Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Rory Glynn was the only forward who played with any intensity and effort. Murphy was good under a high ball but that's not enough. The other four forwards were miles off the workrate you expect from a Kilkenny team. As for playing a sweeper with a gale behind you and still leaving him back there when ten points down, hard to understand the thinking there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

The commentator on the radio said Brennan was playing with a broken foot. Was in a boot until a few days ago and had to get injections to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Glynn and Brennan were the best of the forwards I thought Bolger Vereker and lyng were best of the backs and battled manfully throughout against the tipp tide

But the game seemed to pass so many of the other players by or they just couldn’t get into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Charlie69

This post pretty much says it all, was going to say something similar.

How in the name of God are we so brain dead coaching wise at all grades of our County teams, It was very frustrating to be in Nowlan Park today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Village87

Take away Murphy and we have zero scoring threat. He scored 1-2, handpassed off another point to Brennan and was fouled for 3 more and the keeper made a big save from him in the first half, which he needed to bury, saying that there is surely another 25% in him. What are we at playing a sweeper, it was scandalous to watch we must have been turned over for 3-7. Mcevoy, Lahouff, Mcphiilips, Mcdermott were poor up the pitch, Hickey and Lyng were terrible in the backs, they need a sweeper around them full time to cover them

We didn't play to those players strengths though, In fact I have absolutely no idea what our game plan was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Not sure what you mean by what are we at playing a sweeper and then saying that Hickey and Lyng always need a sweeper around them, not having a go just seems like a contradiction, for me this team didnt have enough to win an all Ireland, which to be fair I think you said in previous posts, there is some talent there, more than what was thought when they were minors, but was always going to be a struggle for them when they came up against a team like Tipp, they did better than expected this year and I think that should be kept in mind when talking about todays game. Also if Nowlan Park is going to hold All Ireland Finals on a regular basis we are going to be beaten in a lot of them, think we just need to accept that and not make it a bigger thing than it is.

Sorry I did not mean to contradict. Was the sweeper put in place for use of possession or to cover some of our backs defensive frailties? I'm clearly not a fan of the sweeper, the remark for a full time sweeper was highlighting how bad Lyng and Hickey were, they were bet up a stick even with an extra body around and constantly caught in possession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

That was a disappointing performance..we never really got going..half forwards were completely out of it..Murphy had the beating of his man but he needs a very specific type of ball into him which he didn't get enough of..he will never win a foot race. In fairness, tipp did hurl well..they drove very few wides..plenty tipp supporters were frustrated with some of their tippy tappy play in the backs..in the first half especially

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,771 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Couldnt understand allowing Tipp have the short puckout against a strong wind and then allowing them to easily work the ball up the field and pick a good ball into a very dangerous full forward line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭kksaints

Won't argue with most of the above. We were outclassed and we didn't help ourselves with how we were set up and the ball into the forwards. Half forwards were very poor overall and only Murphy really was a threat. Glynn buzzed around a lot but made the wrong choice nearly every time he got the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭conor05

It was a Gaelic football match but swap the hand pass for the hurl pass.

Absolute horrible all Ireland to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭kk.man

Same minor all ireland and same today. Kilkenny hurling needs clued in managers and I know it's easy speak like a hurler on the ditch but come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭blackcard

Dissappointed but not surprised. Marty Murphy needed to bury his chance, McDermott just needed a touch to goal. 2 bad turnovers led to goals. Tipp much the better team. We have lost ten AI finals out of our last 11 finals at senior/u20/u17 levels. Really need our minors to do well but there seems to be a gulf between Munster and Leinster hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭mooz

Big time. Hard for the 14.4k attendance to get enthused. It just sucks the life out of the crowd all the lateral passing, passing backwards etc. If the modern trend continues, attendances will suffer. Don't think the sweeper system is in the KK DNA, when pressure came on, we looked like rabbits in the headlights. Neary hurled well having said that but yet was caught for a couple of balls that proved costly. Other notable mentions for Murphy, Glynn tried hard, Brennan good on frees, Garrett, Bolger and Hickey tried their best to stem the tide but more physical team won in the end and were obviously the better hurlers.

Well done to Tipp, fully deserved and with their vocal support, they really enjoyed their day out in the Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭hogans heroes

7pts down with 12minutes to go and we still play a sweeper. Greatest example of a team over coached.utter shite to watch.

We all give out about teams playing a sweeper but I have never once seen a team with a sweeper chasing a game down a few pints abandon it and go man for man

Not club not county hurling or camogie the team with the sweeper stays playing with the sweeper to the bitter end no Matter how much they’re getting bet by its utter madness and 100 percent over coaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 njcat

Great display by Tipp against an underperforming Kilkenny.

I have long tried to understand why the dominating great teams of Cork in the 50s, Tipp in the 60s and Kilkenny from 2000-2015 fell away at every level for o decade or longer. Having observed ourselves from afar, I still understand it. We sre considered a benchmark team and other teams pesk agsinst us at all levels. I have noticed thst our youngsters are smaller wiyh less s&c.

Yet the clubs are developing these players in their 20s and we are seeing clubs such as OLG, Ballyhale, the Village and Glenmore develop exceptional older players. So, I hope we focus more resources on the clubs.

I

Absolutely mind boggling, as someone said earlier it's easy from the sidelines but this is just so brain dead and so basic, very frustrating to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭newhouse87

The sitting back when losing is what drove us mad against offaly last year. Kilkenny never raised a gallop today, was v surprising, not much fight or abrasiveness throughout. I think this tipp team is up there with our 2010 crop so while i wouldnt say i was overly confident we would win, a lot of questions would have been asked of management had we lost today. Thought tipp were more direct and had the better players in general but yere tactics didn't help ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭usualstripes

I suppose it comes down to the fact that tipp were faster and stronger than us. Their forwards were out first and able to break tackles better than us. Theor full back line would not let us pass. In saying that,, had Marty Murphy taken on his man in the first half I have no doubt it would have ended in a goal. Glyn tried everything but his lack of strength against their full back line wasn't going to threaten. As much as neary influenced the game in the first half, he sat far too deep in the 2nd half. We were passing around in the full back line for the sake of passing. Sitting off their puckouts was a mistake. Their half forward line pulled out to leave the space, and even though we had a man back in front of the full back line, they bypassed him and had a field day. Fair play to tipp, but we must learn from these hard to take lessons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭hogans heroes

All games at this time of year there is nearly always a wind.sweeper first half should have been ditched and we should have pushed up.No problem.dropping back.if were 6 or 7 up but that was shote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,771 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Tactics just seem to be very rigid especially at that age group. Last year Tipp in the AI played a 1 man full forward line, crowded midfield, played a sweeper very close to the full back line and left acres in the half back line for Offaly speedsters to run into. Never changed it all through the game even though the result looked inevitable from a long way out.

Same today with KK, like half way through the first half surely it should have been apparent that KK were in big trouble and that it was absolutely vital to have a couple of points lead at half time. Teams just seem to have their plan and stick by it rigidly regardless of wind, opposition etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Philip82

Have Kilkenny supporters giving up on all inter county teams?? Have people lost the interest and enthusiasm to go based on our success in the past or is it that we actually don't have that many genuine supporters within the county once we are not winning All Irelands. I'm not exaggerating when I say about 10,000 or more of the 14,500 today we're tipp supporters. If it were in Thurles or somewhere further I'd hate to think how bad it would be. I don't know what needs to happen but good support has an affect on games especially when you hit a purple patch. Results don't always go our way but the players deserve better for their commitment and effort. "Kilkenny known for their passion, talent and undying love for hurling " well not today and hasnt been for a very long time.

Agreed, fair play to Tipp, some lovely hurlers on that team with bigger things ahead for them but our managment baffled me today.

I’d love to know the reason it’s like people are afraid to support our county teams now give and aul shout or bit of encouragement

A few years ago the crowd in Nolan park gave the teams encouragement when they went behind to try get them going a hook or block or a player really getting stuck in was appreciated from the stands

There is definetly less kk people at games now but there doesn’t seem to be that connection between the stands and the the teams on the pitch anymore

It’s 100 percent affecting the teams on the pitch imo

Maybe it’s a negativity or an impatience that we’re not doing better or something I don’t know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭usualstripes

You're correct on the attendance today, maybe 5000 kilkenny supporters. I can't answer whether Kilkenny people have lost interest as you say as club matches are followed as much as ever. We certainly need a spark from somewhere.

I agree. There is great crowds and atmosphere at local club matches, all seems good at that level. County level is poor, maybe it's Leinster which is gone so poor I don't know, another theory I have with the split season is there is such a disconnect with the players. They are bottled away at intercounty level for months, no club games, no open trainings, no one talks to media, it's all very claustrophobic.

I would personally love to see intercounty league structure from end of Jan to the league finals end of March. April and May are then completely to clubs, we all get to see the players in action, who is hurling well etc. player your 3/4 league championship matches .Intercounty then runs from June to end of August.. September back to clubs to complete league/championship structure. No rugby no soccer it would be great, the only problem is intercounty managers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

No surprise really that tipp won well but the over use of the short passing up the field and failure to adapt was infuriating. Marty needed to be inside the 14 with support either side, not out in the corner. Even tipp supporters were saying it. McCormack and o Donoghue did the damage as did Martin and English in the half forwards. Bolger kept mccarthy scoreless but it also meant Bolger was out of the game following mccarthy outfield while McCormack and o Donoghue peospered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

It's definitely different alright. Even when the teams came out today, it was polite applause Kilkenny, at home, in an All Ireland final, bizarre! Same when they went around for the parade, very very few of us shouting for Kilkenny. I've no idea why but it's very strange to see. The lads in front of me never once shouted any encouragement to the players but complained and criticised from the first minute to the last. Mind you I had joined them midway through the second half 😕 But the days of leaving a match hoarse from roaring on the team seem like a long time ago.