Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another young woman attacked by a male. When will it end?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Talking about hysterics ,

1 death , Tragic

2 random assaults and 5000 threads on boards ranting and raving about males ,

Girls not taking part in sports ,blame men

Girls not cycling to school ,blame men,

Girls not taking up certain stem subjects blame men .

Violence is a part and parcel of everyday life it doesn't matter whether its men or women committing it ,

Talking shite about licenses for men to socialise or classes for men on how to look at or treat women won't solve anything ,

We could give heavier sentences but guess what we don't have the room in prisons and what happens if a woman assaults a man ,give them a light sentence so much for equality

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

I'd imagine if I seen something like this happening that I wouldn't care if the attacker was only a teenager, a good smack in the jaw would do a world of wonders for little **** like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

To be honest am not interested in the way women and men feel about their safety. Attacks like this have always happened, and will always happen. I don’t see how and why I should have to contribute to anyone feeling safer.

My comment was aimed at the very typical and predictable media slant on this. Had we had a recent scandal on youth criminality this story would probably have been presented differently.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

We have mollycoddled a certain cohort of society’s for years telling them nothing is their fault or responsibility.

We have provided them with housing, benefits, supports, welfare, facilities most areas could only dream of etc etc.

Now we are seeing the result of all that.

Stop making life easy for these scumbags.

Make them realise if you want something you have to work for it.

If you commit a crime you do hard time no matter what.

3 repeat offences and it’s jail for 15 years.

They know they can get away with anything and still be supported from cradle to grave all cheered on by political parties.

Paul Murphy who actually said he was elected to break the law.

Fucken hell no wonder the country is vanishing down a toilet bowl.

All joking aside, these kind of threads really are important and help to keep men focused on the need to behave in a more civilised manner.

Consequently my 3 sons and I have not violently attacked anyone for weeks now! We're not looking for plaudits or anything, just taking it one day at a time.

We should all be against these scumbag men.

Everyone is. You're just refusing or unable to comprehend that blindingly obvious fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

To be honest am not interested in the way women and men feel about their safety. Attacks like this have always happened, and will always happen. I don’t see how and why I should have to contribute to anyone feeling safer.

That's your choice, but the question was asked as to how can men in general contribute even though they are not specifically carrying out the attacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

these kind of threads really are important and help to keep men focused on the need to behave in a more civilised manner.

Seriously most men aren't going to be reading this .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,314 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's the lack of facilities. Nobody would be attacking anyone if we have a virtual reality hyperporn park in every entertainment sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭jackboy

Men can do a lot to make women feel safer. Although most mature men do not cat call or street harass, a significant number of young men still do, especially when drunk. That can be significantly reduced.

Although that will make women feel safer the average man can do little to reduce violence against women.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

National service is so yesterday, what we need is an ultra violent reality game show.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭hawley

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

How is that case in any way similar to Aisling Murphy's murder?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭manonboard

Im shocked. In a world where 50% of people are male, that its almost like every second story you hear about is a man being the perpetrator. Im shocked. What are the odds.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

I ask myself what can I do to make any of this better, anyone have any ideas except to spout that all men need to up their game, any suggestions welcome

Jump in when you see bad behaviour happening towards a woman and then you can take the beating . Be grand.

Cold dead psychopath eyes and neck tattoo on the boyfriend. I wonder which man was arrested

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I hope the young woman is alright.

Hopefully those who are too busy getting offended can remember that someone was attacked.

As for the perpetrator, f*ck him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Two days before the tragic murder of Aislin Murphy in a callous, unprovoked attack in a populated area, Michael Tormey was gunned down in his own house while his wife and child were asleep upstairs in a callous, unprovoked attack in a populated area.

Was there a public outcry? No.

Were there vigils in every town in Ireland? No

Was the Taoiseach at his funeral? No.

Was the matter debated in the Dail? No.

Are people saying that they're not safe in their homes? No.

Is this the fault of an entire gender? No.

Did this attack hit a nerve of a particular subgroup who are constantly looking for a social justice cause as a means of furthering their online popularity and careers as "social commentators", "influencers" or "person with an opinion"? No...

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

We are in the EU and since that means we do what they tell us & unfortunately a lot of criminals have slipped into our country and with them another level of violence. My friend, a nurse has noticed that the violence against women is much more severe in the last 20 years. Men were not soo vicious towards women in the past but it is much more graphic and bloody nowadays particularity eastern europeans they just throttle their women and impressionable young lads see this and do the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,842 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Was there a thread started on Boards? Yes

Was the thread that was started about Aisling Murphy primarily done so to bemoan the fact that men were being asked to help keep women safe? Yes

Was the thread that was started about a poor kid who took his own life after being bullied very poorly contributed to by comparison to the above? Yes

Was Michael Tormey's death used as a stick to beat back those trying to talk about women and whether they feel safe? Yes. Absolutely.

Why do many use the CA forum as a place to bemoan those who try to advocate for their cause or safety and yet the same posters contribute virtually nothing in terms of how to positively impact the causes that they constantly bemoan affect men? Can you answer that one?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Own fault. But sure, blame it on the eyes and neck tattoos.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The 5,000 posts on boards seem to be mostly "males" ranting and raving, not people ranting and raving about "males".

Even this thread, seems to be 99% men arguing and complaining about being hard done by.

It's not even clear if OP is "male" or "female" as you cant assume lady is a woman poster. (male and female in quotation marks as most people just say men or women)

Post edited by anewme on

• Registered Users Posts: 13,110 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

No, but according to some around here and in the fooking media in this part of the world we white males are privileged and now to blame for every fooking male who is a scumbag or a devient who attacks females.

The only thing that surprises me is that the OP didn't go full right on modern liberal and set the thread title as "Yet another young woman attacked by a cis male. When will it end?"

And people wonder why the world is going to shyte.

Yes there are men and indeed boys that are very dangerous, hell I would say evil and no I am not religious but it is a good label to describe what some people are, both men and women.

Some people are just plain bad, no not suffering with a mental condition but plain bad.

And yes those men, boys and adults, should be removed from society for the good of all.

But would someone stop the absolute shyte that all men are at fault and it is up to all men to police the male population.

I would bet the same ones on about how males should do something, men are misogynistic would be the exact same ones arguing against leaving the murderers of Ana Kriegel in jail for the rest of their lives or throwing away the key on scum like Gerard Barry or Larry Murphy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

There is a world of difference between advocating for safety and the absolute drivel spouted by numerous talking heads, promoted by the media, who use this event as an opportunity to attack men, promote the idea that men as a gender are violent towards women, promote the idea that Ireland is not a safe country for women and capitalise on the fear they create to sell themselves and gain some measure of popularity and influence.

These recent murder were terrible, but honestly, the Taoiseach at the funeral, an RTE film crew at the funeral, press hounding the family, interviewing everyone and anyone who knew the poor girl. A crowd whipped into a fervour outside the garda station. Was that in an effort to advocate for safety??

The attendance at the funeral, the reaction to the event, even the crowd outside the police station (which I disagree with completely also) had all to do with the empathy people had with the fears that every woman in the country experience on an all two frequent question.

Can you answer the question as to why people put effort in to undermining that empathy rather than focused on real issues that affect their gender?