Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crimecall RTE1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Novfith

They again, largely work amongst their own people who speak their language.

No one is going to cop someone in a shop that they saw them on Crimecall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

So none of them have Irish bosses, Irish customers, Irish suppliers that they interact with? That's a bit of a stretch.

And still, they'll be doing the school pickup, they'll be hitting their local SPAR or Centra regularly.

No man is an island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,372 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yes if it's a theft crime I think it shouldn't be shown if 3 months have passed, if it's a serious assault case they could allow longer. With the quality of CCTV there should be new policy by the insurers in Ireland that if they shop doesn't have full HD quality CCTV that theft from the premises isn't covered, this would then feed down to what Gardaí would be provided with being much better quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Shan Doras

I remember years ago, their CCTV section featured someone stealing 2 bales of bord na Mona Briquettes from outside a shop, this was back in the pre carbon tax days when they cost probably less than a fiver per bale. Do they still feature such low scale crime? With all the thefts that likely happens all over Ireland daily, how do they choose which ones make crimecall so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

It seems to me that they just stick a pin in a random Garda logbook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Krazy gang

Carla ó Brien is absolutely gorgeous. I usually watch crime call anyway but having Carla on makes it a must see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

You're not the guy in the first CCTV clip are you?

GDY151

'A shopping centre in Santry'…whoy not just jaysus tell us it's Omni Park 🤔

GDY151

That DART station featured was Howth, not Fairview, ffs, how difficult can it jaysus be.

GDY151

Those skirts have some carrying capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,901 ✭✭✭CH3OH

The cctv is pretty woeful.

description of the suspect as " carrying a wheel brace" As if he is still walking around with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,167 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Shockingly bad quality footage on CrimeCall tonight. And that was bad, even by their standards. The descriptions as well were bad.

But then again, the Chief Superintendent of the Gardaí said the photos they'd uploaded on their website of the Dublin City centre rioters was of "excellent quality". Some images were more pixelated than an Atari 2600 game.

Tonight, I thought one image of a suspect looked like Deadpool.

Post edited by sligeach on

It's shocking stuff at times. They said the images of the suspect there was bad, then proceeded to show an image of the car jack he used for the attempted break-in, and if anybody recognised it, to contact the Gardaí.

Businesses need to use better quality CCTV. Insurance companies should penalize businesses that have pixelated muck cameras, be it refuse to pay out or increase their premiums from resultant claims.

One of the descriptions of the suspects for a crime had a 4 line summary; gave his height, perhaps build and what he was wearing. The last line literally said "knife". It reminded me of Mr Bean.

Screenshot_2024-11-21-02-40-19-822-edit_com.android.chrome.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Was this on last night because of the leaders debate on Monday night?.

It was weird having it on a Wednesday but kinda good too. Maybe they should leave it on a Wednesday night.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭csirl

Some of the cctv quality is rubbish. But every time this programme is on their are several real good quality cctv shots where the person is easily identified. You have to wonder if local Gardai are even bothering - Im sure many are regular customer.s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Quitelife

https://m.independent.ie/regionals/monaghan/news/female-gang-placed-charity-box-and-other-stolen-goods-under-skirts-in-daring-monaghan-raid/a547471533.html

The carry on of this crowd is why a lot of people don’t like some of the people coming into the country , free houses and welfare and this is how they thank us robbing multiple items from a shop struggling to pay rates and taxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

Ms

Awe that's a pity. I nearly missed it too it was just pure luck thst I did not. Theh had been advertising it for a while which was strange.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

GDY151

The 5 new flash Golf GTI's going to be revealed, another car for the 'do not overtake if it has a Dublin reg' book 😁

GDY151

It should be triple penalty points if you have your phone in your hand and the car has an inbuilt phone kit.

GDY151

Looks like Gardaí may have been watching a few episodes of Police Interceptors.

It really does look like more 'vroom vroom' toys for the boys rather than a simple focus on catching drivers. They could put one Gardai out on their existing mountain bike from every station every day with their bodycam who would catch their fill of phone drivers, but maybe that wouldn't be quite as much fun for the petrolhead lads.

GDY151

Yes the big plus the UK have is ANPR, was watching Police Interceptors last week and one police district had 150 cameras, they can track cars in minutes by the reg.

Ms

Some bad fu-ckers out there. I hope the bastard who set the two electric cars on fire is caught.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Great quality CCTV from the Dublin Bus thug. Decent quality from the perv in Cork too. Let's hope he's sitting on the couch explaining to his missus now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

That was a weird one. I hope we get an update sometime. The other passengers weren't much addition either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Snorlaxx

Do we not have facial recognition in this country, surly these ppl have passports

GDY151

A tarmaccers tan on him 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie