If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What are your thoughts on the fertiliser price s for 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,312 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Beef barons attempt at growing spring barley beside us with no fert and solely relying on 4000 gallons of finisher slurry hauled on a 30km round trip, this is rented ground hard to fathom why he bothered attempting this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭cjpm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭corazon

Fertilizers Piling Up at Brazil Ports Signal Further Price Drop

Stocks at Paranagua and Santos are full after record imports

Delayed purchases may create inland transportation bottlenecks

ByTatiana Freitas and Tarso Veloso Ribeiro

June 7, 2022, 11:23 AM EDT

A glut of fertilizers at the biggest Brazilian ports signals that the price of the nutrients may have to drop further before farmers start buying.

In Paranagua, private warehouses reached theirs maximum storage capacity of 3.5 million tons, according to Luiz Teixeira da Silva, Paranagua’s operations director. A terminal operated by VLI Logistics, one of the two at Santos port that store fertilizers, is also full, according to people with knowledge of the matter who asked not to be named as the information isn’t public. 

Fertilizer prices soared to records after the war in Ukraine sparked fears of a shortage. Brazil imports nearly 85% of its fertilizer and Russia is the main origin. As supplies have normalized, prices have declined over the past weeks, but farmers still aren’t buying. They are waiting for further price cuts, according to Marina Cavalcante, an analyst at Bloomberg’s Green Markets.

Prices drop since April amid weak demand, ample near-term supply

“Farmers have the expectation that prices will keep falling after declines last week and in the previous one,” she said. “So they’ll wait for further decreases to buy.”

Brazil is the world’s biggest shipper of several crops, including soybeans. Farmers can delay their purchases until the eve of the soybean seeding in September. But if they all wait too long, a last-minute rush could lead to inland transportation bottlenecks that may leave some of them empty-handed. 

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-06-07/fertilizers-piling-up-at-brazil-ports-signal-further-price-drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Here is an interesting one. Urea has only a six month shelf life. Product over six month from manufacturing should be considered waste

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/farmers-warned-about-shelf-life-date-on-urea-based-fertiliser/

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,004 ✭✭✭straight

CF fertiliser plant in UK shutting down due to energy costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,311 ✭✭✭alps

Definitely not correct.

Farm leader searching for something to make himself relevant

If anyone want to send discounted 6 month old product this way...send it on..will pay commission..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Protected urea has 6 month shelf life, nomal urea is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭ginger22

but that only relates to the protective coating. It is the same as unprotected after 6 months, fertilizer value remains the same.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

CAN drops €100/ton according to this week’s Journal. Don’t all rush at once!

33118177-DAB7-494C-A2E6-D5E0654286CC.jpeg

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,080 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Got a price a good bit lower than the glanbia price quoted in that article, not off glanbia. Going to buy a bit to have in storage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Urea fine. Protected urea not so much. Some of the cheaper 18's and cut swards have a version of protected urea as well but not the approved version apparently.

Anyone get quotes for 18. 6.12 got one at 940

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Grueller

Yes alot lower

No. Under 800. I think hold on for a bit . Over 850 is too dear

I didn't actually realise it was so expensive. I bought CAN before the war and it was a rob at 700 euro. Forgot about it after that and just trying to stretch what I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Ye will hopefully keep in shed until next spring. Still have some of what I bought earlier to use. It used to be a grainstore, so should be OK there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,311 ✭✭✭alps

Still one bag left here from last year...standing at €265..😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Grueller

Spread the last bag I had at that price on Monday. The rest came in at €685

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,638 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Fert usage way down this year. What's with the growth I'm wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Fine Day

It will be from now on we will see grass growth dropping off. Will many be out with the shaker to encourage it on abit. Lads with cows will have no choice but too. From what I see around here most people are putting it out to near enough the same as last year including myself, granted I probably will be back abit come the end of the year. Nice showers about today wash down the slurry and fert I have out. Grass is getting tight hopefully it will tip on again. Light land here so dry weather does not suit us for long periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Weather has been good, most lads held off on jan and Feb applications and are using urea instead of can and cut sward. People are respecting slurry more and are reducing to 20 units an acre rather than a bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Packrat

A wet summer might save a lot of lads.. although its depressing for anyone trying to save hay.

Which is what I think we're getting.

We're spoiled with dry ones recently but grass growth was poor.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

What ever about fertiliser prices. Won’t meal be 600 a ton next autumn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Fine Day

There is alot of grain left from last year unsold in Ukraine. If that could get moving then that should bring down prices but if it they flooded the market then that may kill the prices for this harvest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

They aren't expected to get it out though.

They were going through the logistics of it. Epic, and never mind it's a war zone.

I don’t think it will get moving quickly though. A lot of that has been lost as well.

Wheat is up 50% year on year. Will have to be a lot more expensive in the autumn. Even consider shipping costs. Turkey is looking to demine a section of the black sea to get grain out. Of course it’s Russia again negotiating with Turkey.

All the big exporters are out of play to a degree or completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,614 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Higher CO2 levels aid increased growth. More lime spread and indexes levelled up.

Grazing ground here I'm at 15 units N on half and 30 units N on other half so far this year.

Never in my life have I been able to achieve this before. How?

Foliar spraying, seaweed, fulvic acid, molasses, (you can laugh ), magnetised water, and now the most recent addition - Humic acid.

I spread a bag and a half of 10,10,20, gypsum, sea shell, burnt lime, also. And using a bit of slurry, dung so far.

Surprised what can be achieved when one applies themselves. I've carbon measurements from last year and I'll soil sample again next winter to compare for my own curiosity. Hopefully I reckon should increase.

I've a plan maybe depends to feed, feed grade humic acid from a dept approved company to the cows mostly to get more value and carbon, nutrient retention, enhancement, methane reduction. But that still depends on factors.

"When you step off the beaten track it's surprising what's there".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,855 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Savage interesting as always …..have u tried spraying milk to grass yet 🤔🤔🤔one or 2 on Twitter at it and from I’m seeing results seem impressive …..really really interested in this but I’ve no sprayer and am on the hunt for one to try some of these foliar applications