Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

listermint wrote: »
    I know how much they were I used to sell them for a living.

My point was they were not ubiquitous.guards didn't carry them around in their pockets or even in their cars. It wasn't a must have thing and especially not for taking reference noted and sketches. Don't confuse holiday makers who purposefully had cameras to capture their holidays that was an entirely different mind set . Witness or scene photography was a specialist job then and is now for the most part.

This is true, it's amusing to think a garda would be taking evidential pictures with a personal camera and leaving them into the local chemist to get developed.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Are Bailey and Jules still together?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    who said it was a hire car?
    MoonUnit75 wrote: »
    It was a hire car, it's in the witness statements as well. Alfie Lyons and another neighbour commented on it. The other neighbour said it was the first time they ever saw a hire car outside the house where Sophie had not come out to talk to them so it stuck out in their mind. I'm almost certain I read it was an Avis car.

this is regarding the blue fiesta? that was seen driven erratically in the early hours of the 23rd?? out of curiosity how can you tell if its a hire car do they have a special reg number or a sticker on the rear windscreen?

did the guards not follow up on this? phone the leasing company? if not..why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Are Bailey and Jules still together?

no, they split in Feb 2021. It was mentioned in the credits of the final episode.

It'd be interesting to know the reasoning behind the split and who/where IB is staying now.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

no, they split in Feb 2021. It was mentioned in the credits of the final episode.

It'd be interesting to know the reasoning behind the split and who/where IB is staying now.

On his twitter bio he has looking for a place to live!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Idioteque

She said she was fed up with Ian (drinking, ego, media coverage) and also that her kids wouldn't bring grandkids to visit while Ian was still in the house.

https://extra.ie/2021/06/21/news/irish-news/jules-thomas-ian-bailey

did they have children together? does IB have children from other relationships?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

listermint wrote: »
    This was West cork. It's not a regional division nor a metropolitan city. Don't confuse the two. I really don't think people are in the mindset of 1996.

And no one said it's the stone age so don't use hyperbole to make a point. It doesn't make any point.

Considering I was 25 in 1996 I have a pretty good idea what was available to the average Joe Soap, having a slr camera would have been pretty normal, so having one in a station or a disposable would have been a given. A lot of people I know used to carry disposable cameras in their cars in case of accident so it seems odd the gardaí could not get their hands on one. As you say West Cork not Timbuktwo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Yurt! wrote: »
    This one time, while picking up a rental at Prestwick Airport (Avis gold card member here) I noted that the passenger seat of the tan colored Mondeo was set-back and "The Best of Roxy Music" was still in the tape deck. A cold shiver ran down my spine and I turns to me wife and I says to her: "There's been a murder."

Put it to the back of my mind and we had lovely holiday in the end.

What are the odds of that.
    You got a car that Ian Bailey had been in just before you.
    At least that how we go about fitting evidence to the man about these parts :)

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Space Dog

JimmyVik wrote: »
    Imagine traveling all the way from her home in France to that house for 2 nights and one full day in it. She was definitely meeting someone.

According to the podcast, she had asked her husband, family and her friend to come along, but no one could or wanted to fly over with her so close to Christmas. I recall her best friend saying on the podcast that she still feels awful for not going over with her, I think she had the flu or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

FrankN1 wrote: »
    Did they not do any DNA tests from the wine glasses?

A female guard washed them

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

No matter how naieve/new the garda is to the job, is that not a odd thing to do at a crime scene?

did she offer to do the hoovering and ironing too??

if that's true - its unforgiveable

• Registered Users Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭CoBo55

One interesting factoid noted by the gardai was that the small Fiesta hire car had the passenger seat pushed back almost all the way to accommodate a tall person. They felt it was unlikely the hire car company handed it over like this after it was valeted, makes sense not to obstruct the back seats like that.

Were any fibres found on the seat? Was it examined at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,244 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Ah jayzuz, it wasn't the Stone Age.
    A disposable 35mm camera could be bought in any chemist for a few quid.
    Especially in a tourist area like West Cork.

I can remember going to weddings in Kerry and west Cork in the Summer of 1996 where each table had bowls of said disposable cameras for guests to take photos which the couples could process and view later. They were very much available and at a cheap price. The quality might not have been the best but no doubt the Gardai could hve used them. Or they could have pressganged Jules Thomas who was there as photographer!

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Yes, but under whose instructions?????

It was noted by the gardai that morning that the seat had been pushed all the way back. There were no suspects or leads at the time. I remain doubtful that a car hire company would valet a car and leave the passenger seat pushed all the way back.

So because a car hire valet may or may not have put a seat back, or as another poster says, she didnt have some shopping in the front then IB must have been in the car?

Thats a stretch.

Mine is back right now because i got takeaway last night and pushed the seat back to make the space in the back smaller so the takeaway on the floor wouldnt fall over on my way home.

Imagine being framed for a murder because i bought a takeaway.

So because a car hire valet may or may not have put a seat back, or as another poster says, she didnt have some shopping in the front then IB must have been in the car?

Thats a stretch.

Mine is back right now because i got takeaway last night and pushed the seat back to make the space in the back smaller so the takeaway on the floor wouldnt fall over on my way home.

Imagine being framed for a murder because i bought a takeaway.

The gardai noted the seat was pushed all the way back as though to accommodate a passenger, Sophie herself was small. That's all. Nobody said Bailey was or might have been in it.

Space Dog wrote: »
    According to the podcast, she had asked her husband, family and her friend to come along, but no one could or wanted to fly over with her so close to Christmas. I recall her best friend saying on the podcast that she still feels awful for not going over with her, I think she had the flu or something.

Are they sure she asked them on that trip?
    And that she didnt already know they would not go.
    All sorts of permutations here.

Marcusm wrote: »
    I can remember going to weddings in Kerry and west Cork in the Summer of 1996 where each table had bowls of said disposable cameras for guests to take photos which the couples could process and view later. They were very much available and at a cheap price. The quality might not have been the best but no doubt the Gardai could hve used them. Or they could have pressganged Jules Thomas who was there as photographer!

YEah no camera in the house of a photographer :)
    If I was a gaurd and saw scratches on a persons hand after a murder I would go get a camera even if it took all day and go back and take a picture.

The gardai noted the seat was pushed all the way back as though to accommodate a passenger, Sophie herself was small. That's all. Nobody said Bailey was or might have been in it.

How do they know it was to accommodate a passenger.
    Seems as flimsy a leap as the rest of the leaps in this case.

Are they sure she asked them on that trip?
    And that she didnt already know they would not go.
    All sorts of permutations here.

The gardai spoke to her family in the days after the murder and they said she had asked her friend Agnes Thomas and her cousin, Alexandra Lewy to go with her but they were both already tied up with their own Christmas arrangements.

How do they know it was to accommodate a passenger.
    Seems as flimsy a leap as the rest of the leaps in this case.

They didn't 'know' it was to accommodate a passenger, it seemed 'as though' it was to accommodate a passenger, as I wrote above.

Idioteque wrote: »
    She said she was fed up with Ian (drinking, ego, media coverage) and also that her kids wouldn't bring grandkids to visit while Ian was still in the house.

https://extra.ie/2021/06/21/news/irish-news/jules-thomas-ian-bailey

I wonder is it relevant that her children (all adults) will not visit while he remains in situ but at least one of them was willing to go on camera and say it wasn’t him.

The gardai spoke to her family in the days after the murder and they said she had asked her friend Agnes Thomas and her cousin, Alexandra Lewy to go with her but they were both already tied up with their own Christmas arrangements.

If I was trying to get away for a day (traveling many hours each way) to have a bit of a shag and didnt want people to suspect, I would ask a couple of people to go who I knew would not go.

And you wouldnt get too many people who would travel from France to deepest rural Ireland for 1 night the night before Christmas eve.

Nobody would make that kind of trip if asked. And Sophie would not make that kind of trip either unless she was meeting someone there.

I wonder is it relevant that her children (all adults) will not visit while he remains in situ but at least one of them was willing to go on camera and say it wasn’t him.

And bring your kids into the media circus that is IBs world. I wouldnt put my kids through that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

its amazing how much legs this car seat and camera have been given

the wine glass story is not true, it was a story at the time for sure, but was hearsay, just a joke about how stupid the police were

the car seat being back could mean a man was in the passenger seat for sure

or a tall lady, or someone who liked leg room or to accom a bag or shopping etc

so meaningless unless they looked for more evidence in the car based on this, which they surely would have done anyway, but no mention of anyway

The drawing of the hand is not ridiculous, as a sketch of s suspect wouldn't be

memory itself is no reliable and you need to note things down

There was likely a camera there, but no photo taken of the arm of a non suspect, that is not strange

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

To be fair he has a history of abuse when drinking, they might agree that he didnt do the murder, but just cannot stand how unhappy his drunken ramblings have made their mother.
    But to subject a child to a constantly drunk, maybe abusive person, is not on.

I have dealings with someone who I know to be an annoying drunk. And I will not put our child near them if they are in that state.

Does that mean he murdered someone, no!
    Its they do not want this person who has issues in their children's life.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I very much doubt that actually happened.

And bring your kids into the media circus that is IBs world. I wouldnt put my kids through that.

I simply meant that they had not broken all contact such that analysis would be IB = horrible **** but not murderer in their view.