Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your dream jobs if you were financially sorted already

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Pub spy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭RayCon

Librarian - nice quiet life. Walking distance from my house (my local one anyway) and I get to tell school kids to "sshhuuussshhhhhh" regularly.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭BurgerFace

Bartender in a cocktail bar in Stockholm or pub crawl tour guide for hen parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Writing novels in the morning, fixing up vintage bicycles in the afternoons, I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Arable farmer, know feck all about it but love the outdoor work, about 150-200 acres. Barley, spuds, carrots & similar. Couple of sheds to tinker around in also. Think I'd find it therapeutic.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If I was financially sorted and didn't really need any extra money, I think I'd like to work part time on a gun range/gun shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭youngblood

Return to College to learn every grammatical rule there is as Gaeilge an translate in Europe when I fancy a break away

Present Nuacht

Make Coffee

First Class Air/Train travel Reviewer

Working in forestry, cutting down trees. I've always enjoyed relaxing playing farming simulator with forestry mods I would love to have a go at driving the fella buncher which is machine that looks like a digger except on the front it has a plate with a saw blade at the bottom and then grapples for grabbing the tree.

Id likely not change from what i do,i love what i do (and do it v.well),maybe curtail from 70 plus hours a week at busy periods

But it would be nice to be in a situation where i had the money to help family out more than i do,and give nieces/nephews a leg up,we never got

• Registered Users Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I remember when I was about 10, a cantankerous substitute teacher asked my class what we wanted to be when we grew up. I had heard of games testers, and my 10-year-old self thought that was the 2nd-best job ever (after racing drivers, of course), and had never heard of such horrible concepts like crunch, microtransactions or Bobby Kotick. When I gave my answer, the substitute shot that down with a snarky, "They don't get paid. They just do it for the love of it."

After that episode, I decided on the seemingly more lucrative position of "games designer", but I imagine that job involves hours of arguing with boardrooms trying to make the game as grindy as possible and slash your QA budget. Even still, if I didn't have to worry about money, I'd love to games development a shot. I'm thinking of all the new games I got over the past couple of years (mainly racing) and just how hollow they feel in parts compared to the likes of PS1/PS2-era Gran Turismos and the X360-era Forzas.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There are 2d and 3d game artists, skin designers, writers , programmers, voice actors, many games now are just designed as platforms, services,you can buy new dlc, characters, skins, weapons, i like older games like metal gear 2,splinter cell, because there was a story, no grinding, you could play it 2 times ,trade it in and get a new game.Many people start off making game mods before they get a job in the game industry. i think you mean game dev ,developer , not designer .

i think games were better before designers became obsessed with making every game look like real life, 4k, eg 3d graphics effects are now the most important feature ,eg look at the realistic skin hair water effects,even if the game play is the basically the same as cod 4 on the 360.

being a forest ranger sounds good , be outside all day, not too stressful or demanding .

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Beatty69

Met a lady once running a donkey sanctuary in Sligo, happiest woman I've ever met. That's what I'd do if I was financially secure without a doubt.

I'd probably go bankrupt very quickly though cause I'd take in all sorts of dogs/cats and any stray yoke at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,904 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

National park ranger in Kerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Ski instructor, St Moritz.

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Everlong1

I'm a singer/songwriter/guitarist in my spare time. If I was financially secure or won the Lotto I'd plough my winnings into hiring a manager/PR person and/or session musicians so I could finally have a proper shot at getting my choons out there. I've done this to a limited extent already but haven't made any real money from it yet. My day job finances my music.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

1 character too short

• Registered Users Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭victor8600

Park ranger

• Registered Users Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭Wossack

Postie

• Registered Users Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Work in forestry management.

Tip around the country in a van full of chainsaws with my dog. Stop in and have chats with local farmers, do some felling and thinning, a bit of planning and planting too.

No stress, no pressure, the weather wouldn't bother me at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Aquire about 40-50 acres in Wexford, and set up an educational farm on agri-food/land management and bio-diversity.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Website editor.

Some niche interests I have generate about a third of what I need to live on. But it's very volatile, couldn't possibly risk doing it full time now. But I'd love to spead all my time researching for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭alexago

I think I'd open a charity organization. It would help children. As money isn't an issue, I would hire enough people to work on marketing, advertisement, enterprise learning management, finding potential investors, etc. - everything to grow this business fast.

I wish there were more businesses to support children and help them have a better future.

Post edited by alexago on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭3DataModem

"Dream Job"?

LOL. None of my dreams involve work.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,866 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Work in the south of France, creating and carrying out team bonding experiences for corporate staff retreats. Single day or multi day options. Would be decent pay if/when you could secure the work.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'd open a photography studio and specialise in fine art nude.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,978 ✭✭✭pgj2015

That is what stops a lot of people but you have to just go for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭put_the_kettle_on

I'm not sure what it's like here but in the uk we are 2 or even 3 generations into the loss of cooking skills, most especially in areas of severe poverty.

That's my dream job, teaching young people how to cook totally from scratch. How to feed themselves good, wholesome food on a minuscule budget.

Years ago I applied to teach prisoners how to cook but didn't even get a response, I think, because I don't have formal qualifications in that area. I so would have loved that job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭Francis McM

+1. And you forgot to say relatively short working week (often on tea breaks / chatting ), mighty pension, and in some cases at least, the option to retire after only 30 years service on full pension ( like the Gardai).

Would have loved to have been a Failte Ireland / Bord Failte employee during the pandemic ... working from home on full pay and not a tourist in the country! Or a librarian. Nicy secure well paid cushy job, no stress, no worries.

Post edited by Francis McM on

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames