Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kyle Rittenhouse found not guilty

• Registered Users Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

It will be interesting if they can find anything to charge him with. It's seems there should be on the face of it. It's only when you look at the details, you see it's not straightforward.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

"There should be on the face of it"

"It's only when you look at the details"

These two statements contradict each other wildly. I mean whatever you do, don't let the details of the case stop you from making an assessment here. Or putting a kid away for life.

It's bonkers how some people can only ever see things from their very blinkered political / tribal vantage point. You can tell many people don't give a toss about the details of the case, or whether this guy is innocent or guilty. They only care about not letting the "other side" win.

It's a bit depressing how tribal and partisan society is becoming. We're supposed to be evolving and moving away from this mindset. Red tribe Vs Blue tribe. It's regressive nonsense.

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

You don't believe his conduct showed intent?

leaving his house with an assault weapon, going to a place where there had been known trouble in the days before?

What intent does that show, do you think? He wasn't looking to join a peaceful protest anyway!

the people most at fault are those adults who encouraged him and facilitated his going to this rally. He's only a teenager after all. Playing at being the big man.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,787 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Amusing to see Irish people on an Irish message board spout absolute shite like 'righteous kill'. It even sounds stupid the more you say it .

Facebook has a hell of alot to answer for the quicker it's demise the Better.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That’s it exactly, as they say “only in America”

he went into a hostile area that was none of his business armed. When in confrontation and self defence is required the only outcome is death or maiming.

he felt he was defending America , but in reality he was representing what would be perceived as a racist movement, racial tensions were high. He went uninvited into a racial hot zone looking like a racist, armed, it could only end in death or injury.

he was a feckin eegit and needs a sentence to soften his cough.

the medi kit is a joke, what would you imagine is most prominent in the dark a medi kit or an assault rifle? Approaching people saying “friendly “ with a gun in a riot with no uniform or mandate ? Chap is a prick

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

Hopefully he walks. Didn't look like acting to me poor chap awful thing to go through

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Any responsibility on the adults that attacked him that night?

It seems alien to us here in Ireland but in that part of the world people are allowed open carry legal weapons, including AR-15's. I think it's a but mental myself but I haven't grown up in that environment.

People have a right to defend property (not with lethal force) and ifbsomeone attacks you for doing that then they have the right to defend themselves (up to and including deadly force).

The video evidence and testimony makes it's very clear that this is a self defense case. There are also serious questions to be answered by the prosecutor ls office for their behavior before and during this trial.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Thank god some on this thread aren't on the jury, my god , they'd have him on death row ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Would the red line Luas be far safer if all the law abiding citizens were armed?

If having a gun is a crime only criminals will have guns.

The only negative to a heavily armed society is a much higher rate of gun violence.

Nope he was protecting business from violent mobs that wanted to burn everything down.

That whole "he wanted to kill people" is purely in your head.

Thankfully they should find him innocent - as would be fair

• Registered Users Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

The importing of american terminology and mindsets is nauseating.

But if it's the wild west, and everyone is waving guns around, then you better be prepared to use that weapon if you're pointing it at someone's head. Or be prepared that someone else is going to defend themselves from your act of aggression.

I think the problem here, is that some of these rioters were waving guns around like fake hard men. Trying to look cool and bad ass. But this kid wasn't going to wait around with a gun pointed at his head, to see if they were bluffing or not. There's plenty of people pushing up daisies, as we speak, who made that error in judgement.

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If he actually just set out to just kill people he could have killed hundreds with that weapon in a very short space of time

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

He was there protecting innocent peoples businesses, vehicles, providing EMT help to both innocents and scumbags. There weren't enough cops and the national guard/state police hadn't been called in. He lived fairly local, only 30 mins away.

If course, but just because they were wrong doesn't negate his wrong actions.

intent on his part was clear. There were more than one person wrong in this incident, including those adults not even present who facilitated him

30 minutes is a "great distance" now?? Jesus, I should charge work for the VAST distance I've to travel.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Businesses are insured , it wasn’t his job to be there

Wasn't his job nor was he asked to do so, nor was there any onus on him to become security for those businesses.

two wrongs don't make a right.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Confused11811

This 100%.

He was one of several people wearing firearms in full display in public. It's allowed in the state where this happened. Seems crazy to us but not unusual there.

He and the others where defending property from looters and rioters, this is allowed in the state where this happened.

Many businesses and property where damaged by the rioters. Large sections of Americans won't stand by and just allow criminal acts take place unchecked, they will rightly defend their neighbors and neighborhood from illegal criminal acts.

Some here have stated "he crossed the boarder" from where he lived trying to put a negative context on that action. While it's true he crossed the boarder you forgot to mention he lived in a boarder area with his mother, his father and other family members lived in the town where the rioters where causing criminal damage.

Video footage shows he only ever defended himself after being set upon and attacted.

The behavior of prosecution team in this case has been disgusting, they have ignored court orders and I fully expect a mistrial to be declared. This will deny that young man the chance of being declared not guilty by a jury of his peers educated with the full facts of the case and having seen all the evidence in court.

Hopefully the young man who's gone through such a terrible ordeal for merely defending his neighbors, his area and himself can fulfill his ambition of becoming a member of the police force and continue to defend society against criminals.

Does that make him guilty of murder ?

Again what matters is what happened , not the way he got there, or his political beliefs etc - and what happened was clearly self defence like it or not.

Video backs it up and so does police evidence

• Registered Users Posts: 8,518 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Didnt look fake to me.

Looked like a kid suffering from a mental breakdown / PTSD of some sort and someone who before he is legally able to sit and have a beer goes to bed at night having some bad nightmares about what happened. Rightly or wrongly he killed people and thats forever going to weigh on his mind. It looks like the prosecution are up against it.

The entire thing is a pity, people are dead and he who has lost any last amount of innocence of youth because of what happened and at that age should courting girls, having fun instead of being involved in all this.

The greatest country in the world

• Registered Users Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭HBC08

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

He said he wanted to shoot shoplifters in a video that the judge won't allowed to be played ,he was not a medic or EMT as he Claimed he went looking for trouble and shot and killed 2 and badly injured another ,

He didn't have to shoot them,he wasn't going to be killed ,he shot a man who was only released from a mental health service ,who only threw a plastic bag at him, he chose to go there armed ,he chose to get involved , choose to pull the trigger on three people including one where the gun Jammed and he shot again despite the third person having their hands raised .

He went to kill ,he was the only who killed that day , despite thousands of protesters and hundreds of armed gun nuts only he decided to shoot

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Confused11811

I agree :-)

He protected society from the illegal actions of the mobs and when they turned on him he defended himself with zero collateral damage. Only those committing crimes got hurt or injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭HBC08

• Registered Users Posts: 13,448 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

He is from very close by, word went out for people to help protect small businesses and homes from looters and arsonists.

Which they were successful in.

Guess he was there as part of working class solidarity.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ah. The whole thing is messy. One of those trials that's going to divide people. That said, he was a complete idiot for being there in the first place. Protecting some car dealership? Not like its own by a family member or what not. Not like he was getting paid to be there. Moron.