Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Yet another young woman attacked by a male. When will it end?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

There are a small but sizeable amount of feral scum who are a cancer on society. You don’t get rid of a cancer by trying to placate them. You aggressively destroy it. Chemo doesn’t give cancer “more facilities” or “prizes for good behaviour” to make it go away. It pulverises it.

Ireland needs the legal system changed to pulverise these feral scum. Lock them up for a long as is legally possible under UNHRC rules in prisons that just reach the benchmark for human rights, and keep doing this as long as they commit these crimes. No more money wasted trying to placate them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Great news !! Hopefully those numbers go up a bit so the streets will be safer! Right guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,728 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Am I right that these Kind of things have always been happening but it's just 'popular' and fashionable for the media to be reporting it?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭archfi

An outpouring? Are you conflating Twitter hell to real life?

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

I'm not too comfortable with the "what about men" attitude, but I'm equally uncomfortable with "women are victims" mentality.

It does seem every **** topic is crazy polarising at the moment.

No right minded person should see this news and immediately think anything but " what a **** disgrace, I hope justice is done" instead of "let's do a man Vs woman thread".

Violence against anyone is terrible.

i know you didn't mention consent. The point I am making is that any sort of "education" of that ilk, whether it be consent training, anti-violence training to teens or their parents, or any other sort, is not going to lodge with the target audience you need to get through to, because they are either not interested or incapable of taking it in.

The only thing that will affect people with such firm/established beliefs that they could commit such a crime, is prison time, and rehabilitation (although rehab isn't particularly effective). My point about education was more about getting to them before such beliefs are formed/established, hence the reference to better parenting.

Can you honestly imagine taking 10 scobie tracksuited teenagers into a room and preaching to them how they should respect people and not harass or assault them on the street? They'd laugh at you and probably throw a chair at you just to prove to you that they couldn't give a flying fuk about you, your opinion, basic respect, or anything else.

I've been a teacher... I have a fair idea what it would be like. People don't commit crimes, both because of general morality, and the consequences of committing that crime will destroy their lives/future. Most people are afraid of getting a criminal record because of what it will do their lives. Education plays a part in educating young people to understand the risks involved in such behaviour... however that education needs to be backed up with the threat of punishment for breaking those laws, and that punishment should be enforced properly.

What is also nonsense is more Gardai. Aisling, the girl in Kilkenny, or the girl in Cork would still likely have been attacked if there were twice the number of gardai in the force. Unless you have a Garda at every street corner and every canal tow path and every off-road footpath, then it makes no difference because these bastards don't give a crap about the Gardai and know that they will get away with nearly most things short of a life murder.

Agreed.

What is the answer? I don't know. Show me someone who does have the answer then?

That's the point though. For the last few weeks, all I've seen/heard from media reports is bitching and moaning about the state of Ireland, and that "men" or Male culture are somehow responsible for it all. Loads of vague statements that are never called up on, and checked for relevance, with most of the media encouraging the narrative. It's no different on boards, with the thrust of the discussions being that "men must do more", so while men are being held collectively responsible for how a minority behave, there's little to no interest in expressly stating what men should do, except in the most fantastical/impractical applications in society..

That's why I asked you for some answers, because this thread and your OP was more of the same. An invitation for posters to complain about men in Ireland, without any direction towards actually changing anything.

I'm thinking sentences should be increased and it might help some small bit, but that does nothing to curb those who are mentally deranged to do what they do because the have no empathy and are impulsive and can't help themselves.

Ensure that those with violent mental illnesses are not treated differently. Ensure that anyone who commits a violent crime serves their full sentence, and should they repeat their crimes, face a higher bracket of sentencing, with no chance for appeal. Let punishment be punishment.. and if needs be, put people who refuse to conform to social norms on violence, be put away for life.

Thanks. You provided some suggestions, and that's an improvement over many of the other threads... but I'd like to see more of that, rather than the pointless bitching sessions that have been going on recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,938 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

So why don't you, or the rest of the heavy contributors on this forum start threads with an intent to discuss those real issues in a meaningful way?

The vast majority of times those issues are mentioned on here, are when they are being used to undermine/negate a topic being discussed in a way that is perceived to be supportive towards women/minorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The media and the senselessly adversarial politics in at the moment have a big part to play in it.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭jackboy

I think there should be some sort of National service when people turn 18. Choices are go to college, get a job or some sort of apprenticeship, otherwise two years of National service. It should involve hard work and strict supervision to create useful citizens. Turning 18 and then just doing nothing with your life should be illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,457 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

To be fair, male on female violence has always "been a thing" too

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Thank god the gullible masses have another juicy bite that will keep them occupied for a few days. You got to love some reheated hysteria.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭helto

Why do so many men get so offended by pointing out facts like the huge majority of violent assaults and rapes are committed by men? We should all be against these scumbag men. We should be doing everything possible to stop these from attacking others. Men or women. There's a distinct smell of incel of threads like this. Women hating incels are growing in numbers. It's a very dangerous movement. We'll have more boys like the 13 year old in Cork or the 13 year olds in Kildare if the incel scumbags are let spread their anti women rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,021 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I spotted virgin media news reporting live from St Stephens Green this evening , another alleged attack and they went further, reporting on 2 , one punch attacks in Dublin.

I'm at a loss when any main media outlet reported a one punch attack in Dublin City, no details of Color, Ethnicity, Gender, Accent of the assailants released 🙄

No doubt Joe Duffy will be on the case tomorrow)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

There's a distinct smell of incel of threads like this

That's rubbish and you know it. Unless you believe that everyone should just shut up and accept whatever is told to them by the media, or by female posters/speakers. In which case, you're just as bad as incels, and proof that their twisted beliefs have some basis in reality. (which I genuinely hope is not the case)

What men have been offended by the facts regarding male violence? Nobody has been offended by those facts on the thread. It's the interpretation and linking of those facts to other opinions that has gotten many men to be offended. Just as your attempt to connect incels with "men" is offensive.. it's more of the same crappy narrative that seeks to make men collectively responsible for what other men do. Unless you're not attempting to link Incels and scummy men, to the male posters to this thread? It would appear that's exactly what you've just sought to do though...

We should be seeking to minimize violence in society, whether that's committed by men, women or minors of any gender.. not as a platform for pushing opinions against particular genders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

I hear this "national service" thing all the time. And it is pure and utter rubbish? The problems with it are this.....

1. The Defence Forces are, well, the Defence Forces. They are not a creche or reform school for delinquent youths, nor are they a rehabilitation service for those with mental or behavioural issues, nor should they be. (The defence forces would, short staffed and small as they are, would strongly oppose such an idea anyway).
    2. For those who's problem behaviours stem from any sort of inherent behavoural condition, or some sort of mental health condition such as pychopathy or low intelligence, or any other number of possible causes, 2 years in a barracks being roared at by won't make a blind bit of difference to them. if anything, it might make them even more angry and dangerous.
    3. For aforementioned individuals who have behaviour and empathy issues, difficulties with authority, and so on... Training them in use of small arms, and probably hand to hand combat? Is that really a good idea?

National service is an outdated idea, often rolled out by elderly British people. They had national service because of the wars they were involved in.

Some eastern european countries have national service type things, but that is largely a hangover from the Cold War, and they are still somewhat in more risky situations militarily than western side of europe and therefore there is a reason to have a population with some military training.

Using the army as a hard nose social services and mental health service is not the answer. It is ridiculous.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Is this not a thread about women being attacked the last few weeks in the country?

Why are the last 2 pages mostly about male on male violence?

I agree with Klaz we should be looking at violence as a whole in this country and the entirely outdated justice system that makes these vermin get away with crimes, over and over again...

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭helto

Another thread about women getting attacked turns into men crying about how they're the real victims. This victim mentality is straight from the incel handbook. It has led to multiple attacks against women in real life and we don't know how many of this latest spout of incidents are related to the movement.

What men have claimed that they are the "real" victims? The only posters I've seen claiming that are the ones complaining about men doing it.

And we have zero evidence that Incels or their beliefs have anything to do with these incidents.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Theres something seriously fucked up with this age cohort at the minute - 13-16 year old teens seem to have gone nuts - you only have to look at the news to see how messed up they are.

Id one of these little **** threaten to come to the house and beat me up because I told him not to be bullying on my 12 year old daughter - I took her phone off her one night when he was bullying her over some social media app - when I answered it and told him to stop he said he was calling over for a "knock"(I spoke about the bullying in another thread)

Thing is I lay a hand on him and Im arrested yet he instigated it.

They have zero respect for adults anymore - zero respect for the garda and honestly zero respect for any type of authority.

Growing up there were kind of rules we adhered to - you never disrespect an adult, garda or especially a woman - thats all gone now from what I can see. These lads have no issues beating up teenage girls...thats messed up stuff altogether.

They all seem to think they are hard men - toxic masculinity at its worst in my opinion.

In much the same way people get offended when facts about Islam are pointed out.

And if people were saying that all Muslims had to do better, it would be seen as offensive to blame or attribute guilt to the innocent for the actions of the guilty. (And rightly so)

If you changed the word "men" to "Muslims" or "travellers" and spoke about the disproportionate violent crimes or terrorism or treatment of women, would you be so willing to publicly declare that you didn't understand why so many of them were offended?

Most, if not all, men here are against the scumbag men. We don't appreciate being pumped in with them or told we are in any way responsible for their actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭MarkEadie

Agreed. Where is the empathy for the women being attacked? Very incel vibes in some posts.

How do you know the male doesn't identify as a female? Isn't that the world we live in today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,457 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Which ones specifically give you the vibes?

Quote them there so we can exhibit them.

Mine was here mark.

Where was yours? Or are you just here to shite on about incels or bang on about how racist/misogynistic everyone else is?

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭pauly58

If a child of thirteen can commit just an attack, something is seriously wrong. Posters ask what can be done : birch them.

I knew a guy, Rob was a tough fella as well, he got involved in a pub fight on the Isle of Man, he didn't start it but none the less he was arrested & sentenced to be birched. He told me, believe me, you wouldn't ever do anything if there was a chance you might get that again.

Give these scumbags ten strokes & if you get into trouble again then you'll get double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭AyeGer

True many don’t respect the law and why would they when very few of them get in trouble for anything they do. It’s a sad state of affairs. When I was at schools the worst behaved were often expelled. Now I think it is difficult to expel anyone from school. I don’t know if it’s connected to the anger and bravado these teens have but a lot of teens now are into body building, many taking creatine, protein supplements and even steroids. None of that would help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You've used the key word here. Respect. It just seems to be lost on certain portions of our population. Respect for their teachers. Respect for the law. Respect for their neighbours. Respect for their parents. Respect for strangers going about their business.

When you have no respect for yourself you certainly don't worry about respecting others.

You are right but I wasn’t talking about army, there are lots of other options. An able bodied young person should not be allowed to do nothing after finishing school for life. Only a small minority of misbehaving youths have mental health issues. Remember lots of these end up being parents in their 20s. Behaviour issues have to be tackled fast. I don’t see any other solution. Mental health services will not solve this.

I'm curious... what do you expect the vast majority of men, who don't behave this way, and don't socialise with such nutters, to do about it?

You asked this earlier in the thread. And then we had this post.

Now, do you think referring to an incident in which a woman was attacked in a somewhat jocular manner is appropriate? Thousands of women leave work or head home after a night out or any other normal activity and one of their primary thoughts when doing so is about their own safety.

And not every man who insults them or attacks them was born that way, but maybe seeing a tolerance of the belittling of womens fears led them to think they weren't actually doing something all that bad by commenting on their appearance, or whatever else they might do but then when the woman responds negatively, they may get angry an snap.

There's also another way to think about how men can act in a way to help the situation. Woman see the conversation going on around them and see the way their concerns are undermined if not outright dismissed. What do you think that does to how they think about things? Do you think they feel safer, I certainly don't think so.

Maybe you or the others who are adamant that they can not do anything to change the culture that exists could act by calling out such comments as those above when you see them instead of ignoring them and getting defensive because someone used a term you didn't like.

An Irish President, who as part of his/her campaign promises, offers full pardons to good citizens with no previous convictions, who batter the lard out of known scumbags, is whats needed. The feral scum would become the hunted on day 1 of that presidency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I’m curious OP why you refer to women as women and men as males?

For those who are outraged that a conversation about a serious incident once again includes conversations about society (and in this case, men) in general.

This picture may explain the reason the conversation moves beyond just the narrow focus of an individual case.

While understandably, the incidents at the top get the most attention, they are built on the occurrence of less serious but more frequent events. And in many cases a single engagement escalates through these phases.

I'm a man I don't have to worry about these issues at all really, but for many women they experience them either directly or indirectly on a frequent basis and a key part of why they are so concerned, in my view, is that they don't know if a singular experience or event will stop at that level or escalate beyond it and so they have to deal with that fear of 'where is this going to go'.

Wouldn't any man be similarly concerned if they were likely to be exposed to uncomfortable situations which could escalate and more importantly, which they feel very vulnerable within.

A lot of the time around this conversation, I think there is a focus from men annoyed that there even is a conversation who only point at the top and say that there's nothing they can do about it. Aside from the fear of escalation that women have, there is also the real case of an individual who is committing such acts escalating through the layers over time and so cutting out the acts at the lower end may in fact ultimately mean there are less occurrences of acts at the higher end.

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

So what is your solution? Consent classes? Social workers? Sitting down and telling these boys & men "Now you need to start thinking about stopping this violence business"

I think that it is quite a leap to outright accuse a poster here of contributing to women feeling unsafe and empowering men to go and assault women.

That's not on in fairness chief.

I didn't do that.

I pointed out that women who read that post will not feel that their concerns are being taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

When I was decked at random in the city centre I don't recall there being much said about it in the media

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Yeah, I don't think much thought goes into takes like that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Talking about hysterics ,

1 death , Tragic

2 random assaults and 5000 threads on boards ranting and raving about males ,

Girls not taking part in sports ,blame men

Girls not cycling to school ,blame men,

Girls not taking up certain stem subjects blame men .

Violence is a part and parcel of everyday life it doesn't matter whether its men or women committing it ,

Talking shite about licenses for men to socialise or classes for men on how to look at or treat women won't solve anything ,

We could give heavier sentences but guess what we don't have the room in prisons and what happens if a woman assaults a man ,give them a light sentence so much for equality

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

I'd imagine if I seen something like this happening that I wouldn't care if the attacker was only a teenager, a good smack in the jaw would do a world of wonders for little **** like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

To be honest am not interested in the way women and men feel about their safety. Attacks like this have always happened, and will always happen. I don’t see how and why I should have to contribute to anyone feeling safer.

My comment was aimed at the very typical and predictable media slant on this. Had we had a recent scandal on youth criminality this story would probably have been presented differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

We have mollycoddled a certain cohort of society’s for years telling them nothing is their fault or responsibility.

We have provided them with housing, benefits, supports, welfare, facilities most areas could only dream of etc etc.

Now we are seeing the result of all that.

Stop making life easy for these scumbags.

Make them realise if you want something you have to work for it.

If you commit a crime you do hard time no matter what.

3 repeat offences and it’s jail for 15 years.

They know they can get away with anything and still be supported from cradle to grave all cheered on by political parties.

Paul Murphy who actually said he was elected to break the law.

Fucken hell no wonder the country is vanishing down a toilet bowl.

All joking aside, these kind of threads really are important and help to keep men focused on the need to behave in a more civilised manner.

Consequently my 3 sons and I have not violently attacked anyone for weeks now! We're not looking for plaudits or anything, just taking it one day at a time.

We should all be against these scumbag men.

Everyone is. You're just refusing or unable to comprehend that blindingly obvious fact.

To be honest am not interested in the way women and men feel about their safety. Attacks like this have always happened, and will always happen. I don’t see how and why I should have to contribute to anyone feeling safer.

That's your choice, but the question was asked as to how can men in general contribute even though they are not specifically carrying out the attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

these kind of threads really are important and help to keep men focused on the need to behave in a more civilised manner.

Seriously most men aren't going to be reading this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's the lack of facilities. Nobody would be attacking anyone if we have a virtual reality hyperporn park in every entertainment sector.

Men can do a lot to make women feel safer. Although most mature men do not cat call or street harass, a significant number of young men still do, especially when drunk. That can be significantly reduced.

Although that will make women feel safer the average man can do little to reduce violence against women.