Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PK@rte.ie (again). The All New (Patrick Kielty) Late Late Show Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,580 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It's not just boxing, it's swimming, rugby, athletics, basically any sport, where the trans person in the competition wins at a canter, at the expense of actual women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

I appeciate that. On the one side, you had the fascist, far right extremists. On the other side, you had radical, far left, communist extremists. I dezpair for the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭corkie

A review of the show from the Irish Examiner. Who is now sharing more of their content on Bluesky!

image.png

Source of above: - https://bsky.app/profile/irishexaminer.bsky.social/post/3lbl57fplrz2y ~ Link to article.

The show is already on the RTE Player and found the timestamp on the RTE Player 00:51:00 of Allie Sherlock performance!

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The first minute is full on victim blaming, ye can't be doin' that, lads....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,543 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Usually the books aren’t banned, technically a school library won’t have it or it will no longer be part of a curriculum etc., a student can still get it in Amazon or a public library.
    A lot of books and films aren’t available in every place, it doesn’t mean they are banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,580 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It all comes back to why people are so disagreeing with Piers, and when asked why, just one tiny example, can't come up with one. I just think he tells it like it is, commonsense, praising Trump for the economy in his first 2 year until covid hit, thrashing him for Jan 6th, praising him for his comeback. Championing covid vaccines, while calling out conspiracies surrounding it, calling Hamas attack on Israel terrorism, but also saying the attacks by Israel on the Palestine are also terror. It's never black or white, left or right, he calls out BS where ever it is. Very centralist , while most are one side only, and fight to the death to defend their beliefs.

Fighting Ukraine's side, how we need to never abandon them.

Fighting for LGBT+ rights, while calling out trans men in women sports.

The man is all over the place, with commonsense, which ever side of the political spectrum it falls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,643 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Just to be clear, Piers didn't mention Imane Khelif at all there. Any lumping in of Khelif with transgender issues is not Morgan's doing.

As for Morgan's opinions on trans issues, he made his views clear in the interview, which are that trans men and women should be able to live how they like, but that women's rights need to be respected too.

Is that really what you call obsessive?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭techman1

Kielty seems to be able to get high calibre guests on his show much more than Tubridy could. However he wastes the opportunities with such short interviews, surely he should have had Piers Morgan for twice the length of time of the others, is there some sort of political correctness at work here in case most of the high calibre guests would turn out to be male or something? Also why didn't Kielty explore more the Ukraine war with Piers since he diverges from Trump on this, that would have been a very interesting angle to explore rather than all the "trans" stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭jackboy

Kielty is in RTE mode. Just reads out the questions handed to him and ensures to stamp out any potential interesting conversation that could be controversial. He may be capable of better but is not trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭trashcan

Bullshit he didn’t. Did you see the episode of his show with David Pakman ? It’s clearly who he was talking about. He didn’t know her name but when David Pakman mentioned the name he didn’t correct him and say, no that’s not who I was talking about. I’m not saying that there isn’t a potential issue with trans women in women’s sports, but I think it’s very much a fringe issue. People like Morgan are far more concerned with it than the vast majority of the public. The irony of him accusing Kamala Harris and the Democrats of not shutting up about the trans issue, when it’s him who can’t stop talking about it. So yes, I’d say he is obsessed. Very much so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,643 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I don't who Pakman is so I've no idea what you're talking about. I was talking about this interview, nothing else. Piers Morgan didn't mention Imane Khelif there at all. Anyone reading the thread would have thought he did. That's all.

What he said about transgender sounded pretty reasonable to me. If you think it wasn't, what do you think was wrong with it?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭techman1

Kielty is in RTE mode. Just reads out the questions handed to him and ensures to stamp out any potential interesting conversation that could be controversial. He may be capable of better but is not trying.

THat seems to be it alright, kielty is smart and witty you have to be to be a comedian. Its very disappointing, I also noticed that he didn't do the monologue at the start where he pokes fun at events during the week, have RTE quashed that or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

What was with Kielty's hostility towards Piers ?

He obviously has TDS and cant conceal it like so many presenters these days.

Do your job and keep your personal opinions to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,170 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

IMG_9828.gif IMG_9827.gif

It’s all politics.

Except for Tommy Tiernan, Tommy Bowe, Mary Coughlan and the parents of ‘Toy Show’ star Saoirse Ruane who passed away earlier this year.

Oh, right…

Live at 10pm, just after polling stations close in the 2024 General Election, Patrick will be joined by two of the presenters of the ‘Behind The Ballot’ podcast, Katie Hannon and David McCullagh, and Jennifer Bray, Political Correspondent with The Irish Times, live in studio to deliver and discuss the RTÉ, The Irish Times, TG4, Trinity College Dublin joint exit poll carried out by Ipsos B&A.

IMG_9829.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Missed last week - xmas party

Just voted - for all our moaning , here and in Ireland.

We are very lucky to live in Ireland (yes we have serious issues) - BUT a country not at war - economy doing well - and relatively safe. We have freedom of expression - a way way better media and accountability than is made out. And on top of all that we can get all our whinging out for the week here - on the Late Late thread. Bring back more misery on The Late Late.

It is good for the soul of the nation.

Jaysus - just realised my post was a bit like an Old Ryan Covid monologue

A Christmas party in Ireland?

The good times are back again! 😁

Jaysus - Mary Coughlan - a great character and fun story teller - but as for her music , don't get it.

I know - we had a good 10 years of absolutely miserable end of year bashes - but can see money being spent out there again - it all feels like 2006 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

Tommie a lovely lad . unreal player.

But I never seen him being a TV guy - or a spokesperson type lad. He is a dude who became hyper confident with age. Fair play to him - shows you can grow , change yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Snackbox20

Is she the one with the running joke about hoovering or cleaning too much back in the day?

First time he showed the real extrovert side was post Slam 2009, Black Velvet Band.. 'what about her eyes?!!'.

Will the Tommy Tiernan interview be like his show in reverse and both he and Paddy won't have a lot to talk about?, and then someone from the audience hands Tommy a bottle of Poteen to ignite the conversation? I would love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

If there were more lads that go down the same route Tommy did, as opposed to the stereotypical private school toffs, I might actually respect the sport more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Unsurprisingly bland interview here from a former Rugby Pro.

Has Tommy Bowe just rebadged a hape of bottles of Blue Stratos?

I came across an acquaintance' child called Beau Bowe a few months back 🙈