Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Forgotten Irish 'Fashion' trends from when you were a teen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,478 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Bassfish wrote: »
    Tell me I'm not the only person who remembers the t-shirts that would change colour when heated?

yeah we covered that one, global hypercolor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭appledrop

I remember Miss Sixty yes, there was a shop in Covent Garden when I lived there, are they still a thing?

Don't think so anymore, although I do notice flared jeans/ trousers are coming back in with teenagers.

They look horrified when I tell them I used to wear those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,478 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

appledrop wrote: »
    Don't think so anymore, although I do notice flared jeans/ trousers are coming back in with teenagers.

yeah noticed that girls are wearing bell bottom type things these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

iamstop wrote: »
    What trends do you remember and shudder to think back on? What trends do you still do or think could still be decent today?

I remember when 'step' haircuts were a big trend. Sorta silly looking now. Never looked right on me with my cows lick fringe anyway.

Bomber Jackets.

Doc Martins

X-Worx Jeans

LA Gear

Blacktorn shoes. Remember those yokes?

It is very long ago but we used to tightly sew up the inside seams of our jeans and you had to wriggle into them and lie on the bed to zip and button them. There was no stretchy denim, these were hard core times. Topped off with a big baggy jumper stolen from yer Da.

Bassfish wrote: »
    Tell me I'm not the only person who remembers the t-shirts that would change colour when heated?

What no way! Never heard of these.

I do remember we were obsessed with mood rings that
    supposedly changed colour with your mood but really it was just change in temperature.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Crazy-haired trolls on pencils.

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Crazy-haired trolls on pencils.

Stop!!!!!!! I had loads of these for all my pencils in school.

Lads this is a great thread, a trip down memory lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Barry McGuigan tashes among some fellas. Continued into the 90s as the wacker tash. Largely disappeared post 2000.

Was it not because of Mark Spitz?

Now for the ultimate collectors item..........swapping neighbours cards.

If you had the ultimate card of Charlene and Scott's wedding you got about 20 swaps for that one card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Mid '80s. Every teen wanted or had fingerless gloves.

Massive craze at the time. For some reason they were called Mittens.:confused:

I remember it seemed pretty much every teenage/college age girl from middle class backgrounds seemed to wear Canterbury tracksuit bottoms, coloury cute socks, and boat shoes. It was just the most bizarre combo, I haven't seen it in years though.

"Tell me you went to UCD without telling me you went to UCD"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

They'll be even more horrified when they hear their grandparents use to wear them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Those heavy army surplus coats.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Global Hypercolor t-shirts.
    That stupid curtain style haircut boybands had in the 90s which became popular.

Also the blonde tips. Held in place with Brylcreem. Either the black one or the red one. Never the blue one!

Those heavy army surplus coats.

Ah now.

That shit was cool. My eldest brother had an "army surplus" German parka which was probably made by some company in Northern England, but they still looked great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Tips on boot soles. Clickty click

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Parka jackets

Mid '80s. Every teen wanted or had fingerless gloves.

Massive craze at the time. For some reason they were called Mittens.:confused:

You can thank Madonna for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭blackbox

Afghan coats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,411 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Girls with bottle tops on their shoe laces, Bros fans!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Combats. Loads of pockets and dangly bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Proper snorkel jackets. The ones when you zipped up the hood you could only see in front of you.

KKkitty wrote: »

And those army canvas bags for school bags.

Anyone remember when paisley shirts for lads was a thing? I blame the Smiths. :rolleyes:

And those army canvas bags for school bags.

Anyone remember when paisley shirts for lads was a thing? I blame the Smiths. :rolleyes:

Sure do remember the paisley shirts usually worn with jeans with the ends rolled up and I can't think of the shoes but they were usually saude and coloured.

Floppybits wrote: »
    Sure do remember the paisley shirts usually worn with jeans with the ends rolled up and I can't think of the shoes but they were usually saude and coloured.

Like these:

https://www.amazon.com/T-U-K-Unisex-Adult-Creepers-Anarchic-Creeper/dp/B077NMH1B8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

On the subject of Docs most had 7-8 laceholes. In secondary school around early 90s the heavy metallers had the Docs with the uniform trouser legs tucked into thick grey woolly socks (usually made by Rehab at the time ) and folded down around the top of the boots.
    The year head and vice principal were constantly going around every morning telling lads to cover their boots.
    I had a pair of 10 hole Docs but wouldn't wear them to school as they were too hot.

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Meeoow

Ra ra skirts and leg warmers.
    Perms, Mullets

Mid 90's when the ladies started wearing FMB's.😀

Anyone remember the brief (no pun intended) of girls copying the Luniz video?
    Jeans hanging low and thong pulled up to show it off with a white belly top. Maybe a pair of (fake) Ray-Bans to go with.

I got 5 on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,411 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Think they are were called crepes, someone mentioned them earlier, also called brothel creepers if I remember right.

I see your pair of combats, and raise you combats with detachable legs, which can become shorts.

Wore a pair of these to a wedding circa 2002, they were mostly zips... absolutely deserved to be kicked out/ ostracised forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

There was a weird phase mid-90s where what I can only describe as "goth boots" were very popular and not just by the eye-liner crowd either. Big black boots with inexplicable bits of metal in them/out of them

Snorkler jackets.

Used to zip them all the way up and pull them up over your head so it looked like a headless person wearing them. 80s kid.

Combats, couldn't remember the name of them!

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

theteal wrote: »
    There was a weird phase mid-90s where what I can only describe as "goth boots" were very popular and not just by the eye-liner crowd either. Big black boots with inexplicable bits of metal in them/out of them

New Rock Boots. They weighed about 17 kg each!

I remember sailor collars on shirts and dresses made a brief appearance around 1987.

I see your pair of combats, and raise you combats with detachable legs, which can become shorts.

Wore a pair of these to a wedding circa 2002... absolutely deserved to be kicked out/ ostracised forever.

Hilarious, did you turn them into shorts when the party started?

I'd say the bride was giving you dagger looks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Wore a pair of these to a wedding circa 2002, they were mostly zips... absolutely deserved to be kicked out/ ostracised forever.

Puffa jackets with detachable sleeves....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

In the 80s, fellas were considered the height of cool if they wore a mullet hairstyle, tight acid/stone washed jeans, biker leather jacket (tassels on the arms optional) and pointy toed cowboy boots!

I also remember a brief period where PLO scarves were a fashion must have. Most who wore them never heard of Palestine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,284 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Boys had 'rat's tails' hair cuts.

Does any woman remember circa 1995, there was a trend of materials with luminous coloured fruits?
    Like a psychedelic coloured green blouse with limes printed on it or bright coloured oranges? All in a shiny polyester material too.

The Levi jeans of the 90s were the ultimate status of cool. You'd automatically look at someone's ass for the little red tag.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,851 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

theteal wrote: »

They were doing the rounds up to the mid 00s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,851 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Late 90s multi coloured Hawaiian shirts, Levi’s jeans and Nike/Adidas runners. Height of cool at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shockframe

Hi-Tec Footwear
    Big Asics/Adidas equipment shoes
    Bandanas
    Baseball caps worn backwards
    Rich kids coming back from the states dressed up like NBA stars + Starter Jackets
    Man Utd home shirt with CANTONA 7 on the back. Collar always worn up
    Reebok sweatshirts with Polo Shirt underneath
    Country lads head to toe in Tommy Hilfiger (The HORROR!)
    Kappa on account of Britpop
    Those horrific multi-coloured t-shirts like you would get in Aussie Soaps circa 1992.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

Eclipse jeans (wouldn't be seen dead in a pair of xworks jeans) :D. I remember there were loads of shops on Liffey street/ilac shopping centre that specialised in baggy jeans and matching baggy hoodies (unique boutique, magic etc.)

A bit later on: the perfect naker drinking outfit: O Neills tracksuit bottoms with the zip at the bottom. You'd have to rip the zip to get the desired flared effect. Complete the look with a sleeveless body warmer over an overpriced hoody that you wore every weekend.

Being tactical with school shoes - a pair of platforms could double up as 'going out' shoes at weekends.

'Sun in' to get the orangey blonde look.

Mood rings.

Ironing your hair.

Cheap Argos jewellery.

As has been mentioned, tracksuit bottoms with rip off buttons. I loved the kappa ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Tracksuit bottoms with popper buttons all up the side.

I think they were made from polyester or nylon materials from what I recall. I love those materials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

After or before (can't remember) eclipse & x work jeans were levi 501 which you had to have and cost a fortune.

We could only afford Lee or wrangler jeans so I wasn't in with the 'cool' crew.

I forgot about the Levi's/wrangler/Lee/Pepe jeans craze! And the accompanying hoodies with the branding going down the arm, and the checked shirts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

Male:
    Those weird vinyl-looking grey shoes with black drainpipe trousers. Bonus points for white socks.
    Slim-jim ties
    Shirts with tiny collars
    Shirts with grandad collars
    Cowboy boots
    Jumpers with wide horizontal stripes from Dunnes.
    Baggy jeans (but not worn at half-mast like today)

Female:
    Black "pixie boots"
    A black somethingorother that looked like a cross between a coat and a short cloak, usually worn with jeans. (It looked nicer than I'm describing it.)
    Hair with a fringe below the eyebrows that had the (I assume unintended) effect of making the owner look a bit thick
    Baggy jeans
    Tight jeans

Male & Female:
    German army parkas
    Clogs (really)

(Late 70's/early 80's)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,284 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Oh my gosh, yes Sun In!
    I was a victim of that craze in my 5th year at school except I went with the strongest one and turned out blonder than a Swede.
    I lashed the spray all over my scalp and I still remember the stinging sensation, probably should have done a patch test!
    I remember the nun who taught me French making a comment about "le blond" student.
    Piz Buin I think was the brand.
    Another craze for girls was dowsing themselves in Impulse deodorants especially the O2 one.

To thine own self be true