Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Comerman

https://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/gaa/1838128/latest-lyng-offers-fresh-injury-update-on-kilkenny-s-eoin-cody-ahead-of-semi-final.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Save the click:

"Eoin (Cody) is available for selection again so he's come through the last few weeks, he's done well and worked hard. Even in the run up to the Leinster final, he was pushing hard," he said, adding, "thankfully he's come through now."

Will a few of the lower Hogan/Cusack tickets come back from the clubs this week or am I better just buying the upper Hogans on Ticketmaster now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Village87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

It's looking like it'll be close to it.

Should be a good atmosphere for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭me89

Good upper hogan tickets on sale now so should get 60k if that's open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Comerman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭blackcard

Hopefully our subs will be able to make a better contribution than the last couple of years. Stephen Donnelly, Luke Hogan, Killian Doyle, 2 of Blanch/Deegan/Tommy Walsh/Shane Murphy and Mackessy may see action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭neverbet

Jack O'Connor spoke for many when he challenged critics within the county to coach an underage team or get involved with a development squad. When Dessie Farrell retired from intercounty he became involved with the Dublin west under 13 development squad . We know where that led. We tend to constantly do down those that give up their time voluntarily both on and off the field for the betterment of Gaa within our own counties while we lionise those that go outside and are well rewarded for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Grats

Like a lot of posters I left this site months ago but couldn't resist responding to your very apt post. You're totally correct and well done for posting your view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Absolutely, the criticism on here of underage management teams has being a bit much. We are guilty of talking up our young players on this forum way too much. When they lose it is always managements fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Would completely agree the criticism of young 16/17 year olds is also over the top

No player or member of management ever goes out to make the wrong calls on the line or play a bad match for Kilkenny

We are all guilty of jumping the gun a bit after matches myself included

A bit more balance and perspective is probably needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭tibruit

Were you not one of the more vocal critics of Brian Cody on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

When a management team loses an All Ireland final playing against a team with 13 players for a lot of the match, people are well entitled to criticise them.

I wouldnt have any criticism of the minor management team this year to be fair, but how last year's minor final was managed from the line was seriously poor and it says a lot about the county board that the same people were reappointed following such a debacle. There's actually no other word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

The criticism of the minor management team last year was entirely justified. To oversee a final, in Nowlan Park against 13 players for most of the game, with opportunities to regain momentum at HT, FT and ETHT - and not have the ability to impact or influence the game is simply not good enough.

Not only should the management team not been ratified by the CB (Which speaks to the lack of ambition and acceptance of standards below what should be accepted) the management team themselves should have been able to reflect on their own performance, accept it was an enormous failure and not sought reappointment.

From a Kilkenny hurling perspective, I cannot recall a worse management performance than was displayed that day. It was nothing short of pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 seaweed1

365 days later still harping on about an underage defeat,,,,somehow maybe tipp had a better team then, were you a the preceeding challenge games, maybe the players were not quite up to it then,,, maybe just maybe it was the greatest learning experience those kids will ever encounter . It was a fantastic occasion, drama, mistakes top quality tackling,,,,,,,as compared to Saturdays minor final,, fair play Waterford,,,,,, hope they can calm de jets as it’s only u/17

Finally I’m tired of the bitter attacks on minor management,, the manager runs one of the best primary schools in town, he is a brilliant principal and all the kids, families appreciate his tireless work and decency, also if folk only knew what he did for players behind the scenes when there were issues.

Get on with life, nothing ventured not gained

The u20 Management this year in the all Ireland final was as bad. Still frustrates me thinking about that match. But that is society nowadays, everyone is great and any critique is going against the fantasy world we think we are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,176 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I actually think the opposite: nowadays everyone feels qualified to critique what other people are doing regardless of whether they themselves have any qualifications or expertise in the subject, and the anonymity of the internet allows them to do it in an unrestrained and damaging way, safe in the knowledge they'll never have to face the person whose hard work they are denigrating. But that's a debate for a different place!

But that doesn't mean the management shouldn't be the subject of criticism. Certainly last year's minor final was poorly managed but at some point people need to move on. It's clear to me that the minor management improved a lot this year, and by your own account Waterford were a fantastic team this year who we were within a puck of a ball of leveling with.

Not sure what was frustrating about the way the u20 team were managed in the final this year. Seems to me we were beaten by a much better team, I'm not sure what could have been done differently that would have changed the outcome, the main idea I've heard on here is that we should have been raining ball in on top of our full forward, which is exactly the kind of tactical approach we were highly critical of under Cody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 njcat

Looking forward to a 50/50 game on Sunday. I think the team is performing at a higher level this year and will peak on Sunday. This year, Thomastown were not involved in the AI club after 2 Leinster games and Ballyhale and OLG players are well rested.

Like all round robins (world cup rugby & soccer) ourselves and Cork played for 30-40 mins in every round robin game and then relaxed; risky but necessary in conserving energy for the SF & F. For example we beat South Africa in the last WC round robin game; got taken by a peaking NZ in a QF and a later peaking SA beat a peaking France in the SF and won the final v NZ. Why don't pundits understand the similarities?

i am hoping that Cody is in the form of his life; that Mullen is at least at 90% (up from 60-70% last year) - he did well to recover from the Wx 2023 nasty hand injury. John Donnelly is doing well after his Wx 2024 thumb injury & surgery but best to hope for 90% of his best form. Mossy and Billy have come on a ton this year and are dangerous forwards. Stephen Donnelly has been a big addition with his ball winning ability and work rate. Cian should excel on Sunday as should Jordan Molloy; those two are our aces and give us an edge in MF. Mikey Butler is back to his best. Tommy W has clearly worked on his speed and running; his 2023-24 strength training was needed for dropping high balls on Lk's big FFs but he was getting taken by fast corner fwds in the last 10 mins. I expect he has solved that problem and I liked seeing him at HB and going fwd in some games this year. If not Shane Murphy is a great choice. Huw is the best in the country. Mikey C, Paddy D, Blanch and Ritchie R should peak and have a few extra gears when needed.

Tipp look good and are young and promising. Sunday will tell if they have more in the tank after expending so much in the league, RR and QF.

It should be a great game. Best of luck to our lads.

Team I would go with

Scruff

Mikey, Huw, Shane Murphy

Blanch, Reid, Carey

Jordan, Kenny

Donnelly, Ryan, Mullen

Mossy, TJ, Cody

Deegan and Tommy Walsh subs in the backs

Killian Doyle midfield sub

Stephen Donnelly, Luke Hogan forward subs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭me89

Absolutely no chance of Paddy Deggan not starting but agree with the rest

I actually think he will start too. I admire a lot about Paddy, he always gives 100%. Then he gets the ball, steadies up and looks around him and passes the ball to an opposition player in acres of space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭hogans heroes

Paddy keegan has been very good this year and has to start IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 kilkenny123456

A poster on here mentioned it and I heard it from somebody else too but what’s the story with Brian Cody?

Are we strong enough at midfield to exploit Tipps weakness in midfield ? Time will tell. Very hard to have a strong opinion on the game, no idea where Kilkenny are at. If we lose we are becoming an aging team, probably 7/8 of the team will be over 30 next year. I think Kilkennys need is greater and might be enough to squeeze a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Kilkenny are further ahead in terms of maturity and big game experience. Most of the players have played in 3 or semi finals and 2 finals. The occasion won't phase them but there's a lot more pressure on kilkenny to win whereas tipp are in bonus territory.

Great to have a kilkenny tipperary game to look forward too. We are probably due a win although that's no guarantee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Box to box

It's very hard to defend what has gone on recently with underage management. What happened in the park last year was shocking. Mick fennelly went down to give advice and was told to f off. This year fair and square bet by a better coached hungrier team. Again we didn't play to the players strengths with the ball that went in.

It was flagged here for weeks 2 years ago in the u2o that the half back line was as slow as a wet week.. Wexford knew this and went after it. Fair enough first year people learn from their mistakes but to do the very same thing the following year was shocking. Offaly wing foward had 1-2 after 20 mins. We had a center back who was miles out if his depth.

The management teams couldn't belive they got reappointed again. If anyone made a boo boo in work or weren't reaching targets would their job be under threat? Anyone there that night will tell you the way it was done was scandalous. Even the way the senior management was appointed without any opposition. No interview process or other candidates given the chance to put a team together to challenge.

I hate to sound negative but all this is the truth. Getting the bear minimum from glanbia. Refusing the electronic scoreboard that tipp couldn't belive they were getting. There's a reason herity,Tom mullally,Brian dowling,Nigel o hara,Nigel Skehan all went to different counties

I'm absolutely fully behind kk and every team that wears the jersey but the players absolutely deserve better. Managers are selected that suit the way it's ran. Chairman selection just a musical chairs. What kk desperately needs is a Michael duignan figure. Someone with innovative and progressive thinking. Pj Kenny is a nice fella but absolutely out of his depth so the question is why was he selected. Here is a interview he gave earlier in the year. This is the guy that Is the face of kk. Approaching wealthy businesses people to get sponsorship. Duignan Approached sponsors and bought loads of juvenile tickets at a reduced rate and got bus loads of kids to the u20 final. This is the guy selling the kk brand,getting new sponsors,bringing things to the next level. Gettting as much sponsorship as possible,getting the best management for teams. Thinking outside the box,progression,innovative all those key words

I don't know how long more things like this can go on but as many here have suggested clubs need to get together and demand a huge root and branch

Should be a good crowd at the match Sunday. The talk is eoin Cody will start. We Could see deegan at 4 and blanch on the wing. Its either that or Murphy at 4.KK will have learnt from the league. Tipp will come out pushing and shoving so it's vital kk are ready for this and don't do anything silly because any dig of a hurl and a lad on the ground could be a lad sent off mcgrath and forde are the 2 men. Butler could pick up forde.they will want to try keep the ball away from lawlor

I'd expect Connors and maybe Tynan to try disrupt the two lads who have being hurling very well. Mullen has disappointed on a few big days so it's crucial we get a bit game out of him. Mossy has done very little training. We need a huge game from donnelly who hasn't being going great. Billy is having a great year so now is the time for these lads to stand up. There should be no lack of motivation from kk. I would b very worried about the puckouts. Tipp will squeeze up on the puckouts.lets hope this has being worked on and have a plan. I believe there's goals there and we have to be clinical and not like last year. Tipp will also pull richie around and try exploit the space in the middle.

This is probably the last throw of the dice for this team. This is more or less the very same team as Cody had. Molloy and donneklly the new comers altho Cody and blanchfield could be close. This tipp team is coming and there's much more pressure on kk to win. This team is 5 or 6 year on the road with alot of big important losses. It's now or never for this team so the very best of luck.

Hopefully A good kk crowd will go but as i said much much more should be done to get as many in as possible. Hopefully supporters get in early and support a camogie team in transition.

21 mins 30 sec

https://open.spotify.com/episode/0PxsNPKJrSB51rVS5bxIOo?si=Tprortz7QBez4rB4IW1Qog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,176 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41661578.html?fbclid=IwY2xjawLRnCxleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHnBDaNisLgjvdAimVky7mN0zc6o3FD-VjJzENAF8WhSRZmRNiN-60qn1R-BS_aem_ZXvEasuernR1p0MQHwR3Eg

Hard to argue with Hogan here: it might only be one match but the reality is the pressure is on our lads to perform. It's been basically the same core of players for a good few years now, they've not had great results against the top Munster sides, and of course we don't have any all Irelands, so the expectation is on the players and even more so on the manager.

Hard to know in the long run what kind of haul of underage players we'll get through to senior, but the reality is we haven't gotten enough the last while and combined with the results at minor and u20 this year, rightly or wrongly right now the feeling is there among fans that now is the moment to push on and win with this group, because the future feels very uncertain in comparison with tipp (again, that's just the feeling).

The normal reaction of management in these situations is to pretend that the pressure isn't there, find some way that the other team is the favourite. My feeling is that if we are serious about winning an all Ireland we need to embrace that pressure and that expectation. The last few years we really have looked like the fuckin bridesmaid a lot, and we should be looking to stand up and be counted, say **** it, we're fuckin kilkenny and we're not ok with playing second fiddle to a shower of Munster teams. The best kilkenny teams always knew the expectation was there. Hope we sew it into tipp now, and okay like a team that wants everyone to know they mean business. Whoever we pick, blanch or Tommy or Donnelly or whoever, they need to play with a point to prove. Sick to me bollocks of the way this team is ignored all year while they fawn over munster teams on the Sunday game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭KK36

On ratification. It's the clubs that ratify the management. Every single club in the county had a chance to voice their opinion on the subject and as far as I know not one did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,284 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Hearing that for years .....

If you are there as a delegate, you can stand up and have a say.

So many on here whinging about it , maybe do something about it ?..

Use your voice .... not your fingers...

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

That is an excellent take on the match. This teams time has come lets embrace the opportunity. "Move it or lose it"