Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

No doubt there are some posters here who may be connected to or identify culturally with either the suspects or the Gardaì.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭littlefeet

Rural Ireland was not strange in 1995, the Guards are more efficient and scrutinised today and they have better technology.

Im not saying there wasn't corruption in the Guards but not half as much as is made out plus the vast majority wanted to do their best.

Incompatance for one reason or another

might have been a bigger factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

To this point I had never heard that story.

The articles in the Sunday World and Irish Independent are identical, which is not surprising as they are the same publishing house.

I'd never use The Sunday World as a source for anything and my faith in the Irish Independent is only slightly better.

Based on the article the source of the story of the sighting of a naked girl running through the streets of Moone is a woman who happened to talk to a driver who claims to have seen the girl that night and was back in town to retrace his steps before going to the Gardai two decades later.

Very complex if you ask me.

Actually it sounds like pure BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Perhaps if you did the “ research “ that you suggest others do then you could have come up with this article. Of course you would then go on to disparage it because it’s “ only “ from the Sunday world or Independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,511 ✭✭✭Gusser09

But you were wrong to eat into posters here telling them that it never happened and the reports were from Waterford. The truck driver in question did go to Gardai at the time and was conveniently sent packing. Unreal on behalf of AGS.

The driver told the woman that after his boss failed to help the screaming woman, he phoned gardaí from a phone box in Moone.

"He said they told him: 'Don't worry, it'll be grand, we'll send a car out'," the woman said. "And he said about three days later Jo Jo Dullard was

missing, so they went to give a statement.

"But the gardaí said it was a different woman altogether because Jo Jo Dullard had been seen in Castledermot afterwards.

"He said in all of the years this was the first day he'd been asked to give a statement since that time. He was going to Naas that day to give gardaí a statement.

Even Gardai think his statement is credible. Gardai today that is. Not the keystone cops from back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

The unfortunate thing is, we can be reminded of the Elaine O'Hara murder - her body discovered because a dog came running to its owner who was walking it, with bones, accompanied by clothing. If poor Jo Jo's body was disposed of in a similar fashion, her remains could be scattered and buried for miles around. Could be a Bobby Ryan situation where the body was hidden in a slurry tank or similar - could be a Tina Satchwell situation where the body was buried under concrete or even underneath foundations. Could have been later moved out to sea or literally anywhere in the country - And I feel the main suspect would have been quite relaxed during questioning this week - knowing he either didn't do it, or the body is nowhere near the location they are searching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

I didn't realize she tried to flag down the witness car as per Crimeline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,253 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The Gardai come out of this looking grossly incompetent. This man tried to report a serious incident to them in relation to a missing person and they just dismissed him and didn't take a statement….really substandard police work.

O

One is a planner and one is an opportunist. Profilers claim to be able to tell from the crime scene which it was. Personally, I think profiling is guesswork

It's really important to note that the Truck Driver did try and report to Gardai and he was brushed off for some inexplicable reason. He was first told they would send a car and then told JoJo was seen in Castledermot so it couldn't have been her in Moone. Moone one of the smallest villages in Ireland I'd say. Too much of a coincidence in reality. Only 20 years later was in allowed to give a statement.

It really is jaw dropping when you think about it. I just think that the level of incompetence is on such a scale that there was something more nefarious going on back then.

But why would the Gardai back in 1995 take it as credible ?

According to the woman who meet the man on the street 25 years later he said they made a statement about this naked girl they spotted at 11pm on Nov 9th in Moone

They said they made the statement three days after Jo Jo's disappeared or her disappearance was reported/made public.

This was after his boss had called the Gardai on the night and they said they would send a car out, again according to the woman who meet him on the street.

By the time the Gardai got this statement in was already established that Jo Jo was alive and not in any distress at 11:30pm (when she called her friend), we don't know what time she arrived in Moone, but Gardai may know based on what her friend told them.

And also at that point there was an alleged sighting of a girl matching her description thumbing further south at Calstledermot after 11:30pm.

Plus the Gardai may have sent a car out to Moone to investigate the 11pm naked girl report and we satisfied with the outcome.

So based on the above a naked girl running through Moone at 11pm would not be related to Jo Jo.

Obviously you could try and extrapolate that were was some predator on the streets of Moone that night that both the 11pm girl and Jo Jo fell foul of, but that's a stretch without having anymore than this guy and his boss as witnesses/evidence.

We would have hard more of that in the last 29 years if it was the case.

Whether the Gardai really think it's credible in 2021 we don't really know, all we get in the article is that a source says it is being looked at again.

According to the report a woman who meet a the driver of the van on the street 25 years after the event, this man told her his boss rang the Gardai and they said they would send a car out.

So we are four people removed from the Garda who took the call, we have to take the word of the boss, the driver, the woman who meet the driver 25 years later and the writer to come to the conclusion that the outcome of that alleged call was "substandard police work"

People who want the Gardai to come out of this looking grossly incompetent use 4th hand information as proof of this gross incompetence

Post edited by Fr Tod Umptious on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Garzorico

Young woman goes missing. Report of a naked woman seen running through the town which is the last known location the missing woman was seen. On the same night. Probably nothing to see here then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,644 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Was she naked?

I thought the sighting was a lady with no shoes as per Crimecall piece.

Still very dodgy of course

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

If anyone has any doubts about Garda incompetence and people with connections in bygone Ireland, take a look at the investigation into the death of Fr Niall Molloy which occurred 10 years earlier in 1985

Post edited by tabby aspreme on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I was thinking of that one, Patrick Nugent in Bunratty was another dodgy one too.

Nothing to see hear, just a poor boy from a poor family, look over there, respectable pillars of the community etc.etc.

Probably nothing to see here then.

Or more likely investigated and ruled out.

Different report.

The one you talk about was in Waterford.

It is more widely known than the naked girl in Moone story that I bulled the head of another poster about.

The Waterford story was known publicly as early as 1997, maybe earlier, the naked girl in Moone only appeared in the public via the Sunday World/Irish Independent story of a woman talking to a man on the street 25 years after the fact.

Were you one of the cops that failed to solve the Deirdre Jacob, Lynette McKeown and JoJo caes? All in Kildare around the simliar locations. Sounds like it.

No, I'm just a person that does not default to the "Gardai are incompetent, they should have done x, y and z", "It's all a big cover-up" tropes when it comes to news stories like the one we have seen this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭griffin100

I think the amateur detectives in this thread could do with watching the BBC documentary on the Nicola Bulley disappearance -

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cyvym5g02rdo

A thread about a missing person got deleted, not just closed but fully deleted here a few years ago but the speculation got so wild the family had to ask the admins to delete the whole thing.

No you did NOT “ bully the head of me “ earlier as you stated. And aren’t you a great little keyboard warrior for claiming to do so. You attempted to do so but since i was a child I have detested bullying in all its forms and challenged it at every opportunity.
    What you did say about my post was

“ Oh for FCUK Sake.People should do an ounce of research before posting that sort of rubbish here.”

You then went on to say that you were unaware of the Sunday world / independent article and when pointing out to you by myself and others that it actually existed you dismissed it because according to you it was only in those two publications which don’t live up to your journalistic standards of integrity. However you then go on to discuss the said article.

Perhaps you would be so gracious as to admit that the article did actually exist and was published AND perhaps you would apologise for your publicly admitted claim / boast of attempting to bully another poster. I won’t hold my breath on either counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I'll admit that I didn't know that the article existed and was over the top in my response.

As for bullying, if you think you have been bullied fair enough, that's for you, I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭littlefeet

Id say that sometimes they can't accept that the simplest answer is the answer, along with a grip against supposed elites in their society as this is Ireland, it's anyone wealthy, big farmers, the GAA and Rugby.

There are bad people really bad people and there always have been.

Fair enough for admitting to being over the top originally . I also apologise for accusing you of bullying as I misread the word “ bulled “ in your post as pointed out by another poster.

I've never been on to believe in conspiracy theories or cover ups. I dont really believe it in this case. But i suppose anything is possible.

Its just everything we know now points at an amateur Garda investigation with unforgivable failures. How anyone can try to say it was anything different just stinks of a bias toward the gardai and an unwavering belief in them no matter how many times they are exposed.