Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 8,591 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

The Tories sold Brexit to the UK public by promising to tackle the Boats.. now they can say that Brexit is delivering, and that will sell well with a lot of the UK public, as opposed to the EU's policy of Open Borders.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

If only for the NGOs... the leftists... the EU... the government... the airlines… the gardai... the Tories... the MSM... the hotel owners... the ferry operators... and so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,138 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

You left out the judiciary and the Dáil! Traitors one and all 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Have to tip my hat to Sunak if this was im his planning all along. Being ridiculed that Rwanda will cost this and that trying to embarrass them or make it all seem like more UK money going after bad. But in fact this might cost them feck all really as the threat of Rwanda will stop more coming and also drive those there illegally on to Ireland since we're not organized and in fairness we're wide open.

I have to say well played from them if they kept this under wraps until now.

It also raises the image of Sunak smiling to himself that his plan is coming to fruition.

Unfortunately for us though things are about to get very messy since we haven't s plan or a politician that will tackle it. The media will hammer them if they try anything like the Rwanda plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,138 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's debatable whether this will actually work for Sunak though. Literally the only thing he has in his pocket is the Rwanda plan…..everything else is a disaster for the Tories. Voters might well overlook the issue in the elections and they could slump to terrible results anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭aidanodr

Interesting this ..

NEW: The Home Office can only locate 38 per cent of the migrants it intends to deport to Rwanda.

Only 2,143 of the 5,700 of the migrants Rwanda has agreed to accept "continue to report to the Home Office and can be located for detention".

Info slipped out by
    @ukhomeoffice in a document today

The document also reveals concerns that MPs could succeed in delaying or cancelling the deportation of migrants by submitting last-minute representations.

Home Office admits that it can expect “significant attention” from MPs, adding: “Responders may be overwhelmed by cases, causing a delay or removal to be cancelled pending a response”.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,932 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Probably off to Ireland for a lovely holiday for themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭highpitcheric

Brexit was 2016. The boats havent stopped since.

I recall the same whooping and screeching as we see from unionists today, a few years back, when Bojo equally had the EU cornered on the border issue.

Ireland was going to build a border, 100%. Master-stroke of tory cunning.

Bojo ziplined over, met with our drum loving pals up north, gave his assurances.

But some years later, red and green lane for NI shipping.

Expect the same pattern again.

I have to admit its frustrating in the meantime, watching Mogg and unionists relishing this ""win"", but Ill just have to wait.

EU will squeeze UK again and the unionists will be back home under their bus again.

(a side benefit of all this is that we get to confirm the underlying intentions and inclinations of certain characters, govts, communities. as we can see uk will sht on us, with glee, given the chance).

Also interesting note .. mentioned on upfront Katie Hannon also:

A spokesperson for the Department of Justice have said that to date in 2024 there have been 6,739 applications for international protection.

Of these 6,136 were made at the IPO and not at an airport or port.

The Departments assessment, based on the experience of staff and based on the material gathered at interviews is that in most cases those applying for the first time at the IPO have entered via the land border with Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

There's Bernie of X fame on RTE now…bbc lover

• Registered Users Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭emo72

She was getting some quare stares off the redhead girl. Bernie was RTEs lefty plant

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

What happens if they're denied entry while I. Albania or Rwanda? Do those countries then deport them?

The MOGSTER speaks re Ireland as an alt free Rwanda ( video of him saying all this in the reply tweet by same author )

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭highpitcheric

https://arethebritsatitagain.org/

Are the Brits at it again? Click to find out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

MINISTER FOR JUSTICE Helen McEntee will today seek Cabinet approval to “rapidly” draft legislation to designate the UK as a safe country again in order to return asylum seekers who have crossed the border into the Republic from Northern Ireland. 

https://www.thejournal.ie/mcentee-cabinet-approval-uk-safe-return-asylum-seekers-6367678-Apr2024/

UK about to become a safe country 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

There’s been a lot of clusterfcks but this must be the biggest one to date.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

One of the reasons why they left the EU to end freedom of movement. When Britain was an EU member, they could intercept and return the boats to France, but they lost this privilege after Brexit. Before Brexit, the migrants would stowaway in the back of lorries. The boats came after Brexit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Legislation to make it illegal to pitch or live in a tent on a public street might be an idea.

Why can't all AS be required to stay at certain designated places with adequate sanitary and catering facilities until an application has been processed and a decision made? The situation at Mount Street must be a health and safety hazard now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭riddles

Amazing turn of events on this thread that people who were pilloried and warned for consistently highlighting how this international protection game is just an umbrella for traffickers to ship economic migrants around. Now even the people living in the aptly named “cuckoo land” are starting to wake up.

It was also stated that we are just at the start of a rather long challenge with economic and climate based people movements.

The UK are simply creating the environment for the people who entered illegally from the EU to return to the EU unfortunately that happens to be here. Sunak is trying to save his skin re: local elections and possible bad results Friday. All we needed from McEntee and Martin was a few days silence not much to ask considering they have been silent on this acknowledgement of our migration crisis for some years now. But no as always if a misstep was possible yep they made it.

We need to create the environment for people who entered the EU illegally to be returned and not leaving Greece and Italy to absorb it or us in this case.

Any entry to the EU outside of designated at source official asylum processes should exclude people from officially requesting asylum or any future route to citizenship. That’s something the EU should immediately do at least it prevents the access to the existing facilities designed for genuine cases and eliminates this wasteful spending on hotels via the family and friends of FFFG.

Ireland should declare our inability to meet these “fictional” international obligations talked about by Harris McEntee and Leo and so on. Shut down the money printing happening for FFFG cronies housing migrants.

Engaging in criminality should ensure citizenship is revoked for all those given it like confetti in the previous years of insanity.

A complete root and branch reform of how welfare is distributed and the criteria for accessing it and again with special focus on the cohort on welfare coming through the EU free movement of people. We also need to align all existing Ukrainian inflated benefits to what the rest of the EU is giving - as an outcome of the current turn of events.

This has been a telegraphed crisis years in the making which the incompetent politicians “we want to be best in class EU champions!” Have sold us down the river.

We need proper crisis management in this situation. i think we need a general election as soon as possible. Also if you are unhappy with the government handling of this situation please reflect this in the voting for the local and EU elections and yes please vote. Let the FFFG Green candidates get a response for their years of contempt for Irish citizens.

The count down on our tax payer ratio shifting from 5-1 to 2-1 is on and less than 20 years and us as citizens passively letting Leo and M Martin sleep walk us to financial ruin by pumping billions down the toilet and forward planning housing and service commitments against an almost unknown demand and unsustainable, unfunded model simply has to stop.

Post edited by riddles on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I don't think so — all policy and all principles must have boundaries. If there is hypocrisy to it, it's only because of the inevitable and unavoidable interaction of principle with policy — morals and practicalities. A person who is deeply passionate about tackling homelessness might have the kindness and patience to take a homeless person into their home, but they won't take 20. I doubt many would call this hypocrisy.

So the same principle applies, kindness or ethics can have limits — and in this case I see no reason why Ireland should baccept being a diversion path to account for the failings of Tory policies that promised people that leaving the EU would "take back control" of their borders.

But I come back to the point again that this is why a unified European approach is needed to both stem illegal migration into the European Union in the first place and have a functioning harmonised system for sharing any of the burden that can't be avoided. The current style of doing whatever it takes to win a few domestic votes even if it f**ks over your neighbours might disguise itself as common sense no-nonsense border control — but it's actually counterintuitive to that in the long run.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,868 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭TokTik

Have they checked behind the sofa?? Oh yeah, and Dublin??

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Two squad cars looking into tents outside the offices of the Irish Times… surely after the immigration cheerleading of the occupants nobody there complained? Hmmm.

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭dmakc

Interesting comments on Virgin last night saying one minister's view is at least something is being done now, stating Leo's view was more the merrier and wanted to house them all.

• Registered Users Posts: 877 ✭✭✭boetstark

Great post , but unfortunately nothing will change.

I honestly dont mean this as an insult or trolling but currently ireland governed by politicians that would be out of their depth running a hen house. And voters of which sizeable numbers dont deserve a vote.

We were speaking with neighbours recently about upcoming local elections and the need to give this current regime a solid kick in the nads. Here in limerick the absolute scandalous wasting of public funds. But no , out of 9 neighbours 8 were voting for a candidate who lives locally. This man the biggest cheerleader for unfettered immigration a our doors are open , we are so rich etc.

He is getting votes purely because , sure he only lives around the corner.

Ireland isnt a place i can see myself living in beyond next 5 years.

You get the government you deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭hamburgham

That would be so funny, if they camped outside the Irish Times and the various NGOs who support this.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

So since 2020 how many AS have we sent back to the UK that came via NI? Before Rwanda was in the pipeline?

Anyone? I'd wager a big fat fcuking zero.

Fools lapping this charade up. Rwanda/UK/Brexit are not to blame for this $hitshow.

Successive Irish governments are. The people we all vote for are. Not the EU or the UK. Irish politicians are to blame.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Lots of reasoned points, but when you say vote against FFG, which party do you suggest people vote for, if they are looking for a different approach to asylum immigration?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭twinytwo

MM was never ever ever ever going to go against Brussels - god forbid he wasn't the best boy in the class.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭twinytwo

It makes you wonder though - what is it going to take for HM to be removed? She is clearly too stupid to resign on her own.