If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Less resilient youth

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,087 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

You should have heard what Zico had to say about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I don't plan on working forever, I plan to enjoy my later years, I plan to see the world in my later years, I dont live to work, money is not my god. say I have 3 properties that I rent out, would that income not be enough to see me ok in retirement? I know there can be issues with renting property but I will have businesses as well. look if all else fails I will be living in a property mortgage free and have an old age pension, I can let a room or 2 in my 5 bed house to lodgers if I really have to. im not in any way worried about needing a pension, I don't mean to sound arrogant but im just being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭Apiarist

I am in my 40s. I have talked (at work and informally) to people in their 20s and they seem to be less infantile and more responsible than my generation 20 years ago. Definitely young people have a more open mind regarding sexuality, gender diversity and other "woke" issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I think you can make an argument that late teens onwards are less resilient in western society now.

But just look at Ukraine - young lads mostly but also young women, barely past our leaving cert age and bound up in the struggle to defend their state and drive their invading neighbours out. Whether at the frontlines or working behind, all these 'youth' have had to toughen up very very quickly.

Of course, war is terrible and you can say that it's facile to recommend it as solution to societal woes. But that has been a basic fact down through centuries of human existence, terrible and all - it sorts the weeds from the grain.

I dunno. That was only the early 2000s. My peers and I were totally accepting in those regards - the more unconventional the better (a certain level of it being "cool" came into play) Maybe it depended on the social circle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,156 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I don’t think you sound arrogant at all, fair play like that you have a couple of properties and all. In those circumstances you have a couple of long-term investments that means your future is fairly well secured anyway even if the businesses go tits up! 😳

My circles in 2000s were university students, so more liberal and tolerant on average than most in Ireland at that time. And yet, an openly gay student was seen as a novelty, as something remarkable.

Definitely a fair bit of confirmation bias going on there though, that you’d be more inclined to surround yourself with, and be surrounded by, people of a similar mindset to your own. Personally I’d say it’s much of a muchness - young people are no more open-minded, mature or responsible than they were 20 years ago.

That’s why I said earlier in the thread that it’s not a great means to measure resilience among generations by comparing and contrasting extreme examples, ignoring the vast majority of any given generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Your last para is shocking and callous. This is about human lives and deaths.

Definitely. I can only offer my opinion which is by definition biased and changes with time. If we try to achieve objective answer, we could try statistics, but even then we need to define what statistical properties define the resilience and that would be unlikely to be straightforward.

Sorry Graces.. but it's always been a facet of human existence. I'm far from the only one to have observed that many of the ills and scourges that afflict modern lives in western society have been addressed in the past by war. Even look at the current situation from the Russian aggressor - they are emptying their prisons of people causing societal problems and disposing of them on the battlefield. Callous, shocking - that's how it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Post edited by andekwarhola on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,310 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The problem now is… little Oisin, first car, driving to wherever, gets a puncture..

gets out, sees he has a puncture, gets phone, takes photos, uploads it… Facebook, Twitter, tiktok, some ‘witty’ locutions to accompany…. The issue of a fûcked tyre becoming secondary..because…. Here come the likes and attention.. 🤪

why isn’t bad, inconvenient shît dealt with privately, so much more appropriate, responsible and less boring for everyone.

’sharing’ is how it’s branded but, I’ll share a bag of Minstrals, sharing is dividing something and giving some to others….posting something to encourage, seek or enable mass appreciation, hmmmm sharing ?

they can’t seem to exist without involving everyone in everything… drama, success, bad luck, good fortune… it’s weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

You are not at all sorry! What a bad start to a post!

And the way you simply accept and approve war is appalling when we all need to make it clear that was is wrong, Violence of any kind never solved anything. And causes suffering. But then you live and have lived at peace so you cannot imagine living otherwise, and this you have grown complacent with the NIMBY attitude..

Shrugging your shoulders! REALLY! That is why and how war is approved ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Karl Marx was right though - Socrates was offside.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Every geneation thinks the following generation is soft. Nothing new - ask your parents!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

You're being somewhat judgemental there. I would be anti war in principle and in practice as far as I can. But I have to acknowledge that both my father and grandfathers would have felt likewise and yet got sucked up into the great conflicts of WW2 & WW1 respectively. Not because they wanted to but that it was the right thing to do at the time. I regard my generation as lucky as we have been spared a great European conflict. There comes a time when war is inevitable for survival and people are obliged to put their best foot forward and do what needs to be done. It's easy for you living in a remote part of the west of Europe but if a rampaging army was heading your way, you'd be bloody glad of anyone at all prepared to stand up to them. You wouldn't care of the cost. War changes things, it reforges society, it toughens people and the youth in particular - even at great cost. So enough of the hypocrisy.

Ahh here, the thread is about less resilient youth. There’s not a lot more resilient than having just been in an accident and rather than freaking out about it or getting upset, they make a video entertaining themselves and share it on social media with their friends. It gets picked up by people who are far less resilient looking to criticise and humiliate them for their actions, because their actions aren’t what those people expect is appropriate in that situation.

Who’s actually less resilient there? The teenagers who can make a joke about finding themselves in a bad situation, or the people who are offended because teenagers aren’t behaving as they’re supposed to? 🤔

I suppose its just the narcissism that is nauseating about them airheads in that crash.

if I had to guess, they didn't use their own money to buy that car, their parents did, and that video shows you the respect they have for money, zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,310 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Idiots… it’s completely narcissistic, nothing about ‘taking minds off it’… it would have been seen as an opportunity…. For attention, likes and followers. Life’s currency to these dîcks.

Interesting… “they are high school cheerleaders” instead of .. “ they are students “

any individual with half a brain would probably know that after being in a car crash, the healthiest thing to do is either if possible escape if danger is imminent, or if trapped stay put for help, gyrating and jiggling is going to exacerbate any injuries, which others have to deal with..not the brightest.

just sit, wait…the fact that they couldn’t and in addition had to reach for social media, contact, attention, dancing and likes, demonstrates a severe lack of resilience…. A coping strategy of idiotic proportions…. 🤪

I was ‘bout to say you were overthinking it, but @Strumms is taking it to a whole different level altogether 😁

They’re teenagers, narcissism is their default setting 😂

But it’s the adults reactions to their behaviour that I mean. Like in terms of resilience, which is one’s ability to cope, the adults don’t appear to be able to cope at all with teenagers behaving like… well, teenagers!

My point is that resilience isn’t age related, it’s experience related. One’s ability to cope with circumstances outside their control is how resilience is tested, and how resilient a person becomes is determined by their ability to cope in situations where they have no control over the outcome.

Plenty of adults have never developed any resilience because they’ve never encountered situations where circumstances were outside their control, and they aren’t able to cope when it does happen. There’s still the potential for them to develop resilience with appropriate support to give them a bit of a break and cut them some slack. Just like we do with teenagers, because they’re teenagers and haven’t yet developed the same coping mechanisms and social skills of most adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

No, no, no! How dare you make me agree with you!

I'm by no means perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but adversity is good. You can't always live a happy life.

The usual stuff of blaming the parents and sometimes I include myself. I can be a bit of a mammy.

But in saying that, I will let them take a fall. Of course be there to support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,249 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

We already have been invaded, by social media and all the shite that goes with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,203 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I don't think that this is true.

As others have said, most of us over 20 years of age cringe at the thought of what it would have been like to grow up in the world of social media. I think it is likely an incredibly fraught and tense environment for teens in particular who are exposed to it without appropriate parental guidance and appropriately diminishing levels of supervision.

Broadly speaking, with respect to the western societies in which most of us live, I think children today have to be at least as resilient as previous generations in many ways. We've already crossed the threshold of subsequent generations reasonably being able to expect that their income and general quality of life would surpass that of their parents and many of the youth of today have to consider the probability of increased education costs, more expensive and difficult access to healthcare, less attainable home ownership and the very real reality increasing levels of events and their impact related to the environment. This alone I feel would be very daunting for a 15 or 16 year old looking at how their life is likely going to go.

And when you throw the environment that is social media in to it and the inability to escape it or shield yourself from it without negatively impacting yourself in other ways, I imagine it is incredibly daunting for virtually everyone involved at one time or another, and at most times for some unfortunate people.

Take Tik Tok for example and the desire to go viral or even if someone doesn't want that but wants to exist on it at their own level, the ability to do that can be taken out of their control because of the environment being as it is. I've watched it and you could see a video with hundreds of thousands of likes, and another video, being on the exact same popular trending topic and it might have 23 views or something. I thing of the poster of such videos, particularly if it is likely they did it to be part of the trend and how watching their views and likes compared to others and how pressure inducing that 'could be'. In the past, we lived mostly within a neighborhood of several hundred people who could impact or form at any given time, that number has increased massively with social media and I worry for those whose experience of it is negative.

There’s an irony to gender reveal parties, in that the era of their instigation is also the one where said offspring are more likely to be affronted at being assigned a certain gender at birth, never mind way before birth 😂