Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suicide

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

It is exactly the right place ! Need to get and keep things in proportion. The death rate from covid would have been even worse than it already is.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭RossGeller

This was essentially me but not as extreme (I've never been sectioned or arrested)

I stopped taking the meds myself and I understand why your family member did. Do you know the side effects of these meds? They're nearly as bad as the illness itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Victim blaming.....

Jesus christ man... Cop on ta fcuk will yaa....... 🤬

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... "

He was able to function while on them, interact with people, no anxiety , able to sleep.....

And without moody, anxious, irrational, not nice to be around essentially !

So those that with mental issues and that couldnt cope with the never ending doom that was in your face for 18mths, and not allowed leave your house , and they took their own life, were just acceptable collateral damage ?

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭ahappychappy

I've been up close and personal with this awful curse for a long time as an ex-partner of someone who has significant MH battles. I lived with a partner for 15 years that made numerous attempts and was indeed "sectioned" several times, each time we manged to convince them to self-admit. They are still alive - on a massive amount of variety of drugs for over a decade and under what would be considered a good mental health team.

A couple of things I found frustrating - as a (married at the time) partner my voice wasn't listened to - this was so frustrating as I was aware while they attended their GP, picked up their prescriptions - they didn't take their medication for years. There was very little talking therapy and when it happened it took a really long time to access after an incident. I believe my partner had the mask back in place by the time any therapy was able to be engaged with. This isnt a criticism of the medical team but what my ex partner presented to them was deemed "well/recovered" and I would be asked was I anxious etc! The team changed every six months - so the patients rarely saw the same medical team.

The community care is too broad in its provision - it included people experiencing mild depression to people who had violent episodes - terrifying my partner so they were unable to engage with the offered art therapy etc. And the breadth of the provision was unable to support many - simply put the wonderful staff were constantly firefighting.

I did the A&E a few times with my partner when an attempt of their life was made and the attitudes of some of the admin/medical staff were unbelievable in their ignorance of mental health - better training is vital. I dread to think what would have happened if I hadn't been there a few times to advocate and call out really horrific attitudes.

I see my kids now have had a lot more input into learning about MH and I hope that will make the difference to some of the younger generation.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Speaking as someone who has been suicidal for some 20 years now, with the most recent attempt being about a year and a half ago, can I just say that that's a nonsense attitude.

I was very much born with this, a stupid chemical imbalance in my own brain that occasionally tries to convince me of the worst possible solution, and by no means should we accept that people simply don't want to live. We're not talking about euthanasia where somebody dying slowly and painfully of cancer or something.

Awareness and prevention campaigns won't solve it, and I don't think anyone claims it, but they sure as hell can help. Not just for the person going through it, but those around them who can learn to spot the various signs and indicators. You'd be astonished how incredibly helpful something like grabbing that one friend and going for a coffee is.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,814 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

In the public health service you'd be seeing a new doctor each time

'OK take these and you're grand come back to us in 3 months' type service

Different for people but I'd struggle with weekly counselling appointments. I prefer them spread out a few weeks. Sometimes not enough happens in a week

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Your last sentence brings tears. Hang on in there please. Your understanding and realism are rare qualities. I was misdiagnosed as being mentally ill for three painful decades in the UK and the best help came from the Samaritans. Well the ONLY real help. This was in the UK and I had a befriender who took me for drives, visited etc. She literally saved my life and my sanity in so many ways. When the truth was finally realised ( I have severe M.E) I spent a year getting off all meds then left the country. The side effects of the meds were causing depression. I still have all the symptoms they were misdiagnosing as mental health issues. Self awareness is vital for every illness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

I reckon such campaigns only put things into consideration, like on kids conscience where it may not have been previously. Trend that topic enough and they may even think it’s the done thing. It’s a bit like suggesting someone hang in there

• Registered Users Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭corner of hells

There are training courses available to anyone wishing to learn to support someone at risk or expressing suicidal ideation.

Safetalk is the precursor and Asist is a more advanced training, it can be quite raw .They're free and HSE approved as far as I can remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Yes in the mid to late 90’s I lost 5 friends to it and more people I knew but not well. Each of them a shock but it seemed endemic then .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭standardg60

You're right, it is just a stupid chemical imbalance. I was born with it too, which thankfully medication has corrected for many years.

My point is though that people who take or attempt to take their own lives at the time think it's in no way preventable, or else they wouldn't do it. Labelling it as such after the fact is imo unfair to those left behind.

I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts on this given you've been there, if you'd been successful with your attempt (thankfully not), would you be happy to burden your loved ones with guilt for the rest of their lives?

Surely no-one who ever takes their own lives would wish this.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I strongly disagree with your statement about people not knowing.

Post edited by cj maxx on

• Registered Users Posts: 51,508 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Could you not ask for counselling appointments every 2/3 weeks? Surely if you explain that you need them this way they'd go for it.

Pieta house couldn't do it due to a waiting list

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

im not beating a drum, I’m offering an opinion… respectfully I think it’s fair game and valid that a counter or varying opinion is heard.

im all for discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,125 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

OMG, I have noticed that more younger aged in the last few years are taking their own lives, social media a factor?

It's hard to know what goes on in anyone's head but being turned away when looking for help is wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

Male loneliness is a rampant disease. A modern young female has no idea what true loneliness is. I wonder how many phone contacts the average woman has, certainly not 4 like I do. If a woman posts about her mental health on social media she will be flooded with upvotes to validate her. Men like me should be given universal basic income for life and tokens for escorts. I think in 100 years that will happen.

Too many organisations with well paid staff. They do not want to just have one because they might lose their job in their 'charities'. Also, there is no evidence depression is a chemical imbalance corrected by antidepressant drugs. No evidence that drugs increase serotonin and this helps depression.

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/news/2022/jul/no-evidence-depression-caused-low-serotonin-levels-finds-comprehensive-review

That is drug company spiel.

And there is evidence antidepressant drugs can cause anxiety and agitation. the people who give the drugs are too ignorant to believe that as they believe the drug company line

Utter and frankly dangerous conspiracy theory nonsense

shows how little you know about pharmaceuticals and so called charities

And apart from the internet your expertise is garnered from?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

edit: I've been banned enough times.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Cocaine is a big problem

coming down to absolutely nothing on a Monday morning only debt puts a massive strain on a persons mental wellbeing

Never knew how much of the 'bump culture' is around these days with the 18-25 year olds

I'm 32 and when I was that age there was not as much Coke around as now. It was all about getting as pissed before going to the pubs. Now lads can pissed on other things

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Around a decade ago or so, 5 young lads who were all friends and from the same area of Galway all killed themselves one after the other. Not sure if it is increasing in young lads. It has been that way for a long while and long before any pandemic lockdowns too.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

I see you comment on a lot of things, mostly about incel stuff. Most of the time I'd assume you are potentially trolling - are you actually trolling or serious?

If you are serious there is answers to your problems, posting about it online in a constant repetitive cycle won't help. Consuming content from incel websites as you mentioned numerous times won't help either. Blaming women also doesn't help really does it?

Have you tried actually being proactive and doing something constructive that may give you a new point of view? Learning a new skill, lifting heavy ****, doing constructive stuff that may actually help you feel a bit better. Self assigning labels is literally mentally putting yourself beyond accountability and absolutely scuppers any chance of changing which I'd presume you want as you post about your plight often enough.

If you want to draw people into your world the most effective way to do it is to enact some sort of positive change that makes you a person others want to be around, there is a friend group for everyone, there is a significant other for everyone too I'm sure you just have to put in the work on your side mate and put yourself out into the world.

The world is changing for men no doubt but we live in a world where changing yourself is easier than ever. I'm not judging you, you may very well be in a bad place but I couldn't really skim over all your posts without chipping something positive your way.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,863 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I lost a close friend in the aftermath of the last recession in 2008 in the most terrible way. I am not sure if people who were not impacted by it realise how hard it hit.

He was a young man with a young family.

It hit me bad at the time and I hopefully have helped others in his memory.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Well count yourself lucky as you have four contacts I have zero. And the only person I speak to on the phone is the local chemist ringing up to order my medication once a month and the doctor to order new scripts every four months.