Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F1 2021 Round 4 : Spanish Grand Prix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,339 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

1.5 seconds lead from max already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Don't know how they did not come together there at turn 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Irishjg

What a start from Max. Bottas backed off to avoid Lewis on turn one and Charles slipped through. Nice move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭Harika

Now snooze mode, no overtaking expected.
    If Tsunoda cannot pass the Haas, don't expect more from the field.

Hamilton squirrely out of turn 2, maybe Bottas can take advanta--- never mind.

“We don’t care who wins.” Good one Crofty.

Ham picking up the pace now.

Harika wrote: »
    Now snooze mode, no overtaking expected.
    If Tsunoda cannot pass the Haas, don't expect more from the field.

Still fancy Hamilton, looks like he has a bit of pace in hand again. No need to shred tyres this early.

I’d imagine ham will sit on Max’s tail until the pit spots and try the undercut possibly

Looks like a safety car due

Yuki Tsunado stops his car on the outside of turn 10. Safety car to bunch them back up again.

Alfa Romeo tyre snafu.

Not the first time we have seen a team go to put the wrong drivers tyres on,

What a mess.

Edit: A puncture it was.

Ah a puncture.

If Perez takes Danny Ric after the safety car Bottas is going to start to feel the heat at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭McFly85

Shocker of a weekend from Tsunoda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Jaysus, bad luck for Alfa Romeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,091 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Ah jaysus. Mess of a pit stop

Ah a puncture. Unlucky for alpha but good spot by the engineer.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

That Alfa mechanic has done really well to spot that puncture.

McFly85 wrote: »
    Shocker of a weekend from Tsunoda.

And he dissed the car and team too. Made himself look like a right tool.

Jordan 199 wrote: »
    Luigi, we a needa a new fronta lefta tyre.

No no you cannot have a de tyre.

Get rid of the top 2 teams and F1 would be incredibly entertaining. :pac:

What was the need for the full safety car there?

This will be close for DRS between Max and Lewis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,091 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Nice restart by max there. Gap is slowly stretching out between him and lewis.

Guessing drs will change things quickly once its enabled

Get rid of the top 2 teams and F1 would be incredibly entertaining. :pac:

What was the need for the full safety car there?

Tsunoda stopped on track and there was no safe way to recover the car because of where it was

Faugheen wrote: »
    That Alfa mechanic has done really well to spot that puncture.

Yeah you can’t learn that in a book as they say.

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Tsunoda stopped on track and there was no safe way to recover the car because of where it was

Virtual safety car wouldn't do the job?
    At least they didn't do the traditional extra lap or two dicking about when it was over though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Sorry to be OT, but my Sky F1 HD channel isn't available anymore! I had the Sky F1 HD package, and have the right box, Sky Go etc.

I can only watch the race on the regular Sky F1 channel, and the quality of the picture is terrible.

Anyone with the same issue?

That right rear tyre of Hamilton looked like it’s seen better days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Sorry to be OT, but my Sky F1 HD channel isn't available anymore! I had the Sky F1 HD package, and have the right box, Sky Go etc.

I can only watch the race on the regular Sky F1 channel, and the quality of the picture is terrible.

Anyone with the same issue?

Working fine for me.

Blistered right-rear but Hamilton can pretty much stay within a second of Verstappen.
    Then ya see Bottas who can't get near a second of Leclerc who's a good second a lap slower. The Merc is fine in traffic Martin.

Virtual safety car wouldn't do the job?
    At least they didn't do the traditional extra lap or two dicking about when it was over though.

Not this time, it was on the outside kerb with a gravel trap on the other side and looked a bit awkward to get marshalls to. They got it done and dusted pretty quickly though

Tzardine wrote: »
    Working fine for me.

Do you have the Sport package? I've just checked and I have "Legacy F1 Entitlement". So I mustn't have HD anymore.

Am watching the race on my laptop now, the picture quality is way better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Do you have the Sport package? I've just checked and I have "Legacy F1 Entitlement". So I mustn't have HD anymore.

Am watching the race on my laptop now, the picture quality is way better.

No I do not have the sports package. I am also on the Legacy F1 Entitlement.

Gremlins between sky race control and the commentary box.

Max pits.

4.2 is bad for Redbull, looks like Hamilton will come out ahead now

Undercut should still be enough to cover that slow pit stop.

Verstappen seemed to go off the cliff tbh.

Tzardine wrote: »
    No I do not have the sports package. I am also on the Legacy F1 Entitlement.

And you have HD?

Anyway I just read the thread about it here that was posted a few months ago. Seems like Sky have changed their packages and I've lost HD. Never had any contact from them about.

Anyway back to the race.

Mazepin affecting the racing there again it seems.

Oh that’s good to hear the teams talking to race control.

Idiocy from Merc to leave Hamilton out longer.

How does Mazepin have a super licence?

Is that the first time we've heard radio going directly to Race Control?

Verstappen using up his tyres unnecessarily as well. Lots of clowning around out there today.

I think so, even Brundle seemed surprised.

First time I’ve heard it anyway. It’s a good thing though and toto was right because mazepin is causing problems all over the gaff.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Its making for a mildly interesting race at least.

Mercedes taking a risk by playing the long game. Probably waiting for Perez to pit.

Literally as I type that then Perez pits.

Hamilton to go handy but pass Verstappen around lap 60.