Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why is Dublin such a shιtty city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Nope, your just deciding to make things up now. I've walked around the area your talking about thousands of times and although it's not pretty I've never been attacked.

Honestly this thread should be nuked from orbit.

its so depressing to read. Just have a look about how you’re talking about our capital city ffs. Making up ridiculous lies about how it’s “so dangerous”

lads, I was just turned 18, skinny chap when I was with the now Mrs, we’d been to George’s arcade and I bought her a Pikachu hat (we like Pokémon, sue me) and we’re walking down temple bar if I recall correctly.

a group of people who I guess were junkies? Unfortunate looking souls anyway. But one of them yelled at the mrs she was a “carebare”. I was no having this & asked him what he said? You know, “sorry what was that?”

~~so anyway he came down and stabbed me~~

no wait that wasn’t it, yeah he squared up to me, realised I wasn’t afraid of him and fucked off with his tail between his legs muttering about how he “never said anything about ur burd”.

the city isn’t dangerous. Half the junkies y’all are so afraid of are soft and wouldn’t have the wherewithal to land a slap let alone the courage to attempt one.

honestly just a bunch of soft eejits who read the paper too much and don’t have any real life experience. My folks said to me once going to Dublin, themselves wouldn’t visit too often and live in the country, “careful you don’t get stabbed up there”. That was 12 years ago, I’ve been to Dublin 100’s of time since and never even so much as been scratched by a thorny bush, never mind stabbed.

ye need to grow up and get out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

Searching methadone cliinic on Google maps it looks like there are six drug /methadone treatment centers in the north inner city and at least two in the south inner city.

I'm familiar with Dublin inner city , it's always had a problem with addicts hanging around since at least the 80s. It's not the only problem it has but it's definitely held back things on the north inner side and it's sad to see things haven't improved much, apart from the docklands I guess.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It’s funny that you take methadone clinics as a bad thing. The more the better I say. I grew up in Killenaden in Tallaght, the methadone program opening there was a good send.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

I was getting a taxi from town down towards Sandyford recently and the taxi driver was telling me stories from his days "down the country with the culchies". Before I got out of the taxi, I finally asked him which county it was that he lived in, assuming that it would been somewhere like Kerry or Mayo. "Kildare" he says.

Most people would prefer not to be squared up to by a junkie though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Prominent_Dawg

Maybe people living in Dublin just haven't being fortunate enough to experience not having to deal with junkies anywhere & everywhere, I cant think of any other reason how they don't see it as a problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭DullSpark

Same, would rather not have confrontation at all in the first place.

Buildings are unattractive and worn looking. The city is dirty and littered with junkies/homeless. Whats weird as well is that all the scumbags up there wear top of the range designer clothes(predominantly fake) which adds to the cities tackiness.

However, outside of the city centre I would not feel like my safety is in danger and areas such as Dalkey and Dun Laoghaire are quite pleasant.

A metro system or more luas lines would definitely do the city a favour.

I'm not trying to trigger anyone but Limerick city is worse.

Cork is by far Irelands most attractive city and will compete with Dublin economically in the future

Post edited by DullSpark on

Dublin 2 & 4 are very nice. There are nice areas in the north side too, such as Howth and Phibsborough. Anything around O'Connell Street is quite dire though. The areas around DCU are awful too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,262 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The areas around DCU are awful too.

Which areas?

Not your ornery onager

Whitehall, Glasnevin, Finglas, anywhere around there bar Drumcondra is grim imo, especially if you use public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I do agree that tourists must be very disappointed and possibly anxious when in Dublin. I would also encourage them to head SW, W or NW when they arrive.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,222 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

my real life experience is being the victim of an unprovoked attack from behind by one...my head split open... that night in a&e every scum monkey skipping triage Q’s so they be in and out.

my real life experience is being with someone who was the victim of s similar fate but ended up in hospital and required surgery on their jaw / face... an attack from behind, unprovoked after we’d been watching a band and we’re going from one venue to a pub minding our own business.

nobody seeking to do harm to people on that or any similar level can be referred to as ‘unfortunate’..

Ohh and ‘nuke the thread’. .? Yeah brush it under the carpet..good man..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,262 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Finglas is miles away from DCU. The only area near DCU you could possibly have a 'problem' with is Ballymun, and that is a fair bit away from the campus as well. Must try harder.

Not your ornery onager

You're entitled to your opinion and I'm entitled to mine. I wouldn't live in Whitehall even if I were given the house for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,222 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You don’t know the area in fairness..

Whitehall is actually a very desirable and settled area... an older population in the main mixed with some property used as student accommodation for DCU... I’m from not a million miles away and have a friend living in crestfield and family in Lorcan. Never any hassle....

I lived there for a summer and I found it to be terrible. Car alarms going off 24/7, thuggish teens hovering around on their bikes the whole time, not for me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,801 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Well Jimmyvik, you were right to skulk off with your tail between your legs when the bets were on. You simply couldn't put your money where you big mouth was!!

Took the kids in to see the lights in the North inner city on Saturday afternoon (the streets that strike fear and anxiety in your heart), we survived. Did some shopping, got extended family & friends some gifts, we survived. Streets were packed, great atmosphere, lots of couples, kids, families, teens, foreigners etc... the usual mix. Went to the GPO (lol at people saying there's no nice buildings in Dublin) posted the Santa letters... Then we headed to KOH in the Italian quarter for food. Excellent food, value and service and we made it out alive.

Spent four and a half hours there and I can assure you we came to no harm, not even a hint of a threat, not a hint of trouble. The only rubbish was a few cigarette buts and two dropped masks, everyone else were using the bins provided. Garda presence was felt, a few walking on Liffey St. and another two on Capel street.

The xmas lights look great and it was good to get in to the city and support local businesses. I sincerely hope you read this and it helps you get over your fear and you can do likewise. Covid has been tough on city retailers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,273 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Is he supposed to just take your word for it, or do you have the live satellite images to prove it? 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

Except 8 of them in a small area isn't a good thing. If you want one next door to where you live go for it.

I'd hardly lie and say we were all raped would I?

Well no, but why would anyone take that bet when you can't prove if anything did or didn't happen? Shur you could have been accosted by several junkies. How would we know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Don’t you post some iteration of the above every week? Kids must be delighted traipsing around town all day Saturday.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Based in D2 now but I've lived in D1, D14, D4 and D9 for my sins.. From the West originally though.

I find it very strange that you’re so negative about Whitehall. It’s a grand spot.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,089 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

You can talk; as a peddle pushing vegan Dubliner who loves hating on rural one-off housing.

I never felt safe there for some reason. The area where I lived in D1 would have a far worse rep than Whitehall but I never felt unsafe, even when walking home at night.

Yeah, I bring them in a good bit. Not every week, once a month anyway, less so in the summer. They love the city centre, love getting food, trying new eateries and restaurants, love going to the shops, picking up a new pair of kicks with their pocket money, getting a juice in the juice bars, the younger ones love Bamba toy shop... etc.

But that's ok. Parents are allowed do this you know? I want them growing up knowing their city and their country, that's why we holiday all over the Island. Don't want them growing up like some of the clueless mouth breathers on this thread!

Streets were very busy (you should go in and see). Didn't even see one, let alone get accosted by one. (I admit this is unusual, but it was particularly busy)

He didn't take the be cause he knew well, as you knew that I wouldn't be harmed, that the city isn't dangerous and that thousands of people enter and exit the city without coming to any harm.

You're missing the point. Nobody is going to take a bet like that. It would be like me saying, I bet you 50 euro I won't hit any potholes on the way to work tomorrow. I can't prove whether I did or not, unless I had a film crew following me.