Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome to the new Boards.ie platform - Version 1.0 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

That and the 3d forum were not moved into their own categories obviously because of getting ready for the new platform. They have not yet been activated on the new platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,383 ✭✭✭smuggler.ie

I second this sweetener proposal. Alpacas for all.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I've had another look at the imposter site, some familiar name but I'm not convinced they're all the same people ....

@Wibbs I think someone wants to be you! 😮😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,316 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That imposter site is just a joy to use!!! I've been poking around it as a visitor just because I can, sooooo easily.

Not subscribing just yet, I read their privacy statement and it's not entirely clear who's behind it (mind you, I signed up to boards without knowing who was behind it, but it was well established and reputable by that stage.....)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,425 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Glaceon

I've seen several impostor sites spring up over the years but generally as a protest against the moderation style on Boards. They tended to allow any discussion (even illegal) and didn't last long. I don't get that vibe this time.

phpBB is a much more traditional solution than Vanilla which seems to be a "reinvent the wheel" type of system.

edit: I see they’ve implemented a verification system for usernames.

Post edited by Glaceon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭trellheim

is there some reason I cannot see the categories drop down menus ? Did they not carry over so I can get to my forums ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭mossie

This is one of the big issues for me, no drop down of categories, my forums etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,176 ✭✭✭✭klose

Getting as many ads when I log in as I used to get when browsing without being logged on, wouldn't mind but it's an ad banner every 3 or 4 posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Cant ignore a user who has a private profile.

I'm getting to the end of the road with this new site...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

For the love of god, bring back the 'My Forums' drop down menu and make only threads with unread posts bold.

Forget about the backend for now and make the changes that users are requesting before it's too late and too many posters leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,316 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I noticed that posts on this thread were about to tip over the 1,000 mark, having been started on 15/7 (so five days ago) - and I had a look back through it.

There have been a grand total of 7 posts from Odhran or Niamh since it was started, 5 of those were in a flurry from Odhran on day 1, then two from Niamh on 16/7, and total silence since.

I absolutely get that it must be busy in the hamster cage (understatement of the year, right there!), and we're not going to get a back-and-forth conversation with the backroom staff, or anything like it - but given the sheer numbers of people floundering (myself included) trying to use the site, others who are better techies offering solutions and workarounds (only some of which make any sense at all to luddites like me), and the sheer level of frustration being posted over and over and over again, I'm wondering have they just run away screaming into the sunshine???

(I'm hoping that there isn't a post from one of them that I've missed, but will magically appear in an hour or two out of nowhere in the middle of the thread!)

was there feedback from mods this morning or i missed? Or is there nothing to feed...

The Vanilla crowd are probably having breakfast now after weekend off so we might hear from Odhran or Niamh later. Really poor communication to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

imposter site?

pm please

Can’t selectively edit parts of quoted posts to reply directly to certain points or split post up into multiple quotes to address separate points

Can’t access “find all my posts” or “find posts that quote me”

Search function is banjaxed, but it’s been like that for 15+ years but at least we had the dropdowns for each category

When you hover over a post, it shows you the first couple of lines of text (usually). This doesn’t seem to be happening on all forums for some reason

First line of said hover preview showing lines of HTML code or something similar beginning with “insert”

No dark theme

Clock/time is also banjaxed, though may have been rectified over the weekend

Certain characters in post titles showing up as Unicode (https://boards.ie/discussion/2058114670/third-secretary-development-specialist-campaign-2020)

Multiquote is very counter-intuitive

Haven’t seen any polls since the update, are they gone too?

Lastly, and most importantly, NO COMMUNICATION FROM ADMINS!!!

Seriously lads, there’s been very little in the way of “we messed up, we’re trying to get everything sorted, please bear with us while we sort it out”. It would go massively towards generating a bit of good will. Keeping everyone in the dark just looks like you’re circling the wagons. Where’s the back and forth gone, it looks like one way traffic from where I’m sitting?

I can't understand how it was allowed to go live like this and I hope your legal team are having a word with whoever was in charge of the transition. It's been a sh1tshow and if it is allowed to go on for much longer the long term damage may be permanent. Does anyone have any stats for traffic or footfall before/after the update?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Can we have the option to switch off drafts?

Pain in the arse feature and I'm constantly having to delete drafts because I often start something then notice the conversation has moved on or realise I was going to post sh!te.

Wake me up when it's all over.

Stats, as was already noted, are frozen since the day of "Pandora's box" was open (15Jul2021)

image.png

The bar at top in mobile needs to remain visible when you scroll down. Likewise the forum "breadcrumbs" trail on desktop. Drop-down menus for "My Forums" and categories need to return. All basic navigation / usability aids. Any plans for these to return @Boards.ie: Odhran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I don't even believe the stats were that high when "Pandora's Box" opened up.

Wake me up when it's all over.

Sure not, numbers most likely carried over with the move and might reflect stats from the DAY boards.ie were closed (permanently ? 😲)

https://boards.ie/statistics but who am i to have access to it 😃

Post edited by smuggler.ie on

just had a look at that impostor site and it looks like it just mostly all the posters banned from after hours, current affairs and soccer forums on here and it will just be a total crap show of bitching about boards and posters on boards.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Plus their connection isn't secure.

Looks dodge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Glaceon

There is a HTTPS version but has to be manually specified. Should be set to auto redirect.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.