Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you buy booze for teenagers?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

nobody wants cans anymore... its all about bags of weed and white

Not for all, there is a well know teen drinking spot near me and on a summer evening out for a walk I often meet them carrying a box of cans or bottles fair play because its at least a 2k walk for them, it's popular because it's a bit private if only they would clean up after themselves it would be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Only if they buy me drugs in return.

Once you hit 30 it’s hard to keep up to speed with who has the best, um, speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,832 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mariaalice wrote: »
    Not for all, there is a well know teen drinking spot near me and on a summer evening out for a walk I often meet them carrying a box of cans or bottles fair play because its at least a 2k walk for them, it's popular because it's a bit private if only they would clean up after themselves it would be grand.

The empties would be lighter than what they drew in, lazy sods.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

I used to, but stopped once they all became walking, talking surveillance machines who think getting you fined would be a great prank. You can't trust a bunch whose first reaction to every non-event in their lives is to automatically start recording and chucking it on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i bought them beer, alcohol free beer gave it to them and legged it before they realised:p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

fryup wrote: »
    i bought them beer, alcohol free beer gave it to them and legged it before they realised:p

You know the weird thing.. you'd probably still get done!

I've bought na beer a few times and still can't put them through the self checkout without waiting on 'approval'.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

On the scale of creepy things an adult can do to random children, buying booze for them is just below giving them porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,962 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I don’t like the idea of having a hard date for drinking to start, it seems to encourage binge drinking. Parents are allowed to serve drink to their kids, assuming they’re responsible about it. I was fortunate in this respect, in that I was allowed small amounts of alcohol well before I turned 18, coming home from school and playing snooker at the local miner’s club (in South Africa). Snooker works best if you don’t drink a lot. So it wasn’t “no drink … no drink … no drink … all the drink” when I turned 18.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

No, but I have never been asked to be fair. I must look like zero craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I kinda regret buying it tbh, I didn't even care about looking cool, I just for that second thought that all my mates drank at that age and are fine now. Some good memories were probably made last night. But my conscience isn't clear. Won't do it again.

Tbh after me banging on about it (although I was messing with the "cool" comments), its not like if they wanted drink they couldn't actually get it. If you never, someone else would. If they never last night then they would tonight etc. So no point feeling bad about it.

Prohibition will never work, but there should be a little more effort from society and the gov in general to promote more responsible alcohol use (and I don't mean full on "nanny state" control either). But right now alcohol is way too accessible and too many people are sleepwalking into long term drinking problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I actually handed him the vodka and was like 'drink it responsibility bro' I think making it a taboo adds to the binge drinking culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Nope

• Registered Users Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

Some little scrote asked me to buy him cans years ago when I was walking past our local shop with my missus and our then baby daughter in the middle of the afternoon. I politely said no and he tried to square up to me and started shouting "why not?".

I'd never had the urge to bitch slap a young fella as much, just told him to fvck off and walked away although I'd love to have given him a clatter. Brass balls on him.

Glazers Out!

Do they still do undercover sting operations? Or was that in England?

I remember somewhere done them and I thought at the time it was a bit entrapment-y

• Registered Users Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

• Registered Users Posts: 13,834 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

km991148 wrote: »
    Proper order to restrict the sale to kids.

Sorry, use of bad was inappropriate there, more lax is what I should have said. And I agree with you.
    km991148 wrote: »
    Do they still do undercover sting operations? Or was that in England?

I remember somewhere done them and I thought at the time it was a bit entrapment-y

It's not entrapment per se, you're not making someone to do something illegal with the intent of catching them, you're testing them to ensure they're following law. I think with a child being the purchaser, it's not seen as such. It's a strange one alright though. I can't think of any other way to test offies to ensure they're not selling to minors, aside from setting up a "sting" outside each and every offie, which isn't plausible.

I think the best way to describe it would be on a drugs offence, a Garda can ask anyone if they have drugs on them (a Garda can ask anyone anything, but they can only demand certain things), but if an undercover Garda kept onto a lad to go and get them drugs, that would be entrapment. Sending a kid in to test liquor licensing laws isn't. Somehow.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

No. I drink it for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,700 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Not for random strangers. Not in a million years.
    For my own 17 year old, in a limited capacity, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭1874

is it illegal to supply some scrote with 0% alcohol beer?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,407 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Discovered this recently which I always thought would have been illegal but apparently not...
    It is also an offence to give alcohol to a person who is under 18, unless it is in someone’s home, and the child has the consent of their parents.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/alcohol_and_the_law

• Registered Users Posts: 7,700 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Discovered this recently which I always thought would have been illegal but apparently not...

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/alcohol_and_the_law

FYI for me that link returns an error

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

I've never bought booze for teenagers. I've only been asked once or twice, many years ago when I wasn't long out of my teens myself and sometimes got ID'ed in off-licenses, and politely declined. Seems to me teenagers of today aren't into booze. They're into mad stuff like steroids, working out, fake tans, cocaine, crack, Facebookinstagramtwitter and gender reassignment surgery. In my day we were happy out with a few flagons of cider in fields, and dancing at the disco bumper to bumper.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭sporina

Honest answer, no. Even though I know they are gonna get it somehow.
    And yeah, mates and I use to ask those of age to buy it for us.. but I dunno.. it just wouldn't feel right..

Mind you, with the way things are these days, they would probably sue you if you did :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Risk getting sued by one of their Karen moms if anything happened to her little darling?
    Not a hope.

Not my problem, wait a few years lads and you can explode your livers all you want.

Basically this! If their parents found out I was the one responsible for buying them booze then I would be screwed. It's better to risk an earful of abuse from some disgruntled teen than to feel the wrath of the law on top of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Yes and i keep it in my fridge and drink it on them.
    And when my wife complains, i say its not my beer , its our sons beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭sporina

Risk getting sued by one of their Karen moms if anything happened to her little darling?
    Not a hope.
    sporina wrote: »

Mind you, with the way things are these days, they would probably sue you if you did :pac:
    Basically this! If their parents found out I was the one responsible for buying them booze then I would be screwed. It's better to risk an earful of abuse from some disgruntled teen than to feel the wrath of the law on top of you.

WG didn't see you previous post - but thats exactly what I was getting at..

• Registered Users Posts: 15,832 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Yep. Plus I'm not really all that interested in being a cool sound dude acting all down with the kids, all hi 5s and fist bumps.