Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

1555556557558559561»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Our tactics are an issue under Cummins with 2 years way too negative. Nowhere did I say we have much the better team then kilkenny or mention we should have bet offaly, they were far the better team last year. It seems you want to create a reality in your head that tipp lads all think we will win easy and our disrespecting kilkenny so lets show that arrogant tipp crowd. Similar mindset to Davy Fitzgerald, trying to create a narrative that doesnt exist, kilkenny too big and proud of a hurling county to need that mindset.

IIts Ok to say a team got tactics wrong in a match, its not disrespecting the victors, happens in most matches, 1 team get tactics right and losers didnt. Getting tactics correct give teams best chance of winning, doesn't mean they will win, that's my point essentially.

Post edited by newhouse87 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Have Tipperary 5 senior players on the U20 team? If so then we are seriously up against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Rebelside

McCarthy and Farrell are on the senior team, O’Donoghue is a regular sub. O’Halloran the full back is definitely on the panel. Martin maybe too. Two of last years minor team are on the 20s team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭neverbet

Tipperary have indeed, also they were All Ireland minor champs in '22 while we went out to Laois in the Leinster semi final. Goes without saying we are up against it and expectations need to be managed .Has to be acknowledged how much improvement our boys have made in the three years since , whether it will be enough to beat a really good Tipp team is open to question. I have high hopes for this group and the minors of recent years providing players of the calibre required for our seniors for the years to come. Like everyone else I hope everyone that can, makes the effort not just to be there but to get behind them and roar them on no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭jamesbond2022

It’s a bit of strange one Cummins has got tipp to 2 u20 all Irelands back to back and the fans aren’t happy with his tactics even after the first game in Munster fans weren’t happy either

Surely he’s doing something right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Village87

It appears to me to be the same tactics as Kilkenny use. Loads behind the ball and runners coming from deep. I can confidently say that if Kilkenny start arsing around with the ball on a probably wet day Saturday and do not use the 2 big lads in the full forward line we will be under serious pressure. Our best chance is to get the ball into the big lads in the full forward line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

Agree with all of this. Wouldn't have seen this group as being genuine All Ireland contenders (similar to '22) but they are where they are and got there comfortably so fair play to them. The fact that on different days different forwards have been stepping up is a good sign Mc Dermott (v Dublin, round robin) Murphy and Brennan ( v Laois) and Lauhoff, McEvoy and Glynn (v Dublin, Leinster final). So if we could get them all to click together we would be in with a great shout. Whatever happens on the pitch i sincerely hope our supporters show up in numbers and get behind the lads because our support in last years Minor final was a bit of an embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Nedflanders02

Like a lot of people, wouldn't have expected much from this minor team but they've surprised me with how well they've done. Manogue in the goals looks a good keeper and his puckouts have been good, the backs have been impressive but probably haven't come across he quality that Tipp will bring, Bolger & Garrett and going to need big games again on Saturday. The half back line have been impressive so far, Lyng and Neary get on a lot of ball and are very comfortable playing the ball from defense, Hickey has been very impressive also, he has a bit of pace, covers a lot of ground and carries the ball well. Around the middle McPhillips, Lauhoff, Brennan & Bergin are very athletic and work really hard. Up front we're going to need big games from Murphy and McDermott, both have it in them and if they can click they will cause Tipp trouble. As a previous poster has said, our spread of scorers has been very good and our contribution off the bench has been been really good.

Over the past few years most of us have been critical of how prepared our underage teams have been but a massive amount of credit must go to the new coaching and games set up and both minor and U20 management teams who look to have both teams in great shape. I don't think it's a coincidence that we have started to become more successful a underage the last couple of years, we've always had the hurlers but now it looks like we are set up as well as anyone. Best of luck to the U20's on Saturday, be a great boost to the county to go into the business end of the championship with an AI title in the bag, hopefully a big crowd will be in the park to support them on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭newhouse87

The style of play doesnt get the best out of the players especially the ff line. It's better last few games tbf but hoping he doesn't revert to type like lastvy year's final where darragh mc hanging around midfield line and we losing by 5 points with few minutes to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Krazy gang

That's not correct. 3 have played senior. Mccarthy, ó Farrell and Oisín ó Donoghue who came on and scored 1-1 against waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Krazy gang

I'd hope that we'll play more direct on Saturday and not have Murphy or mccdermott isolated or outnumbered when the ball comes in. It will be very difficult to run and pass the ball up the field against a strong tipperary team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Marrooned

What’s killing us on Saturday is the embarrassment of last year . If this hadn’t happened I wouldn’t mind getting bet by a better team it would still mean progress,but as it stands it is vital to win. Losing in Nowlan park two years in a row is a frightening prospect. I heard there was a few comments on social media about our lack of support I would have to agree wholeheartedly with that. There is always an excuse not to go. Oh I always follow the hurling, watching the match on the TV at home or in the pub isn’t a follower.i know there are people who cannot go for various reasons but I am not hitting at them.again the cost might be a problem but some lads complain about the price and they will still be swilling lots of pints watching the match.priorities my hole.

Was wondering what the story was as tipp have done a great job of getting out of Munster again was sure why Cummins was getting so much heat

I think if we play a good mix of short stuff and direct ball we ll be in the mix they definetly overdid the short passing in the last 2 games the Laois game in particular

If the long ball into Marty is working they should keep bloody doing it and make hay don’t just go short for the sake of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Not sure why people think we're all of a sudden going to start going long after playing with an extra defender and playing it through the hands all year. Murphy and McDermott got one point between them against Dublin so can't see management saying let's change everything and rely on these lads now.

There seems to be a lot of confidence around the place but I don't share it. At all.

Fingers crossed I'm wrong. Wouldn't be the first time and won't be the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Absolutely Marooned, no reason why the home crowd shouldn't be worth a few points to us.

I think they have done very well, but wonder about the quality of the opposition. Tipp will be by some distance the best team they have faced all year and are hot favourites. They have enough pressure on their shoulders without anyone making out they owe us something because of the minors loss last year. This game will be played on its merits and leave it at that. I have said before we will get as many from last years minors as Tipp, just like Offaly did from the '22 final loss. We are having a good year underage so far ,may turn out to be a great year, so to hell with fear of losing ,you can't win it if you are not in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I think there's a bit of a shadow over this team because of the loss to a Derek McGrath coached Laois side in the Minor semi in 2022. Anything can happen with chaps that are 15/16, as we saw last summer…. and Laois were very competitive that year pushing Offaly to 3 points, and we know what a good outfit that Offaly team were.

it's unfair to define them on that loss, and it's also worth remembering that we threw away the Leinster semi final last year for more than one reason, so I'm guessing and hoping that this team is coming in under the radar and is far better than their results historically. As I said before, it's backboned by 2 high class Kieran's All Ireland winning teams and there are some very good hurlers not even making the 24.

I think it'll be a close game, and I give us a great chance. We're never too far away when we are underdogs. A win would be a huge deal for the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Village87

Yeah Tipp will be a different beast, if they start losing short possession we could be in for a long afternoon. I think Tipp will target Neary, out of all the backs so far he is the least i am impressed with to date, he has plenty to tidy up on. He has a name but counts for nothing on the big stage