Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the point of Paul Murphy?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,261 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

What you are doing is the definition is a strawman. You are jumping in and trying to argue a point I never said and throwing in some whataboutery for some good measure.

You can idolise your "working class hero" all you want. Your choice. You're just falling for his snake-oil shtick.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

Deflect deflect deflect.

You are condoning him and his actions.

Where have i argued a point you havnt said?

Yous comprehension skills seem extremely poor kid

Isn't it ironic, dontcha think?

You said:

Was this not thrown out because video evidence showed the gaurds were outright lying?

I only said:

Was happy to be the big man and the "leader" with a gang of ne'er-do-wells on their way back from the dole-office/bookies behind him but she when the got to the court he basically cried and pretended it was actually nothing to do with him

Unless you are denying that he was there, and/or that he had access to, and was using, a megaphone? Was he, or was he not, happy to be there as the centre of attention in the middle of the mob? Do you think he was doing it under duress? Did they kidnap and bring him there and force him to involve himself?

The charge of false imprisonment was indeed thrown out. However, if you improve your own comprehension skills a little, you will notice I never mentioned anything about him being convicted of false imprisonment. You want to bring it up and pretend I said it so that you can "argue" against it -> The definition of a strawman.

Then you throw in this little distraction/whataboutery:

These same gaurds then swanned on,with zero consequences,free to do same to less high profile individuals.....for all the flaws of drew harris,them gaurds would been sacked if he was over it....

Again, upon improving you comprehension skills, you might realise that I never mentioned Guards or consequences. You are just raising some issue - guards "lying" - which I never raised and arguing that -> The definition of a strawman

I mean if your going to misrepresent the courtcase and its conclusion,you cant complain when it gets destroyed with facts & logic....really poor comprehension skills to interpet it way yous did (below JC level)

I have never claimed yous mentioned gaurds either,kinda embarassed for your wee meltdown now😄....its not whatabourty really,its an expansion upon the issue which yous raised (courtcase),if you dont want it and its outworkings discussed,why raise it??

An example of a strawman arguement,would be yous accusing me of condoning what happened,or suggesting i think he wasnt there....you havnt a future in claivoyance/mind reading,so maybe stay with what is wrote down.

Lol. It is there in writing for everyone to read. Everyone else that can read it even if you can't.

DT: "Paul Murphy was happy to be in the thick of it but when he got to court he pretending it was nothing to do with him"

Blaaz: " Yeah but yeah, he wasn't convicted of false imprisonment....and whaddabout the guards lying and Drew Harris"

🤣

If you want to condone his behaviour, that is up to you. If you want to try to deflect and distract from it, that is also up to you. I think it was a disgrace. I'd tend to look for higher standards in elected public officials. Again, it is up to you to set your own standards.

And again,despite yous repeating it over and over,nowhere have i condoned it.......you must learn to deal with reality as it is,not what you wish it to be

Can you perhaps explain how expanding upon the outworkings of an issue,which you raised,is now regarded as deflecting/distracting.....if you dont want it being discussed,why raise it??

It is amazing how people condone the action of Paul Murphy that day, then two minutes later are complaining about the Gardai. If anything that gave an excellent example of how the Gardai hands are tied when these scumbags go into action. Like reading an article one of them was just getting petrol in a local garage, seen what was happening and decided to plough into the middle of it. Sure nothing else to do for the day so I will abuse a couple of women in a car.

Peaceful protest? sounds more like a riot and any randomer jumped at the chance to abuse the Gardai and politicians.

I have seen peaceful protests, I have taken part in them.

This is a peaceful protest(see below) and I was in the middle of it, proud to say I was.

So the poster who claimed what happened to Joan Burton was a peaceful protest I would love to hear more about it?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/tens-of-thousands-rally-in-support-of-nurses-in-dublin-1.3788291?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Ftens-of-thousands-rally-in-support-of-nurses-in-dublin-1.3788291

Ah, so now "yeah but but, hey look over there" is now "outworkings of an issue".

Murphy was in the thick of that incident and made a show of himself. Whatever statements were made about the incident were made after the incident.

All you are doing is trying to deflect and distract. And, ironically, you end up highlighting it even more.

There are plenty of politicians who have behaved atrociously who were also not convicted by a court of law in relation to that behaviour.

Please feel free to give us your analysis of Mr. Murphy's activities on that day.

Mate your free to discuss incident all yous want,i have no interest in stopping anyone doing so....just personally feel anyone involving in bringing it to court should be held accoubtable

what your not free to do is shout down and label the outworking of an issue you raised as deflection (its complete opposite btw)....and accuse is mise of condoning it and not apolgise then when facts & logic exposes your ranting as shallow,conceited,and fundamentally lies as regards my posting & position

@Donald Trump is not lying or any of the rest of the accusations you have fired out. So I would expect you to withdraw those accusations as they have no place on a discussion forum.

what your not free to do is shout down and label the outworking of an issue

What about if I was a posh-boy scrounger with a megaphone? Would ya support my right to shout down others then? Maybe I should get a gang of yobs to join in with me and we could just preface any posts ya don't like with the words "PEACEFUL PROTEST"

This would be an example of the whataboutery we spoke about at lengths earlier

At some stage,you are eventually going to cotton on to fact,that at no stage have i commented blue-nor-black on this wee protest....but your free to get a megaphone,if you wish🤷‍♂️,just dont attribute x,y or z,which i havnt done,to me

Well you have illiustrated that you don't understand the meaning of the expression "whataboutery".

We'll add that to the list

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭Madeoface

I like Paul.

An internationalist socialist who went to a €6,000 per year National School.

A man of the worker though he personally never held a job in the real economy (I.e. taking the full time activist role as not being a job).

Got an unelected stint in Europe that got him the publicity to enable a stint at the Dail.

No one is ever sure what party he is attached to.

A sworn radical, he is against anyone paying for anything as he's probably never had to. Including court appearances.

Rock on Paul Murphy. ...I'm in. To answer the op's question, his whole point is to show us the absurdity of Irish politics.

a variant of the tu quoque logical fallacy that attempts to discredit an opponent's position by charging hypocrisy without directly refuting or disproving the argument.

Im afraid for your sakes that i do,your throwing out all sorts of spurious nonsense and melting down,simply for being pulled up over accusing me of condoning something,that i patently didnt

Its a rather amusing to watch you skewer yourself over and over with logical fallicies and nonsense,simply because your ego is too small/fragile to absolve an admission of wrongdoing in accusing others of condoning x,when they havnt done so😎

• Registered Users Posts: 29,037 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

not scumbags at all, they did not do anything criminal and were not convicted.

it was a protest and the gardai were in a position to intervene if things got out of hand, they didn't so they didn't.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

I gave you example of a protest. That was not a protest.

Even the fact someone was getting petrol and ran over to join shows exactly what it was. A group of scumbags trying to attack two women in a car

Clutching at straws dude. It was a direct response to your point. Fair play to you for having figured out how to use google, It is progress. Next stage will be trying to understand what google throws back at you.

What is this argument that you were expecting me to refute in that response? You said I was shouting people down. I never actually even bothered to say I wasn't. I just asked whether you'd be ok with me doing it if I had a megaphone.

I never said it was for or acceptable to shout people down. Nor did I say I was or wasn't doing it. Just asked whether you'd have be ok with me doing it with a megaphone? If ya wanna deflect, you are entitled to do so. Par for the course.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭mikethecop

aw stop , re you even aware of what happened there ?

it did get out of had and the gardai did intervene that's why there as a court case

talk about being ignorant of the facts , as usual though

All apologists for the posh boy. The ironic thing is that Burton actually comes from a genuine working class background and went on to do well for herself. Posh boy was born with a silver spoon and did nothing with it. and you have eejits glorifying him and hero-worshipping.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,355 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I would hazard a guess that those who vote for Mr Murphy come from :

1) young 1st time voters, who tend to often have very socialist ideals, which they will move away from as they age and pay tax, and get fed up paying for the 2nd type of PM voter:

2) those who have spent a lot of their life on the dole, and who think that everyone deserves everything for free.

But, but, but, the mob er, protesters chanted “PEACEFUL protest, PEACEFUL protest, PEACEFUL protest, PEACEFUL protest, PEACEFUL protest” over and over again, so it must have been peaceful!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

I explained quite clearly what he did. Never said he wasn't there. You seem to be struggling to disagree with the facts. I was correcting the made up claims of others, you joined in.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

He doesn't believe most of the stuff he himself says, and we know this based on numerous flip flops and his bandwagon hoping over the years so to say he's never dishonest is well, dishonest.

A professional contrarian. He's no better than the Leo's of the world, in it for his own gain and always has been.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭MFPM

With nonsense like that, perhaps you should stop thinking!

Didn't listen to it - but would I be right to assume that he wants someone else to pay for the whole thing?

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Given that his missus is apparently a yank who only moved here a few years ago, at what stage would his supporters say that the Irish State should become liable?

Will hypocrites on here jump to his defence because I mentioned his missus? Will they consider it a "peaceful protest"?

She was interviewed with him in national media so she put herself out there. It's not as if I'm condoning thugs surrounding a car with the pair of them in it and refusing to let her leave.

Big spread about the pair of them on Extra.ie: according to Smirker they are ‘very fortunate’ to be able to afford the treatment and have been trying to have children since the ‘summer of 2016’. It's odd because last time that I saw anything about his personal life, he was cohabiting with an Iranian lass called Mo Farrah!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Himself and his partner made it very clear that they were not looking for anyone else to pay.

This was further questioned and clarified by the presenter Claire Byrne in a summary.