Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So "X" - nothing to see here. Elon's in control - Part XXX **Threadbans in OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 13,758 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Where did get the impression Musk supports Trump? He supports himself. He's for anyone that liberates the market to allow him to do whatever he wants.

He has described himself as socially liberal, fiscally conservative, he has no political affiliation, certainly not publicly.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

Twitter is a cess pool, I couldn't care less who buys it.

Musk is a glory hunter but he has nothing to do with my day to day life. The Tesla fanboy club are interested in him and he has figured out he can make billions off that by playing around with crypto

Trump, well would Ireland be better off if he was still the President? yes we would. Do I care who is President in the US, not really at all. We should be more interested in who is running Europe and not who is running the US

All of the online platforms could be turned off tomorrow morning and it wouldn't make a blind bit of difference to the World. Probably because as soon as they are turned off another version of something will pop up and suddenly be the "in platform"

I would be only interested if any of these tools could actually implement a system to stop their platform been used for online bullying, none of them seem to care at all

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

I am a supporter of Musk yes. We need more innovators and engineering geniuses who work 20 hours a day to succeed. It's not like he inherited his wealth for goodness sake, he build everything from scratch. Of course the Irish will always begrudge and engage in petty envy/jealousy.

I don't think he is a big fan of Trump. He is a libertarian and likes the idea of free speech for everyone including people we disagree with. That is a fair enough position to take.

Ah the old Ireland is full of begrudgers trope.

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Stereotypes are usually built on fact, that one is certainly true.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭conorhal

Musk is an idiot, but it's been funny to watch the cope/seethe spew forth from the blue checkmark brigade. The hypocrisy has been hillarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭archfi

A couple of rules is all that's needed to fix Twitter. I'm all for the purging of the ideological nuts who hold sway over it right now.

No violent threats

No porn

No paedos

No doxxing

Effective mechanism to obliterate bots

Block/ mute and not leaving dm's open are already in place.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

If you shut down the bots/dummy accounts then you shut down all of the rest of the problems

It is too easy on twitter to create 100 accounts and then attack anyone who is the "enemy"

We have a huge problem in Irish politics with this carry on. Facebook has become the same and now TikTok is heading that direction.

Even if you look at a so called "journalist" who's website was quoted on a thread here. He was caught with a second account calling Ukraine's people pigs etc

I know the person behind it has problems, but what sort of platform allows that to continue? even when identified he just closed the account and continues his main account. I am sure along with another few dummy ones

• Registered Users Posts: 39,570 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

As soon as the insufferable attention whore fúcks off the better. .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭circadian

He's pumping the share price, just like clockwork. I wonder how long it'll be before he sells 10% to "test liquidity" in the market.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I really hope Elon gets his way

• Registered Users Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭circadian

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"It's not like he inherited his wealth for goodness sake".

L.O.L.

Musk is no different from any of the other blood sucking billionaires except that he's more tech-savvy. They're all narcissistic sociopaths. If you think Musk is somehow different or more "down to earth", remember the fact that he used a random password generator to name his child and thought it was genius.

For the last year he's been using Twitter to manipulate financial markets. Stock market and crypto investors are for the most part clueless sheep who follow the market and react how everyone else does. Musk knows this and sticks up a statement on Twitter which he knows will cause a certain stock portfolio to react in a certain way. For example, he stuck a load of money in crypto, made a statement about how great crypto is, and boom, value of his crypto went up.

Same thing with his Twitter shares. He bought a load of shares, and delayed notifying the markets - breaking the law - so as to maximise the amount of stock he could buy before his shareholding would pump the price.

In most spheres this kind of direct manipulation of stock markets is illegal, but when you're rich and bending the rules, they don't care.

This offer to buy Twitter is just another part of this manipulation. Other billionaires buy newspaper and TV stations to manipulate propaganda and pump up the value of their pet projects. Musk has realised that you can get much faster reactions on Twitter and is seeking to secure that for himself so that he can't be cut off from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Joe Biden has been a catastrophic failure as a president and looks to be genuinely senile in interviews. I think this is the biggest reason Trump will get back in. So I don't think that should be your main concern when it comes to Musk buying Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭conorhal

Where better for an insufferable attention whore to be than Twitter?

He has no intention of buying twitter, he fúcked is toys out the pram because he wasn't allowed influence decisions, now he is pumping the stock price to dump his stock he doesn't want any more.

The dribblers lap him up, unable to see what he is, a spoilt rich attention whore who has to make everything about himself.

Absolute cretin.

Space Karen.

Trump isn't running, he is already laying the ground for the reasons he can't / won't. He is 76 in June and hardly a pinnacle of health.

It's probably 50/50 Biden will run.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,572 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Joe Biden is a very good President. He might not be as good as Obama or Bill Clinton but he is still a good president doing and saying what needs to be said. Do you think Trump would have helped Ukraine or criticised that monster Putin about his war in Ukraine? I doubt it. In fact Trump would probably be licking that monsters feet. So yes I am glad Biden is there and hope either he or Kamilla Harris get the next 4 years after this term is done.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I have yet to see a president that hasn't been described as catastrophic failure by someone. Or even an Taoiseach or a prime minister, all catastrophies apparently. The only ones anyone likes are historical figures air brushed by propaganda.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

I’d be surprised if Harris was the Democrats choice if Biden doesn’t seek a second term. But then again they did choose Hilary, so you never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Trump definitely would have threatened to withdraw from NATO if any members supplied weapons to Ukraine. He's on the Russian payroll, he probably would have started talking about putting US troops in Poland to stop people crossing the border.

I have no particular feelings about Biden. It's very difficult in the US to be a "good" president because what people want and what a US president can reasonably deliver are two very different things.

Their primary role is really foreign relations and diplomacy, and in that regard Biden has done a fairly stable job. Looks great next to the complete shambles of his predecessor, but really just "steady" compared to Obama or Clinton, who were far shrewder and more charismatic.

Like Reddit, Twitter is what you make of it. Most of my feed is programming stuff and I interact with that. It's still not great but it's ok.

As for Musk, I don't think he's a Trump fan. He's just a weird megalomaniac type person who works too much and has loads of money.

If he wants to try and bring his idea of free speech to Twitter, so be it. When Twitter bans people, people support it because Twitter can do what they want. "Who cares about free speech? It's their platform." I've often made the argument that if Twitter were bought out my Conservatives or someone like Musk, they'd quickly change their tune, and sure enough, they've changed their tune.

Go to another platform if you don't like it is what you said.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Lol great to see so many triggered leftists on here freaking out this🤣

Elon is certainly a better share holder then some of their questionable lads who literally dismembered a member of the press in turkey

Is that the same Elon who was desperately trying to get the Saudis to fund his Tesla buy out folly?

Again and again, the dribblers fall for it every single time.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

I disagree and barring any potential legal issues, think he will. The man's ego is so huge that he still feels he was robbed in 2020 and is entitled to a second term.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

They hope Elon will buy Twitter to "own the Libs".

Actually his impeding legal issues is one reason he might have to run and win.

The reality is though he is a busted flush, element of surprise candidate that shock up the 'cuckhold libtards' and devoured the and humiliated the Grand Old Party no longer has that element of surprise. Even discounting all the crazy shít he did when he was in office.

Even his saddo "I won I tell yeah tour" has seen dwindling simpletons attending.

Large amounts of Americans have notorious low attention spans, he is finished as a political candidate, even if you discount his age and health.

He is not even getting any traction on the normal news networks, as his usual attack dogs are all staying quiet just in case they are indicted.

His main rivals in the GOP have exceeded his "brashness" - unlike last time if there is debates it will just be a whole bunch of old rich white fúcks outlandishly insulting each other on stage until it reassembles the outright ridiculousness it would be.

Even if he gets his Twitter account back, tweeting outrageous nonsense to get attention is no longer unique. Everyone is at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Wouldn't it be wise to do a small bit of research before opening our mouth? The supposedly smart seem to almost take pride in their ignorance.

https://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/3267118-trump-joins-biden-in-calling-russias-war-on-ukraine-genocide/

Trump, who boasts of a close personal relationship with Putin, had previously called Russia’s invasion a “holocaust.”

Trump elaborated on his comments later in the interview with Fox News host Sean Hannity, saying, “This is a genocide that’s taking place.”

“We have the strongest, most capable nuclear anywhere in the world because of what I did,” Trump said, reiterating his claim that Putin would not have invaded were he in office.

Trump said the U.S. has a more powerful nuclear arsenal than Russia and that “people shouldn’t be pushing us around.”

“I think in 100 years people are going to look back and they are going to say, ‘How did we stand back and NATO stand back?'” Trump said.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

I don't think i've heard anyone ever use the phrase "own the Libs", except by people on this site ascribing it to imaginary people in their heads.