Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Train push teen gets suspended sentence

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

or will get get some coals put on the ground so they can be dragged across them that wont solve the issues these people are facing but it will make you lot happy

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭jmreire

Shortage of prison places plays a large part in sentencing here in Ireland. But even for a short time, he should have seen what jail time means. And the "Medicinal Cannabis" angle also. Was listening to the radio yesterday while a discussion was going on over the Armagh /Tyrone players behavior, and whoever the speaker was ( obviously medicinally qualified ) said that this type of behavior was typical of cannabis user behavior, a high spell of euphoria , followed by the inevitable downer, and while on it, no regular meals etc. which makes it much worse, and even more so in highly trained athletes.

Post edited by jmreire on

• Registered Users Posts: 39,848 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Sorry, the excuse for the brawl is they were smoking cannabis?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,859 ✭✭✭Cordell

No, they were self medicating with cannabis.

FFS, just for being this brazen in court they deserve jail time. Along with their solicitor/barrister.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Only the very worst of them get locked up under 18. He's under strictly supervised probation and of course now, at 18, eligible for the big house. Loss of face and being ratted out by the entire community must hurt him just as much.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Sweet Jesus, can't believe i'm reading this.

It's exactly because of attitudes like this that these scumbags believe they can do what they want/when they want and walk away scot free.

The lunatics have taken over the asylum here...

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

You should read the report linked to in the OP. By the looks of it the child has acknowledged his atrocious behaviour and is making efforts to improve himself as a human being. The justice system tries to do that as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭trashcan

Ah here, you’re ruining my outrage buzz !

Edit. The yoke who did the pushing should certainly do jail time.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

There's a nastiness to a lot of them that seems to be worse nowadays. I was walking home through a park yesterday and there was a group of them about 20 or so teenagers, a mix of boys and girls from about 13 to 16, running around being rough and noisy. I'd seen them earlier in the day making a nuisance of themselves elsewhere. Anyway, one of the lads was running around with his arms inside his top like a chicken and an elderly lady who was walking ahead of me stopped to say something to him about how dangerous it was.

He very slowly and very loudly roared 'shut your mouth' at her. An absolutely scummy **** thing to do and it really shocked me. No doubt that scummy little dirt bag will be in prison in a few years like the rest of the dirt bags in his family. The others he was with thought it was hilarious. Really worrying to see that kind of attitude among youngsters. The park is in an apartment complex and none of them are from there, I've noticed there's more people getting those little home CCTV cameras for inside their windows so there must be a problem with them. Ironically it's right behind the Garda station, although the local cops are feck all use anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭MakersMark

I hope you never get pushed under a train by a hang of feral scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I fail to see what you found shocking about this encounter. Sounds like they were having harmless fun and not posing a threat to anyone. It is perfectly understandable that someone would react like this when being unnecessarily lectured by a random person.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,949 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I'm not sure people understand that cannabis smokers are the last people to get stuck into a brawl. Real Reefer Madness stuff. Got to be something else involved.

Post edited by whisky_galore on

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

Wow. A nice old lady stops to show concern for a dirt bag teen and gets a mouthful of abuse for it and your take from that is that she deserved it.She's a braver woman than me, I just pretended not to see them and hoped to get past them without being verbally abused. Don't breed please. We've enough scum as it is. They weren't having harmless fun and they were very menacing when she was being abused.

Jesus, I despair of people like you,you're probably one of those who thinks there aren't enough 'facilities for them Joe'. I know these kids to see, I know who and what their families are. The nice old lady should have just let the dirt bag face plant himself into the ground. I'm sure she won't make the mistake of showing any care for random kids in the future, just like the rest of us ignore them and leave them to their own devices. I was worried they were going to turn on her and that I'd have to get involved. Nasty little pricks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

You make a lot of assumptions about me, and all of them are incorrect. Congratulations.

There was no need for her to intervene and save a young life because of the “danger” he had put himself in. Busybody got what she deserved, and the situation is totally incomparable to the one this thread is about.

No, not an excuse, but a medical opinion on the side effects of Cannabis. Extreme highs, followed by deep depression, amplified by lack of regular food and rest while on the high. There were some very good ( if extreme) examples of it on Love Hate, if you happened to watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭Be right back

Doubt he would have squared up to a 6 foot 5 bodybuilder.. He's only 'brave' with his friends around.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,840 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I genuinely don't think kids are worse than when we were kids.

There will always be a few that are "bad apples" the difference is when you're in the same demographic as them you know who they are by name and that makes them less "scary".

It's absolutely no different from having a dodgy neighbour etc.

As for the woman ...in all fairness the kids were doing no harm,if he face planted himself only he would get hurt.

Teenagers don't need anyone telling them to take their hands out of their pockets while running etc....if they haven't learned by then let Darwin take care of it.

She inserted herself into a situation and became the butt of a mocking.

While you might say they wouldn't do that to a bodybuilder etc I doubt a bodybuilder would be arsed to interfere with teenagers having the craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,304 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Christ sake....how many offences will he have by 30?!

"Counsel said he had been self-medicating on cannabis at the time" ....what?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,304 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Also what the hell is "pro-social" and how does it mean they should get a lesser sentence?!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

And you just pretended not to see them.... pretty well sums you up alright. Another keyboard worrier hiding behind the couch or under the bed.... or more likely just trolling.

I've yet to meet an arsehole "on" weed who wasn't an arsehole on drink, or coke, or sober. When you meet someone who's an arsehole on yokes you've really found the scummiest of the scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

What if they aren’t an “arsehole ”on” weed”, but a teenager having a psychotic break from cannabis? I’ve seen plenty of it through work.

Either way, the common denominator is the drug.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

That’s my point. A lot of people try to say cannabis is fairly harmless. I’ve seen lots of teens lives ruined with psychosis because of it. It’s harmless once the brain is fully developed.

If it's a psychotic break it's a psychotic break. If it's a continuous pattern of behaviour then the person is scum.

And I've had freakouts on more than one thing. I've gone cold turkey from drinking absolutely massively and it was a pain but did it. I had a horrific experience on yokes. I. Because I didn't do it to anyone else. I had one experience with drink that cost me a lot and had it gone worse I was responsible and should have been held so. I recently went cold turkey from smoking more than anyone I've met and am very fat (I would test positive for diabetes) yet I didn't go out and **** around with strangers on a train platform even though I'm sure my blood sugar was all over the place.

BTW, when it comes to weed I agree on it not being completely harmless. I find it more insidious than drink because you can get really far with it without thinking it's affecting anything. But I'm talking more long-ish term socialising (not the right word) effects. People turn in on themselves and avoid people. It takes a while though. This nonsense about having had a smoke or two as an excuse for scummy behaviour is bullshit however.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

Speaking of, that dirt box that shot the firework into the students face in Galway last year.

What happened to that filth?

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Got summonsed for jury duty recently and got off as I was unable to attend, but what would be the point of wasting your time attending court to find some little scumbag guilty of a crime and then hear he got a tap on the wrists and told not to do it again. The justice system in this well and truly broken, and can only be fixed by building a new prison and throw people into it for these type of crimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

So the probation service recommends 12 months and the judge gave half that just because he was sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Notice how law was changed after one Padraig Nally and it took 7 years before Shatter (who everyone hated) brought in a law about being able to defend oneself on one's own property without fear of prosecution.

Of course the bleeding fooking hearts in the councuil for civil liberties were against it.

Until the pr*cks that condone what judges and our justice system do have lived through the experiences of lots of victims of crime they will contine to support the perpetrators rather than the victims.

The victims of this crime should tell the judge and the scrots they can stick their apologies where the sun don't shine.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo