Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Marrooned

not so sure it will be in the park,I gave the reasons earlier but I hope it is.

I heard the CBS bet Thurles CBS by a point in the park today .this is the A colleges B teams and the CBS lost to St. Kieran’s by a point in the second year competition was there any posters at the games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

Hard to believe the championship starts next week. Hopefully the weather stays good. Cork are on a high but I'd be very surprised if they don't meet a few potholes,they were blessed to qualify last year but they look to have found a few players. I'm happier to see the 3 up top but not every team has 3 top inside men with skill,speed and movement. Limerick could be coming back to the pack but I'd expect a bite from them over the next few weeks. Waterford I think are the dark horses in Munster I was listening to Stephen Bennett and he was saying nigel skehan is involved and does work with the defence.clare will also be a different animal next week but sod is a huge loss although we might see him over the next few weeks. We all kind of agreed tipp had a huge amount done and were well ahead of teams during the league. They have zero pace in attack apart from jake Morris who is very inconsistent.

There will be a few upsets in leinster along the way. Wexford finished the league well but there's a few big names retired so they will be hoping liam ryan will be back. He has being crippled with injury but his presence would be huge. Ive being impressed with hearne at midfield he gets through alot of work.Galway are rebuilding but it will be tough opening match for kk. Conor whelans form has dipped but cathal mannion will cause us trouble if he is let hurl.

It was a mixed bag league for a lot of teams including kk who will head into the championship with a few question marks. Unlike cork we havent unearthed many.Who will be number 4,6 and midfield and will Mullen and cody slot back in to the attack? I think Shane Murphy has done enough to hold onto a corner spot. Will they go back to reid at 6 or leave mikey? Cian Kenny had a few good games at 11. Will mossy be able to carry the form into the championship? I would like to see kk playing more with 3 up top and a big improvement with puckouts.There's more questions than answers but it will probably be much the same team as the last few years. Shane Murphy and molloy could be closer to starting. I presume the panel has being cut before championship.

That dublin u20 team wasn't too bad the other day. I dunno if kk will get away with giving all the puckouts up although neary and lyng do interchange well id much prefer to see more variation. Macdermot was excellent and definitely a chap that could be brought into a senior set up. Kelly stamped on the Dublin guy after a collision but I don't know if it was intentional he way sprinting to receive a pass. I think bolger might be better in the corner and verker at full. Lyng has being excellent the last 2 days. Its a tricky break now but if it is offally it has the makings of a good match. Kk haven't handled the break the last 2 years so hopefully get a bit of luck the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Didn't hear anything about the senior B game but the 2nd year game was won by a last minute goal. Apparently both halves were almost identical with SKC running into a good lead and CBS gradually pegging them back. CBS were 2 pts up when the goal was scored very late on. One of the Corcorans twins from Callan scored it. The opposite happened in the 1st year final last year I believe so 2 closely matched teams obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Lyng has been very good on the ball, awful difference between going man to man in senior against a team like Cork compared to playing 7 backs v 5 forwards in u20, he is effectively a free man, i find it a bit misleading. That's why i have been impressed with McDermott, even when he is being outnumbered he is very effective, tall, pacey, busy and skilful. Himself and Murphy could transform this team into real contenders if management take off the handbrake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Portugal training camp went well by all accounts.

How do lads see the first 15 lining out v Galway next weekend? (Presuming Mullen & Cody are available).

One person told me Kenny is available and another told me unavailable.

1E. Murphy

2 M. Butter

3 H. Lawlor

4 S. Murphy

5. M. Carey

6. D. Blanchfield

7. P. Deegan;

8.J. Molloy,

9. F. Mackessy (If Kenny injured)

10. B. Ryan (Mackessy here if Kenny fit)

11. J. Donnelly

12. A. Mullen

13. E Cody

14 T.J. Reid

15. M. Keoghan.

A big worry is we are looking at them 6 forwards as a unit (except Mackessy) a good 3 years now and no Kilkenny players seems to be putting their hand up though Luke Hogan is another option)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭neverbet

Scruff,

Butler, Lawlor,Murphy

Blanchfield, Carey, RichieReid

Kenny , Molloy

Ryan ,Donnelly, Deegan

Cody, TJ and Mossy

Five from Shine, Mackessy, Tommy,Hogan,Killian Doyle and possibly Mullan to be used when required. If Marty Murphy was fit enough would also have him on standby. Would have a player detailed to shadow Cahal Mannion as I think he is by far Galways best and a huge threat .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

I'd say Richie Reid will be playing

are all the city teams being beaten in the feile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 kilkenny123456

yeah cbs are on a school tour so missing loads of players. none of the city teams out here in kells road for the finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭blackcard

Error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Great to see Freshford winning the Roinn A Feile today. They will represent Kilkenny well in the national competition later this year. Nice to see a different team winning something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 kilkenny123456

Great to see such strong North Kilkenny representation in the finals too. Freshford winning Division 1 and Lisdowney winning Division 3. Galmoy/Windgap got to the Division 2 final and only lost by a point also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

I wonder have Freshford ever won the division 1 before.

KK put in thirteen goals against Antrim in the Celtic challenge.

I must say it’s no harm the city teams didn’t make the final stages.

Sean Stack reffing KK v Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭High bike

Any chance ye might keep him up there we had our fill of him down here

Any news from the Galway camp ? Kilkenny look to be coming into this nicely. Full strength it seems, nice few weeks training after a training trip to Portugal. Galway were poor in the league shipping a few big beatings, lack pace in the backs but still wont fear Kilkenny. Cannot see anything other that a Kilkenny win in Nowlan Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

Galway have a good record against kk in the round robin. Played 5,won 3 and drew 2. Daithi Burke had a set back with the hamstring so fintan Burke will probably be full back. Gavin Lee will hardly be given the freedom he got the last day where their half back line completely cleaned up. Conor whelan is a unbelievable hurler but he has being struggling for form. Mcgoughlin was excellent in the league match and also got the leveller 2 years ago in the park. Kk were bullied in the league and outfought against galway.

This round robin is all about picking up points and getting to a leinster final. Shane Murphy should get the number 4 Jersey. Jordan molloy midfield spot and we could see a surprise and someone like Stephen donnelly playing. It's unlikely Mullen will start and maybe cody could also be left on the bench. It will be intresting to see can mossy maintain the league form. Donnelly will be a big help to the forwards and Billy has being working hard. Cian Kenny had some good league games roving around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Krazy gang

No minor panel named yet? Galway and couple others named there's already.

Apparently have a very strong team.

Jaysus village I wouldn’t be that confident of beating Galway our record against them at this stage isn’t brilliant. On the minor team it will probably come out with the senior team. Krazy mentioned a good minor team was it ours or Galway, we should be pretty strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Assuming we have most players available, I'd be confident of beating Galway on Saturday. If we don't we're in bother in more ways than one in that we can't have any real hopes of being good enough to win an All Ireland, and we could also end up going to have to win in Wexford in our last game to even qualify.

Galway's win in the league should be a wake up call for us and hopefully the lads will be tuned in. I'd still be hopefully enough that we are dark horses for the All Ireland, if we can keep everyone fit.

No minor panel yet which is unusual with game Saturday, but we should be one of the favourites there as well. I heard someone on radio saying we should have almost all match day squad players up to the age which is a huge bonus given how young last years team was.

19 Development final on in the Park tonight hopefully they get good support. That's a great competition for a grade that's an important bridge from Minor to U20.

ye just getting ready to go to the U19 final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭jimmythesulk

That's good to know. Thanks for the information.

Good win Marooned. Fill us in. Great competition as it's a long time from u17 to u20 at intercounty level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

It was livestreamed on KK gaa seemingly Village

https://kilkennygaa.ie/2025/04/u19-development-league-final-kilkenny-dublin/

This is for everyone only that **** eejit jimmy the sulk. First of all comerman Shiners son Eoghan Brennan was in midfield for Dublin.Our lads got it tough tonight and a fortunate goal saw us through,sub Cian Donnelly scored the goal and a point as well Patrick Lacey very good again,5pts. From play and seven frees, John Fitz from the shamrocks with four from play, David Barcoe very strong tonight and he had to be , the Dubs were very physical and hard to stop when they were on the run.I thought all there goals were coughed up easily by our lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Lacey raggett and barcoe really stood out for the u19s

Nice interview with Dave denieffe at ht by the sounds of it were finally doing the right things at underage level which bodes well for future