Hub Controller options

15678911»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 scsei

Just a quick one on the Tado. Has anyone had issues with the boiler continuing to burn even though both the app and wall thermostat say the system is off? Having this problem tonight at 2am of all hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭deezell

It could be frost protection on your system, possibly Tado initiated if the stat temperature is set to off, and air temperature drops to 5°. It could be in the boiler itself if it's in an outdoor cabinet or room. It may be a another old stat that's still in circuit, in parallel, if it wasn't removed during the Tado installation, check the Tado history graph to see was it giving the boiler small one or two 'flame' pulses at those am times. Do you have Tado timing for HW?

When it occurs again, and you're awake enough, if your Tado stat is wired, just pop it off the baseplate to break a possible SL connection and see if the boiler halts, which can take a few seconds in some models. If your Tado stat is wireless, see what indicators are lit on the extension kit receiver box during these ghost firings. 👻🔥 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Banjo Carney

Last winter I was away during the week and the family at home were using the wireless stat if they needed to boost the heat and I was having the problem you describe regularly. Sometimes the only way I could get it behave normally again was to turn everything off at the trip switch. I even changed the tado under warranty but it continued to happen.

This winter however I'm home during the week so any adjustments are made using the app on the phone and I've had no problems. In fact it happened just once this winter and the stat was used on that occasion.

Now I have absolutely no explanation as to why this is the case but that was my experience.

@deezell is the man to talk to he's very generous with his time and knowledge and has helped me in the past.

If you're using away mode on the app, and others with app access aren't (web version doesn't count), then the schedule will go into away mode when you're not there, which can turn on the heating according to the away algorithm and settings. This will also happen if you turn off your phone at night, even when at home, and also if your location services are turned off, or the sat signal is briefly incorrect. Herself doesn't trust location on the phone, so it's only an issue fir me if I'm out and she's in, then she just hits the boost. I've had some recurring issues with Google location, which on several days running eaely in the morning has switched my location to somewhere in Russia, and can take a good few presses of Google Maps set location button to read and compute the correct location. I blame Putin, it's be established that he has ships in the north sea pumping up Sat Nav interference to the satellites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Banjo Carney

Fecking Putin 😂 I actually gave up trying to figure it out. So long as the app alone is used for any boosts etc all is good, but it the wireless stat is used it goes haywire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭fitzparker

Hub controller has packed it in and looking for a recommendation @deezell could you help advise? Im not sure what zone i have or type, but basically.

House is oil, with boiler outside and hot water boiler in the hot press

The controller located in the kitchen (same place as previous one)currently when turned on also turns CH and HW on simultaneously, we dont need HW as we use electric shower and kettle for the sink. (Previous one had 2 buttons one for CH and one for HW

There is a thermostat in the hall.

Can You recommend a straight swap.. all I want is something that separately turns on CH and HW and one I can do from the phone.

If its any use.. pictures are below (main switch off as im waiting for hub to go dead, so hopefully it resets back up to work again)

1000058367.jpg 1000058368.jpg

Sounds like a classic hub controller mis-installation case, where a working two zoned (CH and HW) timed system with a wall thermostat on the CH zone was downgraded to a single zone, HW and CH now combined in a single zone, and the most important part, the CH thermostat of the Hub, now located where it can't even measure the room temperature. All you ended up with was an Internet accessible switch, with your original thermostat still probably managing the temperature control of the area where its located. I've only seen one worse than this posted, where the controller was flung inside the inner cabinet of the boiler itself, so it always thought the house was warm. Yee haa! cowboy time.

I'd fully expect that your two zone working is still intact, and that the two wires for the independent zones were joined together at the single Hub controller zone output, marked V1. Of course, the installers should have left your old timer in situ to control HW, and located the hub to the location of the old mechanical stat, but that little bit of knowledge would have eluded them. I believe some of these guys had a single day's electrical training.

I'd recommend you grab one of these bang up to the minute Tado X Wireless CH/HW kits. A bargain at the moment, €139.95 https://www.screwfix.ie/p/tado-x-wireless-heating-hot-water-boiler-programmer-smart-thermostat-starter-kit-white/308yr

The Tado receiver will replace the Hub, and you should be able to identify the seperate HW wire of your previous two zone timer controller, which the hub cowboys just lammed on to the Hub single output.

The Tado wall thermostat is wireless, fit it where it will give the best general measure and control of CH temperature for the house, usually on an internal wall in the living room or hall. The old stat, either turn up full, or remove and joint it's two wires together. Tado will take care of temperature and timing.

Fwiw, this was how your Hub should have been installed, The dotted blue line indicates it was meant to replace the old wall stat, and operate without a neutral wire in battery mode, with the old

Screenshot_20251118_073300_Chrome.jpg

timer left in charge of HW, as the Hub Controller didn't 'do' HW, but they conveniently forgot that on install. Was this a 'free' install that went with a change of electricity provider? They soaked millions of grant money for this, and dismantled who knows how many efficient two zone systems back to one. Absolute 🤠🤠.

If you're not up to this as a DIY job, get a sparks who knows his way around two zone heating.

NOTE: If your original two zone system didn't use two zone valves, but operated as a 'gravity' system where HW always heats when the boiler fires, but CH only heats when either the circulation pump is powered, or a single CH zone valve opens, then you have a 'gravity' controlled heating system. This is common, and allows HW only heating, as well as HW + CH together. The Tado controller can be configures for gravity relay operating, where the HW relay is wired to fire the boiler for both HW and CH timed events, while the CH relay either turns on the circulation pump or opens the single CH zone valve. I add this note as from your image I think your Hub is right beside what looks like the boiler.

Post edited by deezell on

Thanks for getting back, my friend (a Sparks) is coming over later, im away from tomorrow and don't want the house without heating with the family still in it, is there a manual way to switch the heating on/off behind the controller?

All above is correct, we had 2 buttons previous for CH and HW (HW we never used) now its the same one button.

Regards that device being wireless, when the Hub is removed there is just a hole then, does the white box for the tado go there, then the wireless device go elsewhere? im not too worried about the wireless device if its just to engage room temp, (im not being rude) It doesnt matter what temp it is… if the wife is cold, she turns it on for an hour 🤣 I presume there is some sort of cheaper "Wired" option? we dont need anything special, just something that works and she can turn on when coming home in the car… if you could recommend?

Regards your last piece, im not sure its a "gravity" as HW only worked when the single button (in the old system) was flicked.

The hub isnt beside the boiler, its under a press in the corner of the kitchen, our boiler is Oil CH, so it is outside, our hot press is upstairs

hope this helps, thanks for the reply!!

If you take the Hub off, and cross the wires from L (live) to V (zone wire(s) this will allow you to operate the boiler using the main switch beside the hub. Ask the electrician to check if there are two wires from the V terminal. One will be CH, the other HW. In your previous setup, with two timers, dud the CH button only turn on CH but not HW. On that case you'd have independent CH and HW. I find it odd you only want CH, you're saying you don't wanr HW from the taps? Except when currently CH and HW are operaas one. Ask the electrician to see if your system has two zone valves with separation of the two zones.

A cheaper wired Internet option would be a basic WiFi mains switch, such as Sonoff. This can be turned on and off using a free app remotely. It will do just that, turn on CH and turn on HW. A dual version will allow either. The app can be set up to do timing. The existing wall stat should still function to cut the CH when its temperature setting is reached. About €18, + delivery

https://amzn.eu/d/62bzOo2

Thanks Deezell, its not that I dont want HW, but its not a major necessity, we have electric shower and kettle for HW. but in the interest of CH, If this can be set up for the time being until I get back that will do (I will then purchase an upgrade)

When I purchase the upgrade, yes I will be going for one that does CH and HW

Thanks for the alternative, is there one in a Tado or Hive? if not, ill purchase the first one you mentioned (Tado)

The Sonoff is just a cheap Internet switch which connects to WIFI, and can be operated remotely by an app to turn on lights, open an electric gate, switch on a boiler etc. That one I linked has two switches or relays, so could switch on two devices, such as the CH zone and the HW zone.

The smart thermostat kits are much more than this, with specialised apps to create schedules to turn HW or CH on ir off, with variable CH temperature, and a wireless thermostat controller fixed to the wall, or on a stand. The hive version of this is this one:

https://www.screwfix.ie/p/hive-v4-wireless-heating-hot-water-smart-thermostat-white/275yu

It's €175, the mini Hive version is €143

https://www.screwfix.ie/p/hive-mini-v4-wireless-heating-hot-water-smart-thermostat-white/815yu

Tado X definitely best value at the moment.

Perfect.

I'll grab the Tado X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,938 ✭✭✭LEIN

That's the one. A few € less than screwfix, good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Couple of quick questions please for which help would be very much appreciated.

Firstly, I’m going to buy a Hive. Currently have a Grant oil boiler controlled by a Flash 31031. There is no thermostat. When the boiler is on it heats the radiators and the hot water tank in the hot press. All pretty simple hopefully.

Which Hive is the correct one for my situation? I see two V4 options; “heating and hot water” and “heating opentherm”.

Secondly, I opened up the flash controller and am slightly confused by the wiring.

Port 1 has one brown live wire going in

Port 2 has a blue wire connected to port L

Port N has two blue neutral wires going in

Port L has one brown live wire going in and the blue wire connected to Port 2

The short bit of blue wire connecting 2 and L is confusing me. Any ideas?

IMG_6181.jpeg IMG_6183.jpeg

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Is there not a wiring diagram on the inside of the cover.

It's likely that L to 2 is a link from the supply to the input side of the control switch and one the switched output to boiler. Of course you'd need to confirm that that is how it is.

Diagram to the left off camera. Here's a similar one.

1000019043.jpg

As @Wearb says, 2 is linked to L, Live in, this goes to the switch for ON/Timer/OFF, and live goes out to the boiler from terminal 1. On your Flash, There's two extra wires tapping the Live and Neutral to bring power elsewhere, probably permanent live to the boiler. These connections can be replicated in the hive receiver baseplate, N, L, link from L to 1, and boiler out switched live from 3. Here's a diagram with black cable for Neutral.

1000019044.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Thanks @Wearb and @deezell.

Any direction as to which version I should buy?

Heating only, but if theres a possibility you might upgrade your Heating to allow 2 zone, with HW only heating, you could buy the heating plus HW model, theres an extra relay in the receiver and a minor wiring change in that the L link to 1 is not needed, its made internally. I think theres only a few € in the price difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,938 ✭✭✭LEIN

Installed this morning. Was very easy to install and set up. I'm delighted with it so far.

Anyone want a hub controller 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 t1Ringo

I have also been following the thread for years and taking the plunge to upgrade. I'm upgrading my apartment, there is a hub controller on the outside of my boiler cabinet and a wire goes directly into it. There is a 20 year old thermostat in the kitchen/sitting room and I have no idea if it works. Is the tada the best thing to get? I use the boiler for hot water and central heating and I usually leave it on 24/7 at a very low heat. Any advice would be great thanks.