Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooting accident

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭kunekunesika

My worst nightmare.🤮🤮

Sunday? Dates?

10pm is black dark around here as well??

Wait for more details.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,950 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Must be the 1st hunting accident in 20-plus years here in Ireland. The last one I've heard of was down here in Co Limerick on St Patrick's day.Some lad out for rabbits climbed over a gate with a loaded .22...

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

MODERATOR WARNING - UPDATED

All comments and replies to a now deleted anti-hunting post have been removed due to the thread constantly being dragged off topic.

I'll remind anyone new to the forum that the rules specifically prohibit the discussion of the morality of hunting.

If the topic of this thread or the sport itself offends you then I'd suggest not visiting the forum or reading the content.

Anyone that continues on this topic, in violation of the rules, will have their post removed without warning and may face infraction.

Post edited by Cass on
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

There seem to be a lot more people out in the woods and forestry..... cycling, hiking, walking...

I do a bit of cycling myself and the lads in the local cycling club posted some pictures of their weekend cyclocross spins around the local woods amount of deer they bumped into was nuts, just hope they don't bump into some shooter lining up a shot. Stay safe out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

Great point. I have found the same, particularly in the past two years since the Lockdowns. People walking, biking, running regularly in places I would have met few people before. Shooters need to very careful.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Curiousness99

You reminded me of this, some places I'd go walking with the dog I'd never meet anyone r xcept the odd shooter, met a few people during and since klockdown alright

I guess it's simple in that you should never take a shot unless you know what you are shooting at and where the bullet might go if you miss for whatever reason

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Do a NARGC Safety Officers Course and they will show you lots of slides on a screen of unfortunate mishaps. Personally I know one friend blind in his right eye from a pellet rebounding off a tree and another sadly no longer with us who made the fatal mistake of not unloading his gun crossing a fence, out shooting snipe on his own.

Horses, cattle, sheep, goats, donkeys, all have been inadvertently shot at night by numpties failing to make proper quarry identification.

Seen enough of those pics in my time thanks, and have had a few close shaves too as well. As no doubt, that we all have had or will have if we are honest. So long as no one is going to the undertaker or the hospital and we learn from the incident and bollock out the cause of the incident it's a good day.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Well the future seems to be more people spending a lot more time in the countryside.... pub culture is dead!!!! why spend Sunday afternoon in a pub when you could be out walking in the countryside with the family and the 'fur baby' or training for the next big Ironman/adventure race.

We are going to have to get used to meeting the public more often in the countryside.... we have to be able to deal with the public and be Safer!

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

Any update to this story? Typical media, linking it to legal deer hunting when it happened in the pitch black in August outside of the Deer season.

If I was a conspiracy theorist I'd say it sounds more like a punishment shooting 🤔

.Going by the social media scutttlebutt .Apparently it was a shotgun that was involved.Not exactly std issue deer hunting equipment in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Certainly not , have treated at least 5 "accidental" gunshot injuries in the last 20 years- that said the physical activity of hunting is far more dangerous with 2 cardiac arrests.

No high velocity injuries , one 22, the rest shotgun................ also one non- hunting related handgun injury. a few self-inflicted wounds as well- .

And of course lads wouldn’t be shooting deer out of season, especially a few before the season starts or ends (regardless of having a section 42 or whatever it is), shure what would be the harm

Don't ya know that any shooting incident reported in the press in Ireland involves a 'high powered shotgun, with a telescopic sight like the ones snipers use'

Irish journalists do go with this alright.

Maybe I should have said FATAL injuries while out hunting...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Mixing hunting with other leisure activities in the same Coillte lands is nuts.

I've twice had a deer rifle pointed at me while running and cycling in my local wood over the last 20 years.

Once was a pure chancer parked at gate resting on open door of car, second was a hunter with Coillte permission shooting from a bipod on forestry road.

Second guy had two signs up, trouble is there is about 10 gates I know off giving access to road in question.

I'm not anti hunter either have my own rifle but current system especially with increased use of woods needs better management

Plenty of people ignore the signs unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MakersMark

Yep...I've had an idiot walk his dog right past my signs while I'm standing there with my rifle.

You can't say a word I case they report you to Coillte for harassment .

All I could do was pack up and go home.

Regarding the initial post, is there any circumstance where shooting deer at 10 pm is not poaching?

On a section 42 with lamp permission. It will be specific to a certain piece of land, a named stalker, certain dates, species, male/female etc will all be specified.

Or a section 42 without a lamp in Summer when it is still light.

This story sounds like a lot of baloney,

Shot in the leg with a shotgun - by a deer hunter- at night??

Reminds me of the criminal type patient of mine who claimed to be shot in the groin by an unknown assailant - gardai established it was a sawn off shotgun carried "gansta style" in his trouser belt.

the firearm in question was a rifle, dunno where your getting the shotgun bit from.

Social media is saying a shotgun...So take it for what its worth...

Reminds me of the criminal type patient of mine who claimed to be shot in the groin by an unknown assailant - gardai established it was a sawn-off shotgun carried "gansta style" in his trouser belt.

What a commendable move on his part, as it hopefully severely damaged/destroyed his reproductive equipment thusly not foisting more offspring with his genes on society.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

So Coillte tender the shooting rights on the land but have a "right to roam" type policy for walkers etc. Does one ring up Coillte and say "lads I can't go for a shot without tripping over dog walkers etc?" Seems a strange setup.

First they came for the socialists...

Wgat I understand is that once I've booked in with HAMS and posted my signs, the wood is closed, with no access to walkers etc.

But since when do the Irish follow the rules?

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

The onus is totally on the man with the gun to curtail their shooting when safe to do so when there's no people out enjoying the amenities, if they can't do it safely or without complaining about right to roam then they shouldn't tender for it saving themselves the frustration of tripping over dog walkers

Most of the coillte forests near me don’t allow shooting because they’re too busy, walkers, runners, cyclists (at all hours too). Some other woods I go to (which would be busy enough too) where shooting is allowed I always assumed it was only allowed early in the morning, I’ve rarely come across hunters in them