Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Considering giving up main job for side hustle.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

OP,

Will you not get bored silly if you give up the day job? You will get sick enough online quick enough- sitting in front of a screen in your underwear all day..that will get very very tedious very quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

You will get sick enough online quick enough- sitting in front of a screen in your underwear all day..that will get very very tedious very quick.

I've done that every day for the past 20 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

OP,

Will you not get bored silly if you give up the day job? You will get sick enough online quick enough- sitting in front of a screen in your underwear all day..that will get very very tedious very quick.

That's pretty much 80% of boards users :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Health11

YellowLead wrote: »
    People have just said she PMs looking for email or Snapchat sign up.

You have nearly 20 posts on this thread. Grow up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Health11 wrote: »
    You have nearly 20 posts on this thread. Grow up.

There’s not a lot to do in lockdown...........
    Also - you counted? Lol :) Though clearly you are good with numbers..... :)

YellowLead wrote: »
    There’s not a lot to do in lockdown...........
    Also - you counted? Lol :) Though clearly you are good with numbers..... :)

I'm guessing, you're every second reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,928 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Ah, you two need to get a room I think :)

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Ah, you two need to get a room I think :)

In your dreams :)
    Or should I say...fantasy!

FrankieB29 wrote: »
    No link to back it up?

Of course she’s not going to dox herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,135 ✭✭✭rom

12k a month is good after tax but work out what you will have to give the taxman as you will be shocked which is about 70k of that as you are already earning as a nurse. OF is like being soccer player. Very short time in it and the structure of nursing/working is probably better than doing 1 hr of work a day. It's good a the moment but it more likely to dry up than increase in the long term. Best of luck but think why professional rugby players are always doing some study for when they retire from the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Wallet Inspector

Furze99 wrote: »
    Has to be a piss take - funny how people when want to believe something, they take at face value. No wonder some get suckered into spam and scams.
    I find it difficult to believe because if her employer the HSE found out (and likely would - this is a tiny country) she would be fired. You'd have to be exceptionally stupid to risk a pensionable public sector job. I know it's difficult to be fired from a public sector job but it's not impossible, and soft porn obviously crosses the line. Someone displaying their bits on the web, then administering care in a hospital? Ah here...

Also, at present for obvious reasons, I doubt they'd have the spare time or energy.

It's nothing to do with jealousy or begrudgery ffs - if someone wants to earn money through OnlyFans, that's their business.

Finding a claim dubious is a different matter though.

I find it difficult to believe because if her employer the HSE found out (and likely would - this is a tiny country) she would be fired. You'd have to be exceptionally stupid to risk a pensionable public sector job. I know it's difficult to be fired from a public sector job but it's not impossible, and soft porn obviously crosses the line. Someone displaying their bits on the web, then administering care in a hospital? Ah here...

Huh? Fired for what exactly? I see massive payout in the Labour court if fired for doing something not against any law in Ireland. If it doesn't effect her work then they have no grounds for dismissal

I have no idea what nursing contracts are like so can’t speculate. But in my role for example it is in my contract that I cannot take on any additional work while I do that my current role. Conflicts of interest etc.
    It’s not down to whether or not it’s legal, it’s down to whether or not there are certain clauses in the contract.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Hi there, I am currently working as a nurse earning 32500 a year.
    Five months ago I started an OnlyFans account. I have built up a decent following on it, and I am currently earning circa 12k a month. The OF work itself takes maximum an hour a day and I enjoy it.

I am strongly considering giving up my main job and focusing on OnlyFans. The only thing stopping me is the fear that OF may be temporary/disappear overnight for some reason.

Should I just take the chance and quit my job?

P.S I have no dependants and rent with others for 800 a month in Dublin

My thoughts.

I would continue to do both unless you hate your main job.

OF is not going away. You are in early. Scale your business, get your name out there and 10k/month will be peanuts.

What people need to realise is that the traditional "career" as a way of making money is outdated. There are many other ways now.

Best of luck with it.

YellowLead wrote:
    I have no idea what nursing contracts are like so can’t speculate. But in my role for example it is in my contract that I cannot take on any additional work while I do that my current role. Conflicts of interest etc. It’s not down to whether or not it’s legal, it’s down to whether or not there are certain clauses in the contract.

Definitely not in nursing contract.

Yeah right. Your employer finds out you moonlight on a soft porn site and you get to keep your job? Particularly when you're representing the national health service.

And I am sure you have multiple examples to evidence this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭floorpie

It isn't just soft porn. They allow any legal porn, with "legal" being poorly defined in their TOC, but at the least they do allow hardcore porn.

Doing this would be highly inappropriate in my job also, and if I can't be fired for moonlighting, I at least wont have my contract renewed for whatever reason they can find.
    And I am sure you have multiple examples to evidence this?

It's common sense to expect this may affect your career. You don't work in a nightclub, you're in a Garda vetted, responsible, position. It has requirements for character and professionalism, and codes of conduct. These requirements extend to your life outside of work, specifically in this case, use of social media.

floorpie wrote: »
    It isn't just soft porn. They allow any legal porn, with "legal" being poorly defined in their TOC, but at the least they do allow hardcore porn.

Doing this would be highly inappropriate in my job also, and if I can't be fired for moonlighting, I at least wont have my contract renewed for whatever reason they can find.

It's common sense to expect this may affect your career. You don't work in a nightclub, you're in a Garda vetted, responsible, position. It has requirements for character and professionalism, and codes of conduct. These requirements extend to your life outside of work, specifically in this case, use of social media.
    Bingo. Blows my mind that people won't acknowledge it.

Stuff like this however causes people to bend over backwards to show how liberal they are, throwing sense and logic out the window. Particularly some men when it's a woman acting sexy I'm afraid (as can be seen here) - lol at the "Well done" stuff.

If someone wants to make money solely from OnlyFans and similar for the limited number of years that they can do so, all the best to them. If you've a good body, I don't see anything wrong with making money from it.

If it's a side number though to a more conservative career and could affect career advancement or even job security, it's incredibly stupid.

Bingo. Blows my mind that people won't acknowledge it.

Stuff like this however causes people to bend over backwards to show how liberal they are, throwing sense and logic out the window. Particularly some men when it's a woman acting sexy I'm afraid (as can be seen here) - lol at the "Well done" stuff.

Yeah, just look at this thread. We have potentially a 15 year old advertising and selling porn to users, dozens of guys asking how to get it, and nobody is questioning it? If I made a thread promoting a productivity app I'd made it'd be spam, but this is getting cheered on?
    If someone wants to make money solely from OnlyFans and similar for the limited number of years that they can do so, all the best to them.

If it's a side number to a more conservative career and could affect career advancement or even job security, it's incredibly stupid.

I don't care less what people do once it's legal, but I find it so strange that users of a JOBS board (including public sector employees) are advising someone to quit a permanent career for something that may only last another few months and which may drastically affect your future.

Yup, they should stop drooling like eejits and cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

so she's not making what she said she is , if she's trying to drum up attention on boards

" irish girl on onlyfans " like it or not , people would sign up to see if they know her etc or just the novelty of an irish bird on it

its bollocks.

extraordinary claim with no evidence.

anyone whos actually ever found themselves in an extraordinary situation in reality and has wanted to tell others about it knows in advance that they better bring some proof.

something to separate you from the endless lines of bullshtters.

op came in with no such proof up front. just a wild claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Swaine wrote: »
    Had a nose through the famous Irish OF'er Niamh O'Connor's Instagram today, all I can say she seems to be spending her money wisely.

She bought herself a new arse recently, literally.

sure she could have had some of mine for free.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭cee_jay

https://www.hse.ie/eng/staff/resources/disciplinaryprocedure.pdf
    Page 7 - outlines examples of serious misconduct for HSE employees. This includes:
    • Downloading/disseminating pornographic material from the internet
    • Circulation of offensive, obscene or indecent e-mails or text messages
    Depending on the account, it could be argued by HSE HR that it falls under disseminating pornographic material.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,543 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

What employer policy would she be breaching? We're not back in the 1960s.

The nursing board of Ireland mandates professional conduct on social media. Employer policy is posted above. These are in 2021.

cee_jay wrote: »
    https://www.hse.ie/eng/staff/resources/disciplinaryprocedure.pdf
    Page 7 - outlines examples of serious misconduct for HSE employees. This includes:
    • Downloading/disseminating pornographic material from the internet
    • Circulation of offensive, obscene or indecent e-mails or text messages
    Depending on the account, it could be argued by HSE HR that it falls under disseminating pornographic material.

This would clearly be in the context of workplace activity. The HSE aren't going to fire someone for downloading porn in their own time at home on their personal device.

They would find it very difficult to fire someone for creating porn on their own time.

The way posts are skipped over to post an inane "Gotcha".

Yeah the web didn't exist in the 1960s indeed.

The nursing board of Ireland mandates professional conduct on social media. Employer policy is posted above. These are in 2021.

What is unprofessional about generating porn?

It actually says "You should be aware of your professional responsibility when using social media".