Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clontarf to City Centre Cycle & Bus Priority Project discussion (renamed)

Less of your logic Monk :D Why would you drive to Power City to buy a fridge when you could continue on a few kilometres, spend ages in traffic, pay for parking in town, have to walk a distance from the car park to the electrical store, tie your new fridge to the roof of your car, and drive back home (back past Power City) after you spend 30 minutes or more getting through Fairview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,367 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

You do know you'll still be able to drive into town and buy whatever you want?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,747 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

long ago, shops in the city centre stopped storing large white goods anyway, due to cost - why would they keep fridge freezers in an expensive city centre location, when they can do it in a much cheaper warehouse out near the airport, as arnotts have done for years?

Sssssshhh you're not allowed to be sensible in here. It's big bad green party out to get us all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,957 ✭✭✭✭L1011

A list of things that are almost always delivered, or actually have more appropriate stores closer that aren't in the city centre is not something that should be appended with "stop being silly". As it is very, very silly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,747 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i dunno, we bought an amp in the city centre a few years back and were happy enough to drive in and park to get it. it was a one-off purchase, not something we had to do on a daily basis, so not a big deal.

chadwicks recently closed their lumber yard on college green dontchaknow.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

In your view, do all of the commuters in private cars travelling into the city in the morning and back out in the evening need to travel by car?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Public transport in this country is incredibly frustrating. I can see why people prefer their cars. There are gaps in services to some suburbs which leaves people with no option but to use their car. Parking at stations is very poor aswell. Real time trackers on buses not accurate, unpunctual darts and signalling issues, the list goes on when it comes to the appalling standard of public transport.

Btw I'm a wfh city dweller WFH but from the time I used to commute public transport was absolutely draining and from conversations not much has changed.

18 months to do this work is unacceptable also. They should throw the sink at it, night and weekend work included.

Our city centre is changing. Being reinvented. It’s already happening, the pedestrianisations being an obvious example. They will expand and become permanent. The mix will change to entertainment, residential and light retail. Whether our city planners have the intelligence and expertise to get this right is a whole other question. But the fact is that driving into the city will, over coming years, reduce drastically. There will be no need for as many traffic clogged arterial routes, and public transport, cycling and waking should and will continue to be prioritised.

Anyone needing a car for large items will go out of town or get them delivered.

Thats just the direction of travel now and there will be disruption while we get there

The majority of vehicles that would be using this stretch of road are coming from areas very close to dart stations and they could use this form of transport instead. Couple that with the new €2 90 minute fare and they can transfer to a bus free of charge. My wife works in Harold's Cross, we live in D5. There is no direct transport however a dart and bus combo for €2 takes roughly an hour. This is quicker than her driving.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,571 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

It won't have escaped your attention, I'm sure, that the trains and buses that serve the catchments that traverse this route, are already feckin jammers at peak times.

There simply isn't the PT capacity or flexibility there to accommodate the occupants and cargo of every single car, van, truck and motorbike that currently travel the North Strand, irrespective of the Ballybough diversion / car park. The City Council are playing out ads on Live Drive as if there is!

Today, we hear the NTA come out and say, 'sorry guv, can't do 24 Hour Luas services, we still need 4 hours a night, every night, for maintenance'.

We've seen the same shrugging of shoulders from Iarnród Éireann for years when people have lobbied for DART services through the night.

But thats this Country, and particularly this City all over, all stick and no carrot. And the project management philosophy of 'ah shure lookit, isn't that it.'

The darts are by no means jammers. Pre covid they were absolutely wedged but since then they aren't. You can get a seat at Harmonstown on a dart around 8.30am nowadays.

RTE have finally got wind of this https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2022/0804/1313943-dublin-clontarf/

Councillor Nial Ring not happy (any time I hear him on the radio he never is to be fair).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Logic when it suits, "25 minute walk alternatives" that are based in fiction and contradicted by linked evidence, when it doesn't....

is that directed at me? what did I say that was based in fiction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,957 ✭✭✭✭L1011

What shops in the city centre even sell large white goods anymore?

Arnotts - prefer to deliver. From Malahide where the franchisee for the electrical shop is actually based.

DID on Mountjoy Square. Who deliver and is tiny anyway

Currys in Jervis. Mostly sells brown goods (that's a ridiculously dated term these days)

That's about it surely?

Thank you for answering a question that I didn't ask! Maybe you would like to answer the one I actually did ask?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It was an offhand comment that taking 30 mins to cycle can not be explained by red lights.

I am not doubting that it takes you 25+ mins. But considering google thinks it takes 18 and they tend to be pretty conservative, and that it used to take me far less than 25 I regret to inform you that you are not in fact an above average cyclist in terms of capabilities. Nothing wrong with that of course, everyone should go at their own pace.

c'mon lads, take it elsewhere or just leave it - it's tiresome.

Just saw that it’s not even both ways. it’s only closed inbound. Outbound is as normal. Way too much being made of this for what will be a substantially improved stretch of road

because it is being primarily reported as being for a cycle lane, if it was for road widening or something they'd all be ok with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,041 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

This is what I can't fathom. There have been way more significant diversions in Dublin over the years. How long was Dawson Street closed for? Not nearly as many fatwas issued

Yeh, saw that. Would expect nothing more at this stage from our click bait media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Had the information leaflet arrive in the letterbox today. Spoke with two neighbours, who are going to take the Dart now instead of driving. Both didn't need to drive to work anyway, but chose to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Are they stopping the parking on Fairview Strand? That would considerably help things.

Will a left turn from Annesley Avenue onto North Strand be compulsory?

Springgarden street and North William Street are the only feasible 'rat runs' to avoid doing the big loop round Edge's corner (Charleville is one way the 'wrong way' and Bayview is just way too narrow) but with this going on for so long and the schools in North William Street I can see them making that one way too to stop putting children at risk. Springgarden Street is already a pig of a street to get out of onto Ballybough Road. I wouldn't fancy being the person who tries to solve all those pinch points that will appear.

LIDL expected to start building their new shop on Ballybough Road soon too. Jakers it will add to the fun.

I can see the 123 bus having terrible delays with this. I wonder are they going to re-route part of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,571 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭bikeman1

I am in very regularly during the morning peak and for the last 15 years have wondered why and who the people were going bumper to bumper taking literally 45 minutes to do 1.5km to the city centre? It’s really crazy stuff.

This diversion will cause delays, but merely move them onto a different route which was somewhat quieter before this.

Nobody I know from D5 drives into town at peak hour, you’d be mad to before this and mad to after this.

I’d love to see a congestion charge put in next for the canals to only enter if you are a resident or carrying out a specific duty or public transport. Time for our city centre to be rid of people driving a single person to a parking space in town bypassing all the public and active travel options.

Great news this. Close it off for good bar public transport and taxis. They would need to increase the dart to every 10mins.

like who are these people? even my anti cycle lane friends I grew up with in D5 are all saying it's crazy etc but none of them ever drive to town. My parents never did. Yet we'll have angry gobshites all over the media saying it's causing mayhem for residents.