Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Anyone hazard a guess if our game is likely to be televised on RTE or the dreaded GaGo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭crusd

That is why it is vital we finish top. A "home" preliminary in the confines of McHale park against a Tyrone / Monaghan would not be something to look forward to. A QF at CP against those same teams is a different proposition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Its funny, the pitch didn't look half as bad in the flesh, I was amazed when I saw the TV footage.

Hard to know what to make of Sunday, in one way we were leading by 5 points with three minutes of injury time played, we had kept them at arms length for the match, it meant we had the buffer to concede the goal.

The flip side is that a lot of teams now have shown the template to frustrate us, Louth gave up the kick outs and retreated back. We've a bright backroom team so you'd hope they are working hard on this before we come up against Tyrone or Galway but this has been an issue for us for a long time.

I'd expect us to beat Cork, especially in Tullamore or Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Definitely a weird game. We were in control with a 5 point lead with about a minute and a half left and I would have said we got the job done, even though it wasn't pretty.

That said, I felt we were laborious at times and scuffed goal chances yet again (we seriously need to work on this, it will be the difference between winning and losing a big game yet). The lack of shots from distance too is a concern. Nobody seemed too confident on that front and there was a lot of lateral, dull play.

The goal concession was a very silly lapse in concentration. I thought it was one of Reape's poorer games in terms of his positioning at times. Jordan Flynn really struggled to get into it too and was coughing up a lot of possession. Sideline was a little slow making changes too imo, we needed the injection of pace sooner given the shape the game took.

All in all, nothing much to be excited about, even though we still got the win Still lots to work on. Other teams are definitely going to play to this template against us down the line so we really need to start using our imaginations a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Was just going to post my thoughts, but you've summed them up there.

1. Too lateral playing along the 45 against a blanket.

2. Nobody to take on the long shots.

3. No working the ball inside, and when we did, a fisted point was taken rather than going for goals.

I don't think we have that player to be taking on long points consistently, so we better start getting a bit more adventurous and trying to work the ball inside. I was extremely impressed with the way Derry set out to work it inside and go for goals vs Donegal.

A couple of goals goes an awful long way to winning a big match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

Very surprised if its Tullamore. Pretty sure it'll be Limerick, 1pm throw in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I'd have expected it to be in Ennis, that's where we've usually played Cork and even a glance at the map shows it as being roughly halfway. The smaller ground there would make for a much better atmosphere than having it in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Ennis would be great, small tight venue with a full house, be a good atmosphere but no it'll be Limerick with a half empty stadium or worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,637 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

When is venue being announced?

Listened to half of the Ah Ref pod over the weekend, yer man Colm McNally is some bluffer:

"what advice would you have for Mayo this weekend"

"I think they should just get rid of the hype"

Lord Jesus, it's the kind of shite Spillane would have come out with 20 years ago and it was pure scutter even back then 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Genuine question - who is Colm McNally. I did a quick google. I saw his name popping up in a few hits, but no background on who he played for.

I don't see any hype. I see ups after some nice wins, and then downs after a bad performance, and then ups again and so. And a nice excitement building, as the Championship progresses. At this stage, we all know that if Mayo get a win or a draw against Cork, they will top the group. And that will bring us straight into the last 8. It's not hype, It's jut hope and excitement. Nothing wrong with that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

apparently jersey launches are hype according to the lad.

that podcast is good at times but it’s starting to sound like the one of lads are taking themselves awful serious, they seem to have a very high view of their own opinions at times.

Think it was the first podcast of theirs that I gave up on half way through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭eastie17

The 4 Cork supporters will be grand, they'll all be coming in the same car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭eastie17

coached Meath and a few others. He made alot of sense on the podcast, except for that comment on hype which was like something a 12 year old would say in the early 90s. Its as dead as "Meath never give up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,386 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

You hear those digs all the time in fairness. During the league was bizarre. We win a game and the first question McStay gets asked afterwards is how can a lid be kept on everything?! Moyles on off the ball every week was saying the same thing about Mayo need to be careful about getting carried away.

Nobody can give an example of this hype however!

Then we lose to Roscommon and apparently their manager reckons they were being disrespected beforehand! It's mad the nonsense people will make up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Apparently having flags up (which they tend to be up all year around) is “hype” too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

There are not many footballers who can bang a ball over the bar from distance. I think others are afraid they will have this in their stats if they miss. Its all about possession now and getting the correct man in the correct position to fire it over the bar. Its all calculated risk now and this is starting to make the game very disappointing to watch. The crack Louth were at... well that is another level and I hope they never win anything playing that rubbish.

Paddy Durcan came in and basically fired over a shot after taking on two/three guys. He had enough of this pissing around with the ball(some call it lateral playing!!), well that is what I took from what he did. We need to open teams who play this game early on to make them play ball. Carr's pass to Oshea was dreadful and it would have opened up the game if O'Shea nailed it.

I expect Cork to play something similiar but not as negative. We always struggle with Cork so I think this game is not a formality. I must admit and I thought his day was done, but O'Shea has been brilliant todate, but the real football comes from once we get to the last eight. I wouldn't be overall concerned with our display last sunday as it would be harder to get excited about Louth and the heat of the day would be energy sapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭HBC08

There was a brilliant atmosphere in the GG in 2017 v Cork and there was only 10k at it (all from Mayo)

One of the best atmospheres I remember with Mayo!

I'd be happy with any of Ennis,Limerick or Tullamore.

Limerick it is, Kerry Louth is in O'Moore Park. Both are 2 pm kickoff.

Looks like the TV games on the Sunday will be Mayo/Cork and Galway/Armagh at 4 pm

Slava Ukrainii

I didn't mean that in a negative way, there are indeed very few forwards in the country that can do it. It just that we don't have one.

I get the impression that McStay is less about the stats / gives the players a bit more encouragement and freedom. So I don't think it's a fear thing. I think it's something we need to put the work in on in terms of patterns of play.

We do need to open teams up but running into a good blanket defense doesn't work all that often, not if they're doing it right. Some teams have shown how you can (hand or short kick) pass into a packed defence and unlock it. Derry did it very well at the weekend where they overloaded one side, got the ball in close to goal and then switched to the other side where there was space created... We weren't making those kind of movements at all. It was over and back the 45 for far too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Apologise for leading y'all down the Tullamore rabbit hole, blame Willie Joe. I see Kildare Roscommon is going to be there, thought that might be the other leg of the 'double header', certainly makes more sense as the venue for that clash.

Limerick is a more logical venue for Cork-Mayo, although it obviously suits them better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭crusd

There was a few Cork lads giving it the bitter “I hope ye f*ckers are thrashed next day out” etc etc as I was leaving that day. Almost as if they were goading lads to react. And they weren’t young lads either. As toxic as I have seen from opposing supporters. Nearly as bad as some of our lads leaving the same venue 3 years earlier.

Limerick is a fair enough location although I doubt it'll be a great atmosphere in such a big stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Well fuppit anyway....a Mayo game on my doorstep but I'll be in France for it 🙈

Anyway I guess most people are familiar with the place after recent visits but feel free to fire questions my way.

I'd advise parking in the Jetland, and if the weather is anyway half decent head for the open stand...been at a bunch of games this year and the Mackey Stand is not a good place to watch a match from...poles restricting views and if someone over 6ft sits in the row in front, you won't see a thing.

Was in the open stand for the Lim v Cork game the other week and it was a zillion times better

Poles restricting views... Practically a home game so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

All that's missing is the concrete benches 🫤

The design of the Mackey Stand is appalling...JP poured millions into the stadium a few years back but neglected to add any elevation to the stand.

And it's cold in there no matter what the weather so layer up

JP has nothing to do with that stand. The new seated area accross the way was build 15-20 years ago but they could not get planning for a stand there

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭HBC08

My experience of the Mackey stand is that the elevation isn't good and there are some poles but the noise that can be generated in there is something else.

See Mayo v Cork in 2017 and Mayo v Galway in 2019.