Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What's the point of Paul Murphy?

• Registered Users Posts: 54,584 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Allinall wrote: »
    Just for the record.

Joan Burton didn’t bring any charges.

It was the DPP who brought the charges against the six men.

And dead right to. Bunch of thugs...

And encouraged by Murphy

An out and out messer, that lad....but, sadly, due to his position, a dangerous messer!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Far left is extreme communism ie Lenin, Stalin, North Korea, Chairman Mao.

I don't know much about Murphy but just from short clips he is no communist. There isn't a single elected political figure in this country that is more than leaning left from what I have seen.

James Connolly was much further to the left than any current elected TD.

within our political context - landscape , Paul Murphy is of course far left , he wants to nationalise everything effectively , the Social Democrats are on the left though still pro the private market making up much of the economy , as are Labour , SF are more left again , PBP and Murphy are well to the left of SF

you dont have to be Mao to be far left , its all relative , FG are well to the left of the democrats in america if you want to rate things in a global context

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

He's a fool. End of.

Have a read of Murphy's leaked essay here :https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/paul-murphy-uses-trotsky-to-explain-how-socialists-can-compete-with-sectarian-sf-1.3816304%3fmode=amp

He refers to Trotsky and actions of the Bolsheviks with biblical reverence and uses them to justify strategy, explicitly stating that any actions can be justified if compliant with their thoughts. Even though their thinking and actions is over a hundred years old. That makes him a fundamentalist, a fanatic. Unwilling to stray from the Trotsky bible, anything permissible if the Bolsheviks did it. You can see where his mind may go.

He also wants to see Ireland united with the UK. Under the red flag of course. Nationalism is dangerous, we'd all be comrades rather than Irish or British or whatever.

This is my favourite though and really illustrates how what he really thinks of what he calls "the working class" as he says the socialist party should present tle truth in a "manner that is digestible to the working class"

He's saying he'll lie to them cos they're thick but it's for their own good which they'd be too thick to understand

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/socialist-party-to-present-truth-in-most-digestible-way-to-working-class-1.3815556

Have a read of Murphy's leaked essay here :https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/paul-murphy-uses-trotsky-to-explain-how-socialists-can-compete-with-sectarian-sf-1.3816304%3fmode=amp

He refers to Trotsky and actions of the Bolsheviks with biblical reverence and uses them to justify strategy, explicitly stating that any actions can be justified if compliant with their thoughts. Even though their thinking and actions is over a hundred years old. That makes him a fundamentalist, a fanatic. Unwilling to stray from the Trotsky bible, anything permissible if the Bolsheviks did it. You can see where his mind may go.

He also wants to see Ireland united with the UK. Under the red flag of course. Nationalism is dangerous, we'd all be comrades rather than Irish or British or whatever.

This is my favourite though and really illustrates how what he really thinks of what he calls "the working class" as he says the socialist party should present tle truth in a "manner that is digestible to the working class"

He's saying he'll lie to them cos they're thick but it's for their own good which they'd be too thick to understand

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/socialist-party-to-present-truth-in-most-digestible-way-to-working-class-1.3815556

There you have it. Though I didn't need that essay to know that's what he believed. It's written in his every action... and across his smug face.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I really dont know where you got that from tbh, your own political bias maybe? Doesn't every party tailor their message to appeal to their target base?

You clearly didn't read it, forgivable as it's behind a paywall.

Here's an extract :

""In internal documents discussing Brexit and wider strategy, he asks: “Are we guilty of not ‘telling the truth’ to the working class when we don’t bring a demand to leave the EU?

“We always tell the truth to the working class. But we present the truth in the way which is most digestible to the working class at a particular time.”

They want to leave the EU but can't tell that to the working class as their little pixie heads can't manage it. But that's OK, Big Brother knows best.

He got it from:

“We always tell the truth to the working class. But we present the truth in the way which is most digestible to the working class at a particular time.”

Which is a condescending and classist view of the a whole group of people.

I look forward to hearing your spin.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,285 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Exceltrup wrote: »
    Or any of AAA/PBP/RISE. Seeing them in the Dail, they remind of that kid who kept shouting stuff out in class thinking that they were funny, whilst in reality they're just an inconvenience for everybody.

Clearly not for those who vote for him/them

That's democracy for you. You have to accept things you don't like alongside things you do

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Murphy is Trotskyist. That's fairly far to the left in my book anyway.

He got it from:

"We always tell the truth to the working class. But we present the truth in the way which is most digestible to the working class at a particular time.”

Which is a condescending and classist view of the a whole group of people.

I look forward to hearing your spin.

Its no different from other parties 'packaging' their message imo. Im no particular fan of Murphy either but the demonisation he is subjected tells its own story.

DerekC16 wrote: »
    Murphy is Trotskyist. That's fairly far to the left in my book anyway.

Well thats a telling contribution, tell us soemthing we don't know:)

Exceltrup wrote: »
    Or any of AAA/PBP/RISE. Seeing them in the Dail, they remind of that kid who kept shouting stuff out in class thinking that they were funny, whilst in reality they're just an inconvenience for everybody.

Yes for the establishment. Do you regard anything that deviates from the prevailing orthodoxy as an inconvenience? Democracy really is a nuisance isnt it?

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Well thats a telling contribution, tell us soemthing we don't know:)

Looking at the last few posts it appears not everyone knows.

Its no different from other parties 'packaging' their message imo. Im no particular fan of Murphy either but the demonisation he is subjected tells its own story.

Whataboutery and if you've evidence to back your assertion then furnish it, I haven't heard of other parties talking about dumbing things down so the proles will understand.

This is a thread about Paul Murphy. I'm sticking to the topic.

Whataboutery and if you've evidence to back your assertion then furnish it, I haven't heard of other parties talking about dumbing things down so the proles will understand.

This is a thread about Paul Murphy. I'm sticking to the topic.

There si no whataboutery at all. All political parties employ spin doctors, pr agencies etc to tailor their message? Come on, its part and parcel of politics. And no obviously i dont have hard evidence in the form of published essays or internal party memos etc as hard evidence but if you really have to ask for that, then that says enough,

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭lordlame

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Was funny to hear him on Pat Kenny show saying Willie Walsh knew nothing about flying.

He was an Aer Lingus pilot sure and Murphy had no answer when that was pointed out :confused:

He reduces everything to worker and bosses

For any one that missed it:

https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/highlights-from-the-pat-kenny-show/renationalise-aer-lingus

6:30 mins in

• Registered Users Posts: 17,651 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

There si no whataboutery at all. All political parties employ spin doctors, pr agencies etc to tailor their message? Come on, its part and parcel of politics. And no obviously i dont have hard evidence in the form of published essays or internal party memos etc as hard evidence but if you really have to ask for that, then that says enough,

Do you have documented evidence of the other parties calling their voters too stupid to understand their policies and beliefs?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

One of the collection of looney tunes comedy politicians brought in to stir up sh1t on radio shows, like the Healy Raes, "Hitler Nazi Times" McGrath, most anyone from Aontu, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

One of the collection of looney tunes comedy politicians brought in to stir up sh1t on radio shows, like the Healy Raes, "Hitler Nazi Times" McGrath, most anyone from Aontu, etc.

All 1 of them?

On topic, I don't see the appeal of Paul Murphy. As others have said, RBB comes across much better, more knowledgeable and more likeable and I can see why he attracts votes; I can't see what Paul Murphy brings to the table.

First time I remember him on the scene was when he was running for Europe (was he already a co-opted mep at that stage?) and his posters were all about stopping water charges. How he's manage to do that from Brussels is a question that never seemed to be asked or answered.

From watching reeling in the years and stuff, you'd be reminded of the likes of Joe Higgins and Clare Daly (before she got into bed with Mick Wallace), both fine orators and TDs, albeit representing a view I'd completely disagree with. I can't see Paul Murphy contributions appearing on future reeling in the years compilations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

There is one person in Aontu.
    The Healy Raes represent people in rural Ireland.
    Mattie McGrath was commenting on how the Gardai can ban a protest.

If it were up to some people we would have a dail full of varadkar and coveney types with zero opposition

EddieN75 wrote: »
    The Healy Raes represent people in rural Ireland.
    Mattie McGrath was commenting on how the Gardai can ban a protest.

The Healy Raes represent themselves, their multiple businesses and rental properties that make them each a millionaire in their own right, the represent absolutely nothing to do with rural Ireland.

Matties comment was moronic, ignorant and insulting to the memory of actual victims of the nazis. He wanted a pathetic headline and he got it. The fact he won't apologise is infantile.

VinLieger wrote: »
    The Healy Raes represent themselves, their multiple businesses and rental properties that make them each a millionaire in their own right, the represent absolutely nothing to do with rural Ireland.

Matties comment was moronic, ignorant and insulting to the memory of actual victims of the nazis. He wanted a pathetic headline and he got it. The fact he won't apologise is infantile.

Everything you wrote is the opposite of what I and many people consider to be reality

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

Allinall wrote: »
    Himself and Richard Boyd-Barret are actually the same person.

They have never been in the same room together.

Fact.

And both born with silver spoons and never actually experiencing any sort of poverty.

Everything you wrote is the opposite of what I and many people consider to be reality

That's nice but the fact is that Michael Healy Rae is by far the biggest landlord in the dail with ownership in multiple businesses. And yes it may be opinion but Mattie trying to compare the gardai to nazis is wanton ignorance on an epic scale. I'm not saying the gardai are all angels either, but nazis.....? Come on.

VinLieger wrote: »
    That's nice but the fact is that Michael Healy Rae is by far the biggest landlord in the dail with ownership in multiple businesses. And yes it may be opinion but Mattie trying to compare the gardai to nazis is wanton ignorance on an epic scale. I'm not saying the gardai are all angels either, but nazis.....? Come on.

Owning property isn't a crime. The Healy Raes represent the people of Kerry admirably. Have done so for years. If there were no Healy Raes then who represents rural Ireland?

Use a bit of common sense.

He also said totalitarianism. He's over blowing the situation wildly.

Darc19 wrote: »
    And both born with silver spoons and never actually experiencing any sort of poverty.

They should give their wealth away to share with the poverty classes. Is that not their dream of socialism?

In reality they wouldn't want to mix with the great unwashed.

Another aubergine sandwich Richard? Well I don't mind if I do Paul.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭enricoh

I agree with nothing Murphy or Boyd Barrett say but I could listen to them in a debate.

Brid Smith, Coppinger and Mick Barry on the other hand are insufferable fools and its baffling how they get even one vote.

I heard mick barry interviewed one day, I actually got a bit downhearted that the guts of 10000 people voted for him!

There used to be a fella on the steps of the local church with a crappy microphone years ago ranting about god years ago that was more coherent!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

If there were no Healy Raes then who represents rural Ireland?

They represent a certain view of rural Ireland only. Unfortunately its the gombeen, drink driving is fine, climate change isn't real, what's wrong with burning rubbish on your land view..

dulpit wrote: »
    They represent a certain view of rural Ireland only. Unfortunately its the gombeen, drink driving is fine, climate change isn't real, what's wrong with burning rubbish on your land view..

Those people are entitled to representation too.

Look at what your lads are up to. 95% of the houses on a new development in commuter belt maynooth sold off to yet another investment fund.

Ridicule everyone else but look at what you are supporting