Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

No need for the Hugo Boss hating, it's still a respectable choice once it isn't printed on the item like an advertising slogan.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Pretty obvious that Katie Taylor has no time for him after how he overtook the first fight and now Hearns subsequent press conference etc….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

It's about time Hearns grew a pair and put a shield around our greatest ever fighter.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭mode1990

Apparently a well known D12 figure was interviewed by Gardai regarding their activities , a young person was thrown from a car after being assaulted by said person !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭donaghs

just google it: https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/other-sport/boxing/what-kellie-harrington-tweet-immigration-29568250?int_source=amp_continue_reading&int_medium=amp&int_campaign=continue_reading_button#amp-readmore-target

i don’t think most people care, or believe she is a racist or whatever else , Kellie deleted the post and wants to move on with her life now.

However in these judgemental times. Some feel she has failed the purity test, and has to carry this stigma forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

This was Kellie Harrington last month. She obviously doesn't support McGregors racist crap 😅

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,453 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Kellie gave an interview recently where said she now regrets the whole tweet thing and that she should never have gone so on the defensive when quizzed about it on Off The Ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭mode1990

Setup by "off the boil " , thankfully the Internet is riddled with agenda free sports programmes , I gave them a second chance after getting rid of Ken " I'm too intelligent, to be here " Early , but sandbagging Kellie turned me right off ! You go girl , you've an Olympic medal , not some shittygong in a **** market !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭dickdasr1234

Same here, paid taxes for 50 years. Paid 16.75% interest on my mortgage. Working to keep your head above water? Isn't that what we're supposed to do?

It's not that long ago when this country was badly in need of somewhere for our emigrants to go.

We have never seen a war. Travel the world and you will see war memorials everywhere - we don't know how lucky we are.

Are we seriously saying that war refugees can go **** themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Alexander Shulgin

That accusation has been out there for a long time ! On a completely different story an individual received a substantial payoff from a southside "sporting" canyon mouth !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Anyone who would vote for mcgregor should only get half a vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,542 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

would it be safer to put a bell on him, so women know when he is near ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The day will come when some person will be called to answer to the various claims against him. My bet is he'll blame it on nurophen plus.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,021 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I don't think most voters are that gullible. There's no shortage of cranks. Even Danny Healy-Rae is only going off the back of the family name.

At the height of his powers, Peter Casey scraped a pitiful fifth of the vote.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,146 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ineffective but incredibly embarrassing for the country if the wrong candidate gets it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

He's a part time reaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Good as he very clearly has been inciting on social media

Conor McGregor investigated by gardai for 'alleged incitement'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭celt262

This is been used to rile up the unwashed even more though.

I agree that he needs to be spoken to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,110 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...maybe we should get someone like andrew tate to chat to him, at least it would entertain us a bit more.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Relax brah

He’s a scumbag who was likely off his head on cocaine when tweeting that nonsense. He is a notorious liar and anyone who believes his BS is a just a stupid as he is.

The man completely contradicted himself by resharing a British right wing video to back up his argument.

I’ll never forget the time I seen him parked in SuperValu Crumlin car park. I was with my 11 year old nephew, unfortunately he was a McGregor fan at the time. It was hard not to spot him in his Lamborghini jeep, he had some thug sitting in the car with him. He had a black tattoo upto his neck, my nephew asked innocently for a picture and McGregor just said “not today kid, f^^k off.”

Hes a coke head scumbag, these idiots who believe this nonsense about him running for president need to leave this country with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭briany

@Relax brah

Hes a coke head scumbag, these idiots who believe this nonsense about him running for president need to leave this country with him.

It's not that I disagree. It's just that I remember a time when I was much more confident that a western country would not elect a loudmouth charlatan as their president.

Not that McGregor would run for president when he has his face buried in a pile of cocaine and is attempting the world adultery record, but if supposing he did, I worry he'd get a good many more votes than he had any business to.

One lesson we should take on board is that there must be a way to talk reasonably about public concern about immigration without immediately being branded a racist, because if you ignore such people or deride them, their concerns don't just disappear and they become perfect candidates for sleazy crooks to come in and play on their worst fears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭juno10353

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

The English trying to silencer the Irish, wouldn't Conor's character he plays be opposed to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

That is a big problem. It is not possible to have a mature conversation. Even arguing for the current EU law on immigration is liable to get you branded a racist. The sensible people keep their mouths shut fearing repercussions so the floor is left open to the lunatic fringe like McGregor

Fun fact - Ben Shapiro was talking about the McGregor the other day and described him as an Irish 'national hero' 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,837 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Fully agree, he’s either spending too much time on Truth Social or has a 2nd person now writing some of his tweets.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,021 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's always been possible to talk about immigration sensibly. The problem is that the debate is flooded with xenophobes who pretend to care about their own people's welfare only to turn on them when there are no Muslims or Eastern Europeans in the picture. It's the same on social media and, here in the UK at least, politics in general. The government here has frittered away over £140 million on a failed attempt to deport a few hundred people to the country which has had the largest atrocity in recent history. Then there's trash like the Daily Mail, headquartered in the Bahamas to avoid tax. When it's not demonising foreigners or undermining democracy, it's vilifying people who need welfare and insinuating that working class people are lazy. It's exactly the same thing here. The same talking heads who wail about working class people suffering and communities being destroyed will, as surely as night follows day, demonise working class people as lazy and any government spending not on the armed forces, the police or prisons as Communism, ie that all taxation is theft.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

They’d want to watch themselves, we all know about his behaviour at parties

Yeah serious achievement that, fair play to her 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭briany

If the debate is flooded with xenophobes, as you say, then they must be engaged with, whether we like it or not. If they are not engaged with, then their views and claims cannot be effectively challenged and they are free to go forming their echo chambers online, and we've seen this happen in the UK and USA already with some pretty poor outcomes, really.

The other thing is the word xenophobia itself, because a lot of concern over immigration could be called that even if it's not overtly hateful. If people feel a certain level of discomfort with a large amount of culturally disparate people showing up in their home area within a generation, you could absolutely say that is xenophobic, yet I think that discomfort is also part of the tribal aspect of human nature. These people may feel ashamed of feeling that way but still have those feelings or concerns and not really know where to go with them.

This is a roundabout way of saying that I don't think xenophobe is quite the correct word because it can be thrown at a lot of people from those with some worries, all the way those wrecking busses, and so actually stifle conversation.

Part of having that sensible conversation will be parsing out that former group from genuine far right people who are openly hateful, and really engaging with what they have to say before they run the risk of getting radicalised.