If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Warning in Post #8023**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭daithi7

They all represented Ireland on the world stage & at home very, very well.

I'm not convinced any of the existing 3 candidates will do even nearly as well, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,074 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Michael D is a bloody tankie.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Not really a controversial opinion but on the Presidency. I can't remember much of Paddy Hillery. I was 14 when he retired. My childhood memories are of a safe pair of hands who didn't say a whole lot. I vaguely remember 1982 and the whole phoning him to dissolve the Dáil.

Maybe it's Reeling in the Years but his FF 1971 Ard Fheis contribution stands out. 'Ye can have Boland, but ye can't have Fianna Fáil!'.

:) whatever a tankie is!?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Lankum aren't really that good and yer man Flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,380 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Never heard it before either. Google says : Tankie is a pejorative label generally applied to authoritarian communists, especially those who support or defend acts of repression by such regimes, their allies, or deny the occurrence of the events thereof. More specifically, the term has been applied to those who express support for one-party Marxist–Leninist socialist republics, whether contemporary or historical.

Doesn't really apply to Michael D. I presume the poster just heard it and repeated it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,074 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

If memory serves me correct he gave a brain dead statement after the death of Castro and wrote a ridiculous letter of congratulations to one of the Iranian presidents, might be a bit off the definition but he seems to have a thing for crap regimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

Pensioners get far too many benefits compared to working families; medical cards, free transport etc which have not been paid for already with their taxes. These benefits should be means tested including assets and not just income and age based.

They also should be “encouraged” to do their shopping in the mornings during the week so that they aren’t clogging up parking lots and queues in the afternoons and evenings while people working with families are trying to do their shops; old people are slower when shopping and often take relatively longer to get their cash out to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I don’t think I’ve ever met someone that “Did/does drugs” that wasn’t a total bellend,

Completely agree state benefits should be means tested for pensioners and everyone else. Assets being included is a great idea. Sitting alone in a 4 bed house worth 600k and claiming poverty shouldn't wash. They should sell their assets and downsize if they need money.

But then your run into the secondary problem which is their children are looking forward inheritance. So they would prefer the state pays to keep their parent in the big house on their own so they get to sell it and split the money.

So we all get to pay for state pensioners who don't need it, so they can keep their assets together to pass to their children.

On the second point about supermarkets: old people tend to be terrible drivers and have a shocking lack of self awareness. But I'm not going to tell them when they can shop.

I presume things like a lack of self awareness in public are signs that their brains are slowing down and they're not firing on all cylinders anymore. It's probably good for them to get out. I tend to give them more time. It's not their fault they're slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭TimeUp

I think the mainstream discourse about abortion is too encouraging and that are far better solutions to the problems that abortion tries to tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭TimeUp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Hoop66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 randomcorkman

There are better solutions for a woman who doesn't want to continue a pregnancy? Such as?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    SPOIL YOUR VOTE

Somewhere in ireland Somebody posts a PRINTED poster :

SPOIL YOUR VOTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

I value my vote too much. If I don’t like the candidates then I’ll vote for the one I dislike the least.

Vote Connolly No. 3

An annoying, ignorant, sad, idiotic person. It’s a pretty commonly used phase.

Don’t want to see any serious harm to them and would support the flotilla but I’ll probably die laughing if we get footage of that smug twat from Cork receiving a few digs upon arrival to Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 midlander12

The funniest thing was Senator Chris Andrews of SF calling for the Irish navy to intervene apparently unaware of (a) the navy doesn't really have a ship to send, (b) our 'cherished neutrality' that his party are so devoted to and © the triple lock that they're adamantly opposed to removing, unless he thinks it should have a crew of less than 12.

Seriously, though, the BBC is reporting tonight that the Israeli navy is planning to sink the flotilla. I doubt they will care about the international reaction at this stage and they know Trump will cheer them on.

Depend. Are Paweł or Svetlana good officers?because if they're not good officers, I agree, they shouldn't be in command.

You made them up so only you know if they're good at the job or not.

So it doesn't matter how good the officers are, they shouldn't be promoted even if they're the best person for the job?

Would you say you take the armed forced or Gardaí seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

I wouldn't bother you're arguing with a re-reg troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭Cordell

Paweł or Svetlana or Eoin or Siobhan should not be allowed to hold any other citizenship than Irish one if they want to serve Ireland as Army or Garda officers. Also uniform is uniform for a multitude of reasons, so things like religious garments should not be allowed, and so are things like facial hair and visible tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

My MCO:
    Shocking that the whole news media are up in arms that 2 people were killed yesterday in Manchester, yet circa 100 people per day are being killed in Gaza, similar in Ukraine and we are all looking the other way…

Is it because this happened close to us so it is more relatable ?

In the words of Depeche Mode, "People are People"

I wonder is the reason that Sinn Fein didn't put forward a candidate in this presidential election, because any of their candidates would have come under the huge scrutiny that all presidential candidates have to endure. This would inevitably have lead to links to paramilitarism, terrorism, or other nefarious activities, and hence HQ decided not to risk the political capital involved in trying to get a SF president elected...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,616 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The Irish presidency is a 7 year junket and getting paid to live in a giant gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭purifol0

Just watched One Battle After Another,

There's going to be an awful lot of discussion about the film's politics yet the real controversy it contains will never be uttered by left or right wingers.

Paternity testing should be mandatory at birth (or earlier where possible)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,505 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx