Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kin - RTE & AMC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,116 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

It really is 😁 I'm just amazed that the makers of this , didn't think when looking back and editing before releasing, maybe we should start again 🙄

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭superflyninja

I really like the actors and Charlie Cox's accent is brilliant. Im enjoying the show but it feels very small scale, with relatively few locations.

Last night's was ok and yeah full of plot holes. But the one I have to comment about is the lads going out to see Michael's daughter dance. Going out in the first place not a good idea, going to Michael's CHILD's performance ffs...puts a giant target on her. Also they spot a tail quickly and still go to the dancing.

The icing on the cake though was Jimmy standing in plain sight outside the centre. No helmet on, no facial covering, not even a fake moustache :)

Standing there bold as brass. He sees the assassins coming and what does he do? He TEXTS Michael. What? Seriously????? He could have guns on him any second and he is standing around outside TEXTING someone to come out? No mention of possible gunmen or anything. FFS that really got me tut tutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,545 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Agreed, that was the laziest of the lazy writing (and there was a LOT of lazy writing!) - no excuse for it.

The storyline is reasonably good (so far) but they're stretching reality and the viewer's credibility to the absolute last. Could nobody involved see how crap it appears in the final product??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Wolff

It was the O'Casey centre and the shots of the motorbike and car in the lead up are all in and around East Wall all right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,753 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The amount of times the camera pans on Amanda just gazing with a blank face into the distance is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭De Bhál

think they learned this trick from the Peaky Blinders... numerous shots per episode where the camera zooms in on Cillian Murphy's face as he stares blankly into the far distance. No reason for it.

In this series there is, infuriate viewer's and get less and less into each episode 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I was rewatching the earlier seasons of Love Hate, I forgot how good Gillen's John Boy was. It was a bit off in parts but generally a mad character and interesting, his character is so dull in this.

Last week episode was a bit better, a bit of tension created while the hitmen were following Jimmy and Mike on the bike, I liked the face off with Hinds and Amanda too but that was it. Hinds is really working his best with this tripe. The heist was a total let down, I thought they'd go in armed to the teeth and steal the gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Hinds and McErlean are believable terrible pity their opposites are a total joke

this could have been so good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Me too. I can hardly believe they thought “this will do”. It’s so, so bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

Just watched the first few episodes there. Absolute rubbish. The writers should be shot.

The “intern” as you say is one Peter mckenna. He wrote red rock and the clinic - real quality here eh...

Big article in Irish times last week where was bigging himself up and absolutely delighted with the script....

It’s basically just to waste time and fill up and pad out the episodes.

I saw that, it was in the Deluded section I believe 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

That was at least the 2nd pi$$ing scene from Jimmy. Maybe next time we will get to see him taking a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jimm

We almost had another in the "I need a fuc#in' pi$$" scene, when him, Michael and Amanda are eating a Chinese takeaway :)

Post edited by jimm on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Thought it was daft they let yer man just walk away after the 'heist' ......a big player for someone they just declared war on ...shooting him would have bought some time as to who stole the stash (I know it's not a nice thing to do but they're not meant to be 'nice' people) , weaken the enemy by doing away with his right hand man instead they let him go to tell all and plot any retaliations ......

and Mike's episodes with epilepsy are becoming a bit too reminiscent of Tommy in L/H after he had his head bashed in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,252 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Thought it was funny that on a busy stretch of road yer man had time to park a jeep and trailer across it, wait for Amanda and then Eamon rolls up to have a 5 minute talk with her yet there isn't another car to be seen when there should have been about a mile of a tailback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭French Toast

Would love to see more of Ciarán Hinds, perfect cut of a baddie about him.

Not a whole pile to say about last night's episode. The bit of tension around the almost-shooting scene was good. So far the fact that Frank is secretly gay has had zero consequences. Will be interesting to see how/if this is developed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

What's the point of Birdy? She does absolutely nothing of any importance, maybe there's something planned for her but it seems like she's in the show just to make up the numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭rob316

He's not secretly gay, Eamon called him a queer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

No I really thought when they focused in on Amanda clipping a cable into the car added so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

After the heist, surely a real gang would have made Con and the son disappear, to at least make it look like it was Con that crossed Eamonn and not leave another senior gang member who would want them dead, at any cost.

Also, think there will be a big 'twist' when we find out who actually killed Mikeys wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Funny how Frank is saying Viking is stupid and has no brains yet he's there swiping on Grindr when he's got a target on his back. Eamon knows he's gay so they could just catfish him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Or, shoot people peripherally connected to the writers, but continually warn the writers they've crossed a line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

pretty obvious amanda did it and mikey is covering

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭qwerty13

The ‘ going to look into the distance in a menacing manner’ is just crap. I’d love to know if the actors are trying to compensate for a crap script, or the direction is misguided, or the cast are just well, miscast.

Its very hard to believe in any of them as a crime lord family. They seem like a boring family, who are bored by their own criminal activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭archfi

I stopped watching after episode 3 but decided to catchup.

If the viewer is meant to be on a 'side' in this shítshow, I'm on the massive cnt Eamonn's side.

The sooner every single one of the Kinsella characters is blown away the better.

If it's to go on to a further series the Kinsella cast need to go away.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.