Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clontarf to City Centre Cycle & Bus Priority Project discussion (renamed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,041 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

In fairness motorists have killed 136 people in 2021 and cyclists have killed 0 people. The statistics around injuries are even more more skewed towards motorists so personal experience is one thing but is statistically not valid. I've been hit by a deliveroo cyclist when when on my bike. He came out of it worse though and I was told there was no point pursuing him for the cost of replacing my damaged wheel. Still though it's a small problem compared to our road deaths. And this has little to do with the actual thread anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭growleaves

No he means me. I'm veering off-topic and already promised not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,792 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Presumably they will work on tweaking the traffic light sequences - we are only on day 2, and generally there will always need to be some changes made such as light sequences with a project like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,678 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I really can't say I see rlj cyclists "blast through" pedestrian lights. I see them proceed through them, but normally cautiously enough not to be a danger to pedestrians, at least on my route in and out of the city.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,747 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Are we a society of medieval peasants? Surely we can afford something more than walkways.

how much are travelators per km? i vote we should have a travelator from the city centre to fairview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,678 ✭✭✭Macy0161

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I don't care if they are going fast or slow, they (and cars) are not supposed to go through a red light.

Richmond Road has needed to be made one-way for years. In essence it is only as wide as that tiny bottleneck between Grace Park Avenue and Grace Park Road. I used to make a detour down/up Clonliffe while cycling as it was too risky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Not safe, Joe. They could get knocked down by a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

Light sequence inbound at the five lamps could do with being adjusted. Took three or four cycles to get through on the bus this morning. Cyclists slowed down the bus prior to that point. As someone else said its only day two but I might look to travel in a bit earlier or maybe avoid it all together by swapping the 14 for the N4

Well cyclists might have slowed down the bus, but they didn't stop it getting through the lights - that would have been the cars/taxis/buses in front that the bus would have caught up with if it hadn't been 'slowed down'.

I cycle this route every day and I was slowed down by two buses yesterday. But only for a couple of hundred metres.

Post edited by Murph_D on

Irish Times article remarkably in favour of the upgrade.

The Irish Times view on diverting motorists to build cycle lanes

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/editorials/2022/08/09/the-irish-times-view-on-diverting-motorists-to-build-cycle-lanes/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Drove northbound from 5 lamps to edges, just after 6pm today.

Counted 22 vehicles heading southbound that shouldn’t have been in that lane. And it’s only going to get worse.

I’d say they’ll have a Garda stationed there soon enough. As they should in key bus lanes across the city, especially at left filters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭bikeman1

I drove outbound this evening on a diversion from where I was going to see what it was like.

Passed 4 cars sailing in oblivious to everything. These should have their licences removed for a period of time and made to sit a theory test again! They clearly can not read the signs all over the place and made illegal turns to get there.

I get a softly softly approach in the beginning, but they need to enforce it in time before the busy September period commences.

AGS had no problem having checkpoints the length and breadth of the country stopping people from driving to a park or beach for a walk in Covid. All we’re asking for is one roads policing car literally shooting fish in the barrel.

All we’re asking for is one roads policing car literally shooting fish in the barrel.

Surely you mean 'figuratively'? Most of our police are not armed.😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Jayuu

Went through Fairview on a bus yesterday morning at 8:10 or so. Bus wasn't impacted as there are still two inbound lanes in Fairview (which was my original concern from last Sunday). Looking at Fairview Strand as we passed by Edge's Corner it was just about full so there was the possibility of minor traffic congestion in Fairview assuming traffic levels would increase from around 8:10-8:40 (prime rush hour).

I do think there will be congestion for private cars in Fairview when schools return and we move into Autumn. The only worry I would have now is that if it gets too bad it will affect the Malahide/Howth Road junctions as that potentially would impact on public transport.

I pass by the Ballybough Road/NCR junction after I get off the bus and I didn't see too much congestion there or at the right turn for Amiens Street at Portland Row. Again it's hard to judge anything fully at this time of year because it is when traffic is at its lowest. Fingers cross it won't deteriorate too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Jayuu

I think you're missing the point which is that they shouldn't be doing it at all, irrespective of how cautiously they proceed, if they are red.

Look, the reality is that there are those in both communities (car drivers/cyclists) who don't obey the rules of the road. I see both drivers and cyclists do crazy things at times which annoys me. As has been pointed out the lack on enforcement of laws and rules in Ireland is what contributes to this because it encourages people to take a chance and get away with it. The level of damage that they can do is ultimately irrelevant to this discussion. The rules of the road should be obeyed by everybody and if we had proper enforcement it would lead to better road behaviour in the longer term.

Climbing back into our bunkers with the "our lot are all perfect but you lot are all terrible" is generally the way these arguments go and it doesn't help. Our roads are shared areas and it's incumbent on everybody to exercise due care when using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭p_haugh

Bear in mind, there's no mention of the water mains upgrade works in that article at all, they're painting the project as something *solely* to upgrade cycle lanes, with bus services mentioned briefly at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,792 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

This is the thing.

The replacement of the water mains benefits everyone, separating the bus and cycle lanes will benefit thousands of bus commuters from improved journey times, and of course cyclists are winners from a safer route into/out of the city.

One does not need a degree in a communications to see how that should be the way to promote the project.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Regarding the water mains upgrade, does anyone know will it improve the water pressure in the area, or is it just replacement works?

Parked cars cleared from Fairview Strand and Ballybough Road (by the Post Office) made things much easier today.

Personally I prefer taking the route behind the flats and up by the canal rather than the yield near the Centra at the Five Lamps to get back onto the North Strand, (I find it much easier to see oncoming traffic), but I worry if too many speedy gonzalez types do the same they will cut it off. That whole area is a 30km zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭growleaves

From the way the Irish Times article is written, they are clearly trying to get people used to the idea that more roads will be closed and the road system (at least partially) wound down. Cars and motorists are discussed in every paragraph.

It isn't about cyclists, since it isn't necessary to close roads in order to open up cycle lanes. So I conclude that closing roads is the main thing.

Today Fairview, tomorrow the country.

Personally I will ride through the post-apocalyptic wasteland on a white horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,041 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

Big roads going into and through cities will of course be wound down eventually, it was a mistake to build them anyway and Dublin was spared the worst of the urban road building that exists in the rest of Europe and ..gasp.... America. Unfortunately the scheme being currently built through fairview includes a 6 lane road, which is disappointing but I guess that's a symptom of how long this scheme is in planning, outdated concepts like multi lane roads in cities are included so I won't be this iteration of the project that brings about real change

Nothing on this from yesterday or this morning?

Must be going smoothly, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Saw a Garda patrol bike giving abuse to private vehicles for breaking the rules of the road yesterday. Presumably they're just cautioning people for now which is probably a good way to start, but from the tone of conversation I wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of that.

good. Those lads on the patrol bikes can be pretty….erm…..persuasive

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Richmond road has been grand for me since Tuesday, when it was very bad. Perhaps a tweak of the lights as suggested. Still expect some carnage when the schools come back though.

Have seen private cars on inbound on North strand road every day.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,437 ✭✭✭markpb

If they’re not going to issue FPNs for it, a decent alternative is to ask them to pull in somewhere unobtrusive and leave them stewing. If their time is so important that they want to use the bus lane illegally, let them sit there for as long as possible to contemplate their actions (and watch everyone else sail past!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

You cannot ignore consequences when it comes to law enforcement where there are limited resources

Still many private cars sailing along.

Still silly delays going out of Fairview. Something badly wrong with the light sequence there - has been from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,002 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The ultimate irony being he went to work at another jeweller that has zero parking, is on a pedestrianised street, and is one of the most successful jewellers in the city!