Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you hate people saying

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Sorolla

Ah - he looks just like himself - ye'd think he was only asleep

(in funeral home - some gobshite looking at the corpse)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,082 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

All the ridiculous hypocritical praise and playing songs of Sinead O'Connor since she died. Apart from reports about the tragic death of her son in 2022 there has been virtually nothing about her or hardly any of her music played for years. I wish people would just shut up and let her rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Beefcake82

"like" as nearly every other word.

Yeah "though" and "do" don't even sound alike.

Same when people use "where" for "were".

And it has become fashionable to omit "will" and "would", e.g. "He be delighted", "She love that" (he'll be delighted, she'll love that).

Yeah a row of question marks or exclamation marks looks thick and obnoxious.

In the west of Ireland whenever a man passes away you often hear this phrase:

“oh - he was a great worker”

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭Manc-Red_

“Now it doesn’t bother me but”

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

Frequently on rip,ie - I hate reading this

”may his gentle soul rest in peace”

A man in a pub saying

“I’m going to shtrain the spuds”

meaning - one is going to urinate

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Happy out.... What does it even mean

“The Mickey money” for the children’s allowance

Your auld mother continuously saying:

”I’m not well”

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭growleaves

"Ah tuunnnnnneeeee!!" when a good song comes on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

"Aw telpis, your wit the angles now"

Usually when a pond scum criminal dies

People continually talking about age and getting older, just live your life and stay healthy as long as possible. A typical age related one, " did he/she get the pension yet" or " he/she must be near pension age". I have often felt like answering " none of your f...ing business".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Happy out

People using the word "passing" for dead or death.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Thinking outside the box

Wellness

• Registered Users Posts: 13,643 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

People who pronounce the j in "Junta" rather than saying "Hunta"

How do they pronounce Javier Bardem's name?

People who say Expresso instead of Espresso

I’m off to wet me beard.

Some awful woman in the pub as she headed off to the jacks.

"The wife" instead of "my wife".

• Registered Users Posts: 8,976 ✭✭✭pgj2015

"may his gentle soul rest in peace" have seen this a few time son RIP.ie, have seen it written several times about this local guy who was know to be a very unlikable guy. A career criminal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭brokenbad

The priest when he says "You may offer each other the sign of peace"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Tuesday.

I hate the sound of it, the way it just sits between Monday and Wednesday.

What an absolute cu76 of a day that keeps coming back around.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

WOKE

• Registered Users Posts: 15,856 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This x 1000. I don't why people can't say someone died now. That's what actually happens. "Passed away" is bad enough but "passed". Passed what? A gallstone? A particularly heavy meal? A slow moving vehicle?

That and "bathroom" for toilet that doesn't have an actual bath in it. Or worse, aping Americans yet again, washroom.

" Over the moon"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭jackboy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I love it. Let's hoist the flag and see who salutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

"Whats the craic", I know, I am Irish, I should not find it problematic but I just dont know how to respond.

I dont mind it if the situation doesnt allow a response, like someone passing me quickly etc, but I hate meeting someone and them opening with that. What do I say? "Grand"??

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭BlueEyeGleams

Is for sure the new to be sure?