Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

do away with all NGOs what are shilling for 'aid' in African Countries; it's patently racist, as it assumes the black man/woman aint able to conduct their own affairs - vis a vis facing up to whatever the realities of the countries in that continent, are, eg having too many kids & not enough snap ect to feed everyone

as well as that, there's zero sense to it, seeing as there's supposed to be too many folk on t'planet already!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Hooked

You should need to be of a certain intelligence, with a partner and a feckin JOB to have kids!!!!

The amount of stupid, single, jobless scrotes raising more stupid, single, jobless scrotes is OUT OF CONTROL!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,029 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Recently? Just a little thing. See Jordan Peterson thread in our Philosophy forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭mumo3

Cyclist/ E-scooter's should have to wear helmets, hold insurance and they should be fined for breaking traffic lights like car drivers.

I don't think its that controversial, but it will get people who cycle bikes backs up.... but I don't give a fcuk.

I was driving only yesterday, when an e-scooter broke the lights right in front of a garda car and nearly took the side of my car, and the guards didn't even bad an eyelid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

My controversial opinion is that farmers are the most important people on the planet

The only thing that can save the environment and civilisation as we no it is properly managed livestock.

And millions upon millions more of them.

welcome to debate this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭mumo3

who will also go on to remain and raise the above..... generational jobseekers!!

I'm also a believer in, if you are of the generational jobseekers and require the state to house you, you should not be housed in a city!! you will never work and only need access to a post office, so down to some little village that needs populating with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,068 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

I couldn’t care less whether Northern and Southern Ireland are eventually unified. The people up there deserve each other, and I have no intention of paying a unification tax like they did in Germany for 30 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Britain should unapologetically show preferential treatment towards Europeans in trade and immigration.

Europe offers a mutual exchange in matters of immigration.

S.E Asia offers little in that regard. Nobodys moving to Pakistan. Few if any to India. Yet Pakistanis and Indians are flooding into UK.

(Meanwhile, European immigration was apparently the big issue. Worlds largest Pakistani diaspora, which they get sweet nothing back for ... yet direct neighbors, and their biggest trading partners are the supposedly fking problem ... insane)

Also European trade absolutely dwarfs non-European trade.

Dont know why Britain still has a hard on for these ex empire places. They should get over the past and think about whats best for themselves now.

Post edited by 20Wheel on

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

What we get back from the state (pension, housing etc) should be in some way related to what we have contributed. Not the current inverse relationship where those who contribute the least get the most.

Also, it is terrifying to think of Nigeria's population reaching 800m by 2100, just think of the amount of love scams.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Professional sports players and teams like footballers, NFL stars, rugby etc should have to honour there contracts and transfers should be banned or limited to 1 or 2 players a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭teediddlyeye

I'd like to add a third option for old people.

"I never thought I was normal, never tried to be normal."- Charlie Manson

98% of Device / Gadget / Food & Drinks "Shows" held in Ireland are aimed at visitors on the basis of giving the visitor an entertaining experience and to say to friends and family they were at the Show.

Far less to have the visitor learn about some device or process.

This is readily apparent post pandemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Yeah that happens a lot in Ireland.

'I was at the thing ... were you at the thing ... all the cool people were at the thing'.

Oh really? And how was it.

- oh absolutely super epicly amazing.

Meanwhile you know it was probably somewhere between sht and ok.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Enough food for 6 months and a test every 2 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Ninap

Most 'controversial' opinions posted here are just ill-thought out right wing bloviations

• Registered Users Posts: 11,054 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

We have become TOO accepting in society. Instead of teaching our students about gender (which there are two) and pronouns, they should be thought actual essentials like how to cook properly, money management and how to compose and write emails in a professional manner (standard of grammar is shocking from experience). Teenagers these days just seem dumber. Sometimes, a mopey teen needs a reality check of a kick up the arse. We'll have more video game designers, dog groomers and social media influencers in a decade's time than actual, important, professional careers.

As well as a maximum speed limit, there should be a minimum threshold too on every national road. There is no way an ould one should be causing a backlog of traffic because she is pottering about below 40KM. By the same token, a 30+ year old micra and such shouldn't be sharing roads with modern vehicles- there should be some sort of government redress scheme to upgrade to more road-worthy cars after a certain time-frame.

We have to introduce some sort of ESTA-like visa system for all these immigrants arriving. If they don't have proof of an address they are staying in, they can't be taking up emergency accommodation for our citizens. You wouldn't be allowed into a concert or sporting event without a ticket, or into a late bar if it was too full- same logic should apply to entering this country.

People purchasing and adopting dogs should be properly garda-vetted. As for social welfare, a fella genuinely looking for work or in-between jobs shouldn't be treated to the same rules and disdain as fat slobs, generational wasters or baby-pushers who have no intention whatsoever of changing their lifestyle.

Any young offender should have to do a week of Ultimate Hell week after their fifth offence. Increased every time they act the bollix again.

For all the talk about the abuse of referees in GAA and soccer, I'd take that as the one down-side of my future children playing those sports compared to the potential of suffering traumatic brain injuries down the line playing rugby. Not too much scandal over the recent findings in that, I wonder why?

Post edited by castletownman on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

1. Education system should be completely torn up, its an outdated system. We should focus on the strengths of children not forcing them to learn something with no benefit to them.(Outside of Reading, Writing and Basic Maths)
    2. All serious career criminals should be outsourced to some far away place to save on the state costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,838 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Ah, thats called eugenics. A little Austrian man with a tache used to espouse that view as well, although he dressed it up in flowery language.

My controversial/uncontroversial view is that dogs are better than people. More loyal, more sympathetic, more unconditionally loving, not great cooks.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The vast majority of fat people are lazy and lacking in self-control.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Compulsory Irish needs to be purged from the education system and replaced with something useful.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭Kurooi

The late late toy show is not that good.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,802 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Fair play.

'Santa' teaches kids to be greedy and demanding, not to be more thoughtful, which is what Xmas was supposed to be.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I never got it at all. Then there was a load of racist hatred on this site a few years ago over it.

This is actually a really good one. I wouldn't call it controversial at all.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Too extreme! I'd go for making Irish and English compulsory to Junior Cert, then making one compulsory and one optional for the LC cycle.

It is controversial because parents these days want to shower kids with all the stuff they didn't get as kids, and get butt-hurt when they get called out on pandering to barefaced commercialism.

If dogs cleaned up their own sh1te then I could be persuaded to agree with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

My controversial opinion...which shouldn't be one bit controversial in a normal society...is if you borrowed big time to build/buy a house and now cannot pay your mortgage as a result of your own stupidity then you should be booted out without delay no questions asked.

Dogs were fine until every eegit decided to get one.

Maybe we could get some perfectly good foreign teachers into our creaking education system too, barred by being unable to teach Irish?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Apply that to all dogs and you have my vote. Horses too actually.