Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ways of living you never want to go back to

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Wearing masks or have to prove you've been vaccinated.

Being told by government you can't travel 5km from your home

• Registered Users Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Working in an office 5 days per week!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,821 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I can see how Spotify is the best choice for most people. It's just not for me. I am a vinyl addict and can't bring myself to 'lease' music. I want to own it. So I use my phone as a giant Walkman. I get ones that allow micro SD cards and I load it up with MP3s. Preferably 320kbps.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,749 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Flatsharing. It's been a while but still, hated it so much, apart from when I lived with friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Seconded on that one.

My sister moved into a flat share with her two closest friends when at college. I don't know what happened but after 2 years they fell out and as far as I know about 20 years later they still arent speaking.

While I have heard people say they made some of their best friends when flat sharing. I know of more than one set of friends who moved in together and now don't talk or fell out somehow.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I never had a flat earther, but a few people were at a similar level of crazy. And some of them took the phrase "taking liberties" to the extreme.

Staying in a 16 bedroom dorm in a hostel in Australia.

I backpacked around Asia back is 2005. If given half the chance to do the same around South America I'd jump at the chance. Is backpacking around Australia a thing, given the vast emptiness of most of it?

Yes it is, but think it's more like people living in the city's temporarily because it's cheaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Covid and all the restrictions

Both diesel and a manual gearbox.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

please go back to not having one, nobody wants to listen to your music etc, while you pass.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,012 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Being a parent to anyone who's not a teenager.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tork

Not having a mobile phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Sharing the house with a prick who was forever using the kitchen.

Starvin. Just wanted to get a fried egg and disappear to my room, and the cnt would be making all sorts of stews and roasts til all hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Getting public transport.

I'd rather spend twice as long in the comfort of my car.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

I never want to own a car that doesn't have a key fob

as opposed to what exactly? I don't see fobless vehicles dominating the market necessarily...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tork

Travelling to London by ferry and bus. Did it in the 90s before Ryanair's cheap flights became a thing. It was all the good stuff: the choppy 3-hour ferry crossing on a dingy boat surrounded by some interesting characters. The clinking duty-free where you could buy boxes of Major and bottles of booze. On disembarking in the utopia that is Holyhead, the scramble to find the right bus to London. Because most of the drivers had decided to liven things up a bit and not display their destination city on their buses, you'd hone your telepathy skills. And that's before you'd get onto the infernal bus and start the interminable drive south. The highlight was a stop-off at some jaysus service station at ungodly o'clock to visit the jacks and sip on some sort of hot drink that was allegedly coffee. And still, London was hours away.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In France… living next door on one side In apartments to a couple who were either shagging at 280 dB or roaring and calling each other all sorts of expletives at 360 dB and I think it may have got physical once or twice, certainly furniture was kicked or thrown….herself ended up with a shiner once, but you’d see them later the next day, looking in a desperate state but holding hands. I was much younger and didn’t have the nerve to intervene…aside from smacking the wall out of it…to attain quiet and sleep which happened about every 4 or 5 weeks.

the shagging would have been on returning from the pub around 1.30 am… not a pleasant image, rough pair and she looked like Worzel Gummidge in drag… probably a little harsh on Worzel but anyway.

the fights / arguing was always at stupid o’clock in the mornings like 3am or 4am on a Saturday or Sunday morning and drink fuelled.. They were both Irish, Limerick and Kildare people if memory serves me and the arguments never seemed to be about anything aside from who could be more infuriating and insulting about stupid shît….

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

It was Crewe or sometimes Stoke. I miss the bus if I am honest, like it was real travelling. Kings cross on a Tennants hangover at 7.00 am is something I cannot forget. The ferry and Train was more comfy, I used to love singing with other travellers, literally. The plane is not the same.

I remember selling a Playboy mag featuring Erika Eleniak, to a Diamond Geezer type in a bookies on the Edgeware Road. He gave me the price of my ticket over and back for it, I bagged 2 copies in Euston Station that morning, sold out.

Diamond white and Carlsberg export snake bites cost around 89p for 660 ml. 10 fags were about 80 pence, blue Regal or Players. Major were 14 punts for 200 on the ferry, around 18 euro or so. 200 Major costs € 298 now, I am deadly serious, look it up, unless you are flying to Norway, they don't care if you buy cheap fags flying there. It is cheaper to buy fags in Iberia than it is in Duty Free. Snooker players played drunk,even in the Crucible. Jockey Wilson Won a world Darts title drinking Tennants by the Gallon. That is an achievement.

Porno Mags is a proper way to enjoy pornography. You have to endure clandestine scorn when purchasing one, everyone envies someone buying a Porno Mag, they might also consider you a lecherous perverted whanker? Them is the breaks and that cookie crumbles from there in. It is a real thing, not this lap top internet nonsense that is making everyone go dead from the waste down, Mags rock, your mouse is stealing your imagination and not even telling you.

It was a different time, ok?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Renting. Never ever again, especially from an owner occupier because you'll just spend your whole time walking on eggshells around them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Never having to live with your parents again and tell them everywhere you were going, what you were doing and when you'd be home

• Registered Users Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭sniperman

living with an alcoholic partner and daughter

• Registered Users Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Social Media. Never again.

Cui bono?

Eh, no. You missed the bit where I said I'd never go back to not having one. But worry not. I'm act responsibly. I'm not one of the scrotes who walk around town blasting tunes at max volume.

I hang it quite close to my ears and I only turn it up when I'm on busy streets with lots of noisy traffic and very few or no people. If I'm in a park or on a trail I have it on a low volume and you'd have to be practically standing next to me to hear it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

So if I have to be practically standing f next to you to hear it, how well are you hearing it? Very poorly, I’d say. So what is the point?

Cui bono?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭sprucemoose