Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you buy booze for teenagers?

• 28-06-2021 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭

If a group of teens ask you to buy them cans or some spirits, would you tend to say yes or no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I wouldn’t buy drink for underage people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

No, never.

Of course as a teen I asked everyone until I could get away with it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Normally I'd say no but depends on the mood. We all did it or at least we did if we were cool enough to have friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,047 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Not a chance with the calibre of gobsheite/gobsheitess out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Not anymore.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Normally I'd say no but depends on the mood. We all did it or at least we did if we were cool enough to have friends.

Yeah, but tbh it's pretty fu*ked up our attitude to alcohol.

Nothing to do with how cool or not my peers from decades thought I was.

Besides, who could be arsed dealing with teenagers outside an off licence.. all risk for no gain.

Unless you want to look cool to the kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

I do. 'Twas booze that got me through that period of their life. The Doc. would not prescribe me anything. Always buy booze for the problem of having teenagers on your hands!

Edit: I may have misunderstood this question.

km991148 wrote: »
    Yeah, but tbh it's pretty fu*ked up our attitude to alcohol.

Nothing to do with how cool or not my peers from decades thought I was.

Besides, who could be arsed dealing with teenagers outside an off licence.. all risk for no gain.

Unless you want to look cool to the kids?

Yeh my fragile narcissism took hold and I bought some booze for some teens earlier. I always thought they asked like early 20's to go get them drink, not some old lad? I must look ancient to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not since I was a teenager, I was the tall one with facial hair in the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭RulesOfNature

I did it when I turned 18 and my classmates were still 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

Never been asked. Must look like a narc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

No never, turned down some people

Now Im thinking I should have took their money and bought myself booze with it instead though.

1874 wrote: »
    No never, turned down some people

Now Im thinking I should have took their money and bought myself booze with it instead though.

Did that before when I was younger. Bad craic.

Yeh my fragile narcissism took hold and I bought some booze for some teens earlier. I always thought they asked like early 20's to go get them drink, not some old lad? I must look ancient to them

Maybe you just look cooler than you give credit for?

More seriously tho - they wouldn't ask early 20s these days, it's anyone looking under 25 that gets ID'd.

I did it when I turned 18 and my classmates were still 17.

Oh yeah, correction.. I did do it as a teen..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,380 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Wouldn’t want it on my conscience if things turned south so no...enough shîtheads of age and with legal ability to procure alcohol and then cause misery for others without me bringing immature kids into the frame..

Also, I don’t waste my time either going shopping for people who I’ve no connections with...if a person handed me a fiver and asked me to buy milk and bread they’d get told to fûck off unless they were elderly or were afflicted with a disability...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Tilden Katz

Not a chance. I don’t want some teenager’s stomach pumping to be my fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

What happens to the teens after the purchase would be none of my business, but I wouldn't simply because unlike when I was a teen (late mid 90's) the attitude towards alcohol wasn't as bad, and the Garda would just give out to someone for buying booze for the teens (and most likely taking said booze off teens and drinking it themselves), whereas now the Gardai would most likely have to take action because nosy neighbours and cameras, and it's a €5000 fine so feck that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭spring lane jack

Got Weed for some teens in Amsterdam last year. I felt proud to be able to help a few locals out. I refused a few French teens a couple of years back though as they were a bit too young and too annoying. Cant remember last time I got drink for teens but I do remember being refused in the offie at the end of Shandon Street as it was obvious the drink wasn't for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Not a chance. Even if there was no issue of morals or the law, what benefit is it to me? And being nice isn't a strong reason, there are plenty of other nice things to do that rank much higher. It's almost always an older relative of someone that gets booze for thirsty teenagers, not a stranger.

kowloon wrote: »
    Not a chance. Even if there was no issue of morals or the law, what benefit is it to me? And being nice isn't a strong reason, there are plenty of other nice things to do that rank much higher. It's almost always an older relative of someone that gets booze for thirsty teenagers, not a stranger.

There's a tenner in it for ya. How bout now oji-san?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I’d feel bad if I didn’t? Here’s your change; boys get liquored up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 BarleyPie

Did it in the past for my younger brother and his friends. But I'd never do it for randomers.

I would buy it for them if they're 18 or 19 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Risk getting sued by one of their Karen moms if anything happened to her little darling?
    Not a hope.

Not my problem, wait a few years lads and you can explode your livers all you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

Nope. It must be over a decade since I've been asked anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Never been asked, I must look like I'd take the drink or money for myself. I was always surprised how many people would agree to buy our drink when we were kids.

nobody wants cans anymore... its all about bags of weed and white

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Yes I would.

assuming they are 18 or 19:P

unlike when I was a teen (late mid 90's) the attitude towards alcohol wasn't as bad,

See, I know this is AH etc, and I'm going to sound like a boring f**k but I don't care.. I don't think it's a case of the attitude to alcohol being 'bad' now, I think it's far more appropriate, and probably still too lax in a lot of cases.

I and many of my peer group started drinking young. I could sometimes get served at 15/16, almost guaranteed by 17 onwards and was drinking much younger.

Easy to work out how many of my peer group are drinking too much now. Lots of people in their 40s etc do. Many people are alcoholics but won't even think they are (but are definitely heading towards health problems).

Proper order to restrict the sale to kids.

nobody wants cans anymore... its all about bags of weed and white

Not for all, there is a well know teen drinking spot near me and on a summer evening out for a walk I often meet them carrying a box of cans or bottles fair play because its at least a 2k walk for them, it's popular because it's a bit private if only they would clean up after themselves it would be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Only if they buy me drugs in return.

Once you hit 30 it’s hard to keep up to speed with who has the best, um, speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mariaalice wrote: »
    Not for all, there is a well know teen drinking spot near me and on a summer evening out for a walk I often meet them carrying a box of cans or bottles fair play because its at least a 2k walk for them, it's popular because it's a bit private if only they would clean up after themselves it would be grand.

The empties would be lighter than what they drew in, lazy sods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

I used to, but stopped once they all became walking, talking surveillance machines who think getting you fined would be a great prank. You can't trust a bunch whose first reaction to every non-event in their lives is to automatically start recording and chucking it on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i bought them beer, alcohol free beer gave it to them and legged it before they realised:p

fryup wrote: »
    i bought them beer, alcohol free beer gave it to them and legged it before they realised:p

You know the weird thing.. you'd probably still get done!

I've bought na beer a few times and still can't put them through the self checkout without waiting on 'approval'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

On the scale of creepy things an adult can do to random children, buying booze for them is just below giving them porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I don’t like the idea of having a hard date for drinking to start, it seems to encourage binge drinking. Parents are allowed to serve drink to their kids, assuming they’re responsible about it. I was fortunate in this respect, in that I was allowed small amounts of alcohol well before I turned 18, coming home from school and playing snooker at the local miner’s club (in South Africa). Snooker works best if you don’t drink a lot. So it wasn’t “no drink … no drink … no drink … all the drink” when I turned 18.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

No, but I have never been asked to be fair. I must look like zero craic.

I kinda regret buying it tbh, I didn't even care about looking cool, I just for that second thought that all my mates drank at that age and are fine now. Some good memories were probably made last night. But my conscience isn't clear. Won't do it again.

Tbh after me banging on about it (although I was messing with the "cool" comments), its not like if they wanted drink they couldn't actually get it. If you never, someone else would. If they never last night then they would tonight etc. So no point feeling bad about it.

Prohibition will never work, but there should be a little more effort from society and the gov in general to promote more responsible alcohol use (and I don't mean full on "nanny state" control either). But right now alcohol is way too accessible and too many people are sleepwalking into long term drinking problems.

I actually handed him the vodka and was like 'drink it responsibility bro' I think making it a taboo adds to the binge drinking culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,045 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Some little scrote asked me to buy him cans years ago when I was walking past our local shop with my missus and our then baby daughter in the middle of the afternoon. I politely said no and he tried to square up to me and started shouting "why not?".

I'd never had the urge to bitch slap a young fella as much, just told him to fvck off and walked away although I'd love to have given him a clatter. Brass balls on him.

Glazers Out!

Do they still do undercover sting operations? Or was that in England?

I remember somewhere done them and I thought at the time it was a bit entrapment-y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Proper order to restrict the sale to kids.

Sorry, use of bad was inappropriate there, more lax is what I should have said. And I agree with you.
    Do they still do undercover sting operations? Or was that in England?

I remember somewhere done them and I thought at the time it was a bit entrapment-y

It's not entrapment per se, you're not making someone to do something illegal with the intent of catching them, you're testing them to ensure they're following law. I think with a child being the purchaser, it's not seen as such. It's a strange one alright though. I can't think of any other way to test offies to ensure they're not selling to minors, aside from setting up a "sting" outside each and every offie, which isn't plausible.

I think the best way to describe it would be on a drugs offence, a Garda can ask anyone if they have drugs on them (a Garda can ask anyone anything, but they can only demand certain things), but if an undercover Garda kept onto a lad to go and get them drugs, that would be entrapment. Sending a kid in to test liquor licensing laws isn't. Somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

No. I drink it for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,995 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Not for random strangers. Not in a million years.
    For my own 17 year old, in a limited capacity, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

is it illegal to supply some scrote with 0% alcohol beer?