environment

Economies

All failing badly i think except the economy

but it’s the way governments form policy that’s causing chaos.

Until we have a holistic context to our decision making and policy’s we wont change anything. What I mean by that is, how do we want our lives to be?

we all want clean air, water, food, money, housing, time off etc

Now develop policy’s based on that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

It's all available here in terms of major projects

A lot of changes in public transport, especially around buses. Cycle lane, greenway etc. The 90 min fare is a huge plus.

Also the introduction of FiT for home owners.

The location is issue with Children's Hospital.

political wrangle over the site

The only political wrangle over the site is from politicians who won't shut up about it being in the "wrong place".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Absolutely, both Martin and Varadkar are the two worst Taoiseachs we have had , both happened to be leaders during a period when the big American corporations are doing great , a well trained monkey could handle huge corporation tax windfalls, in every other area they are not only awful but actively harming the country

Cowen and Garret Fitz were both failures but you never thought they didn’t give a damn about the Irish people

Catherine Connolly is a Marxist clown of the highest order

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

What’s the best government in the history of the state and why?

Impossible to say which one was best , the 1994 to 1997 one managed the emergence of the Celtic Tiger very well, the 1997 - 2002 government did well before Bertie went mad post 2002 throwing money at everyone and making construction the heart of the economy

the 1987 to 1992 Haughey government sowed the seeds of our prosperity and had to make tough decisions

the 2011 Enda Kenny government wasted opportunities but overall did well and as the media didn’t like Enda , they were never going to be an appreciated government, Labour also were unfairly portrayed during this period

due to our awful PR electoral system, we will never elect a decisive government of unshakable purpose

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Never got the impression Cowen cared all that much, particularly given his refusal to accept responsibility for the hames he made of the economy.

Genealogy Forum Mod

They were all welcome changes but minor in the grand scheme of things. Journey times for using the bus hasn't changed in the last few years.

What happened with Bus Connects and creating more bus lanes. Nothing.

Greens have been bitterly disappointing from a public transport point of view.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭mikemac2

The government that was interning hundreds in jails and shot 77 prisoners may be worth consideration OP in your very dramatic thread title

The cost over runs and the delays in completion have nothing to do with the location.

No major transport infrastructure is being built at the moment - no Luas extension to Finglas, no Metro, the Maynooth line hasn't been upgraded (talked about for years and years) etc etc.

Cycle lanes are few and far between and where they have built them, they look horrible.

I would imagine Green voters are wondering why they bothered voting Green.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭BagofWeed

Are you Sir, An ostrich ? It's like open season for insulting immigrants in our city centres nowadays but in good ol' Oirish style it's ignored and/or swept under the carpet.

The bus corridors, like many other projects, are stuck in ABP. It's ridiculous how many issues boil down to that one blockage. It is the fault of the government to have under resourced it but not specifically the Greens whose remit it does not fall under.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭thomas 123

One can blame immigration for things without being a racist.

Maybe among those who hang around city centres, usually young people of low intellect or self respect, the same type of people who call others fat, ginger, stupid - its low hanging fruit for them.

To tar anyone who argues against immigration as a racist is dangerous.

I would be against uncapped immigration because we don’t have the resources available to look after our citizens as it stands.

It’s not because I’m racist. But that aside how can a European be racist to another European..?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭thomas 123

That poster did not mention the nationality of the people allegedly getting racially abused - then again though most people who pull the racism card don't know how to use it.